Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tullow race strip article - speedhunters.com

• 11-11-2010 9:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭

Decent write up about the drag strip that seems to be gaining huge popularity in Tullow in Carlow.

Its not a 1/4 miles, the surface's are different and there's no timing equipment but it gives people somewhere legal to race against others for the first time in the Republic outside of Mondello which is surely a step in the right direction?

Speedhunters Article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

seen this, at first i have to admit i thought it was very dodgey wasnt sure if i was looking at another Ballymount in the making, but its coming together, there are safety aspect im not liking but i might take a spin out to have a look for myself, if its any use ill prob give it a bash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Main things about it that would stop me are the uneven surface, the different surfaces, the lack of timing, the fact that its not an actual 1/4 mile and the poor run off area.

It is cheap though, if somewhere could provide the same thing with the above issues addressed at only slightly increased prices (€30 unlimited run in Tullow) then I'd imagine they'd make some money.

Ireland is crying out for it!

Your dead right, and if they got the backing from the gaurds like bishopcourt i think it would be seen in a different light.

I might take a spin up to tullow to take some pictures and check the setup out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

On one hand I think it's great and 'A' for effort but there are some serious safety aspects that need to be addressed.

Spectators are far too close to the cars, and the cars are running far too close to each other on the strip too, it needs to be widened and resurfaced IMO. Lack of timing equipment and the fact it's not exactly a 1/4 mile wouldn't put me off though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Mozoltov!

Onkle wrote: »
    On one hand I think it's great and 'A' for effort but there are some serious safety aspects that need to be addressed.

Spectators are far too close to the cars, and the cars are running far too close to each other on the strip too, it needs to be widened and resurfaced IMO. Lack of timing equipment and the fact it's not exactly a 1/4 mile wouldn't put me off though
    From the link draffodx posted above.
    Those of you looking at the bales thinking 'that can't be safe' can rest your worries. Rather than using hay, these bales consist of Miscanthus, more commonly known as elephant grass. They are very, very heavy and do provide adequate safety for those spectating.

Sorry but, if it's edible by an animal, it aint safe. Especially with only one row of the stuff!

Mozoltov! wrote: »

Sorry but, if it's edible by an animal, it aint safe. Especially with only one row of the stuff!

It probably is strong enough to stop a car if it's tightly packed, it's the spectators sitting and standing on top of it in the many pics I've seen that I'd be worried about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Mozoltov!

It probably is strong enough to stop a car if it's tightly packed, it's the spectators sitting and standing on top of it in the many pics I've seen that I'd be worried about
    I'd say it'd hold together but what about weight and impact speed. Are they heavy enough that they'll stay grounded and stop a car dead or will they just absorb the energy from the impact and go flying towards the crowd?

Mozoltov! wrote: »
    I'd say it'd hold together but what about weight and impact speed. Are they heavy enough that they'll stay grounded and stop a car dead or will they just absorb the energy from the impact and go flying towards the crowd?

Who knows, all I know is they're not ideal

Definitely not ideal, but things seem to be improving, and fair play to them to getting it going in the first place, hopefully with a bit of support and a good attendance they can up the facilities this is how its starts.

projectgtr wrote: »
    Definitely not ideal, but things seem to be improving, and fair play to them to getting it going in the first place, hopefully with a bit of support and a good attendance they can up the facilities this is how its starts.

On the one hand I'm thinking hats off to them but there are some very basic safety measures that need to be taken, that don't cost any money, the crowd go way too far down the strip and can be seen standing on the bales. I'm sure they could find any number of volunteers to help marshall thae place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Gregsor

I think is a good thing to happen to the car scene in Ireland,and as said with a bit of money put in it could be a real winner once the safety is addressed and the surface gets seeing to as i heard it is bad(ish).
    I heard the organizers were asking the users if the money should go towards timing equipment or the surface and the surface won so who knows.
    Seen footage from a Honda club,past events looked very good :D.

Gregsor wrote: »
    I think is a good thing to happen to the car scene in Ireland,and as said with a bit of money put in it could be a real winner once the safety is addressed and the surface gets seeing to as i heard it is bad(ish).
    I heard the organizers were asking the users if the money should go towards timing equipment or the surface and the surface won so who knows.
    Seen footage from a Honda club,past events looked very good :D.

A few lads were asking me to go down yesterday for the Honda -V- Toyota day, it is something I'd be into but like I said I'll wait until the safety issues are addressed. The safety side won't cost any money so the lads can do that without financial support, it's really crowd control they need

True,the crowd shouldn't be on the bales maybe a limit on who goes the length of the strip like photographers etc,but in fairness people are probably just trying to get a good spot upfront for the action and have to venture further down.

Plenty of Starlets there then yesterday i'd say,that wouldn't have been my scene then :pac:.

Do you know if there is safety marshall's/personnel at the facilities if something goes wrong?

Gregsor wrote: »

Do you know if there is safety marshall's/personnel at the facilities if something goes wrong?

