Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We're doomed?

• 11-11-2010 4:34pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭

Firstly, forgive my naivety, but I don't have friends or relatives whom have been all too badly affected by the recession. Yes, they have endured a financial set back, but none of them have been laid off or had to claim social welfare.

I have been hearing a lot of people saying that, due to the recession, we are all doomed and that the country is in financial ruin etc. So my question is this: when people say that we're doomed, how bad exactly is what they have in mind?

First of all, who is doomed? Which specific socio-economic groups are going to endure becoming doomed? When they say doomed do they refer to a future of smaller, less fancy cars or fewer nights out and holidays? Or do they mean living on the streets eating out of wheelie bins? I don't suspect that either of these situations are exactly what people refer to, so what, in your mind, is this the state of being doomed, and is it hyperbole or quiet apt for this situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Well I'm grand for one. Got a bit wet out in the rain, but I'm indoors now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

*tumbleweed*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Doomed!Doomed I tells ya!!
    DOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMED!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Firstly, forgive my naivety, but I don't have friends or relatives whom have been all too badly affected by the recession. Yes, they have endured a financial set back, but none of them have been laid off or had to claim social welfare.

I have been hearing a lot of people saying that, due to the recession, we are all doomed and that the country is in financial ruin etc. So my question is this: when people say that we're doomed, how bad exactly is what they have in mind?

First of all, who is doomed? Which specific socio-economic groups are going to endure becoming doomed? When they say doomed do they refer to a future of smaller, less fancy cars or fewer nights out and holidays? Or do they mean living on the streets eating out of wheelie bins? I don't suspect that either of these situations are exactly what people refer to, so what, in your mind, is this the state of being doomed, and is it hyperbole or quiet apt for this situation?

What it means is Old Testament,real wrath of God type stuff. Fire and brimstone coming down from the skies! Rivers and seas boiling! Forty years of darkness! Earthquakes, volcanoes... The dead rising from the grave! Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The human race is doomed through stupidity.

On Tesco's Tiramisu dessert (printed on bottom) - 'Do not turn upside down.'

On Sainsbury's Peanuts - 'Warning: contains nuts'

On Boot's CHILDREN Cough Medicine - 'Do not drive or operate machinery after taking this medication'

On Mark's & Spencer Bread Pudding - 'Product will be hot after heating'

On a Sears hairdryer - Do not use while sleeping.

On a bag of Fritos - 'You could be a winner! No purchase nessary. Details inside.'

On a bar of Dial soap - 'Directions: Use like regular soap.'

On some Swanson Frozen dinners - 'Serving suggestion: Defrost.'

On packaging for a Rowenta iron - 'Do not iron clothes on body.'

On Nytol Sleep Aid - 'Warning: May cause drowiness.'

On most brands of Christmas lights - 'For indoor or outdoor use only.'

On a Japanese food processor - 'Not to be used for the other use'

On an American Airlines packet of nuts - 'Instructions:Open packet, eat nuts.'

On a child's Superman costume - 'Wearing of this garment does not enable you to fly.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

tb;dr

(too boring;didnt read)

*smashes head off wall*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

It means we all have to emigrate, you first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Biggins wrote: »

On Tesco's Tiramisu dessert (printed on bottom) - 'Do not turn upside down.'

On Sainsbury's Peanuts - 'Warning: contains nuts'

On Boot's CHILDREN Cough Medicine - 'Do not drive or operate machinery after taking this medication'

On Mark's & Spencer Bread Pudding - 'Product will be hot after heating'

On a Sears hairdryer - Do not use while sleeping.

On a bag of Fritos - 'You could be a winner! No purchase nessary. Details inside.'

On a bar of Dial soap - 'Directions: Use like regular soap.'

On some Swanson Frozen dinners - 'Serving suggestion: Defrost.'

On packaging for a Rowenta iron - 'Do not iron clothes on body.'

On Nytol Sleep Aid - 'Warning: May cause drowiness.'

On most brands of Christmas lights - 'For indoor or outdoor use only.'

On a Japanese food processor - 'Not to be used for the other use'

On a child's Superman costume - 'Wearing of this garment does not enable you to fly.'

More

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Mass mortgage default, banks go bankrupt, state goes bankrupt, multinationals leave, the rich leave, the young leave. Interest rates rise as banks can't make profit on trackers so they take it out on those who are clinging to paying their variables.

Then we all kill ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

Look at recession and depressions to see some of the effects one might consider.

I won't be locusts and brimstone, but life might become considerably harder for some.

Interest rates, depression, stress, suicide, crime, immigration, alcoholism, quality song writing. We will see an increase of all these things.

We're not doomed!
    It's just the end of one way of life and the beginning of a new one!

Two centuries of infinite growth had to come to an end sometime, well now we are on the downslope, are you going to ski it or fall down it, I'm planning to ski! ;)

Two centuries of infinite growth had to come to an end sometime

If it was infinite growth, while the hell did it come to an end? :P

And what infinite growth, economies are known to grow and retract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Worst thing that's being happening to me lately is the fùckin' rain is back with a vengance.

Other than that, business as usual crying in the shower in a foetal position. :pac:

If it was infinite growth, while the hell did it come to an end? :P

And what infinite growth, economies are known to grow and retract.
    Economists planned as if it was infinite, and they expect every contraction to be followed by a bigger growth spurt so that the next boom was bigger than the previous one.

Two steps forward
    One step back
    Two steps forward
    One step back
    Two steps forward
    One step back.

Until now, from now on it will be

One step forward
    Two steps back
    One step forward
    Two steps back
    One step forward
    Two steps back
    One step forward
    Two steps back

Everyone needs to plan for this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Economists planned as if it was infinite, and they expect every contraction to be followed by a bigger growth spurt so that the next boom was bigger than the previous one.

Two steps forward
    One step back
    Two steps forward
    One step back