I don't know, IMO though the Gardai and/or RSA should be attending these just to show support amd even help out with marshalling. This is afterall keeping the racing off the streets

wish they took a leaf out of the PSNIs book and supported events like this, one issue i have up there too is no helmets, they cost F`all come on lads, i know if i go up i dont care if i stand out im wearing one

projectgtr wrote: »
    wish they took a leaf out of the PSNIs book and supported events like this, one issue i have up there too is no helmets, they cost F`all come on lads, i know if i go up i dont care if i stand out im wearing one

That's exactly the kind of thing I'm talking about. If the guys in Tullow want to make a good name for themselves then they must enforce some ground rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

That's exactly the kind of thing I'm talking about. If the guys in Tullow want to make a good name for themselves then they must enforce some ground rules

There should be no problem......the problem arises when the Gardaí are not contacted and informed. If they are invited to the location, shown what happens....explain what happens....then support should and would be given.

In regards in legal stand point, thats something i'll have to look into to be honest outa my own interest......is it a public place.....quite possible.....so does RTA apply......quiet possibly....will check out.

PLaces like these are great in my opinion. Anything that takes the racing and fcuk acting off the road is a plus in my book and i'd support it all the way (im not saying everyone who will go there does be fcuk acting by the way!!)

There should be no problem......the problem arises when the Gardaí are not contacted and informed. If they are invited to the location, shown what happens....explain what happens....then support should and would be given.

This is kind of what I'm getting at, the guys in Tullow have done really well to get this far but some things seem to have been done in a haphazard way including the contacting of authorities
    In regards in legal stand point, thats something i'll have to look into to be honest outa my own interest......is it a public place.....quite possible.....so does RTA apply......quiet possibly....will check out.

AFAIK it takes place on private farmland which has a run of Tarmac/Concrete down into a field. I can't imagine they'd have gotten this far if it was an illegal meet
    PLaces like these are great in my opinion. Anything that takes the racing and fcuk acting off the road is a plus in my book and i'd support it all the way (im not saying everyone who will go there does be fcuk acting by the way!!)

I'd be of the same opinion myself, I think it's fantastic.

I know some of what I say seems negative but overall I think this place is great and I take my hat off to the lads that have organised it and I hope to use it myself sometime soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

In the end this most definatlety should happen but alot of the people attending this would have got such a hard time from SOME members of an Garda siochana that they simply wouldnt be welcome.

there are some members getting a name for themselves harassing young drives often over nothing and while it is only a few I know some people with a pure hatred almost at this stage.
    I myself have been with one particular members seargent making an official complaint against them for harrassment and blatant lying which i wont go into.

You can take this with a pinch of salt if you like but alot of people who would attend this arent on boards so I will put forward their sentiments from other sites

rex-x wrote: »
    I myself have been with one particular members seargent making an official complaint against them for harrassment and blatant lying which i wont go into.

You can take this with a pinch of salt if you like but alot of people who would attend this arent on boards so I will put forward their sentiments from other sites

In fairness quite a few of the lads and ladies been stopped and been allegedly harassed probably brought the attention to themselves albeit in a group or solo.

But there may be the odd law enforcer who wants to make a name for themselves and yes there is a complaint procedure in place so i would use it as you have,hope you got somewhere.

If you have nothing to worry about you shouldn't.

Back on topic i would love to see Mondello take a bash at such events rather than trackdays and drift events,the demand is there.

Their experience and the safety offered would be even more welcomed by a wider ownerage of modified and performance cars,+ i am 10 minutes away :D.

I would have more confidence in a more professional enviroment if they could organize such and keep the prices competitive too.

Then again if i owned a 17 yr old Civic with a K20 or B20 in it and stripped out purely for drag i would have nothing to worry about and i would be a regular at Casey's in Tullow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

I'm a Tullow regular. I've raced at every day it's been going. Represents best bang for buck when it comes to legal drag racing.

It has totally killed off the street racing scene down South, which can only be a good thing :)

Flyer1 wrote: »
    I'm a Tullow regular. I've raced at every day it's been going. Represents best bang for buck when it comes to legal drag racing.

It has totally killed off the street racing scene down South, which can only be a good thing :)

As somebody that uses Tullow do you think safety standards are where they could be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I went last Sunday and I was a bit skeptical going there so just went to spectate.
    I have to say I'm really impressed with how it's run.

Those bales, while you may think they look flimsy from pictures they would have to be hit with some force to even move them.
    Marshalls always on walkie talkies to ensure the run is ok to go and there's no messing.

Was so tempted to go back out and pay to race but the day was almost half over so going to wait until next time.
    Definitely worth a trip down there even if it did take a few hours from Galway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Flyer1

As somebody that uses Tullow do you think safety standards are where they could be?

Giving a completely honest and unbiased opinion I do think the safety measures they take are adequate, i've taken part in drag racing events in Bishopscourt,Straightliners in Enniskillen Airport and Santa Pod, so i'm not fresh to the game.

The bales are more then adequate for spectator safety. One thing I do like that they have changed in the last couple of events is stopping people from standing on the hay bales.

The only problem i've got with the place is the access road in is absolutely terrible.

Messers are not tolerated in Tullow, i've seen a good few people turfed out of there.

It really is something that this country has needed for a long time. I know any money being taken in is going back in to building a better purpose built track, getting timing gear set up and improving it over all. It is in it's very early days and with the continued support it should get a lot better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

The run off at the end needs to be a bit better as there's a fair drop into the field and I know some of the faster cars were slowing down before the finish

Caliden wrote: »
    The run off at the end needs to be a bit better as there's a fair drop into the field and I know some of the faster cars were slowing down before the finish

oooooo that'll be a good excuse if I get beaten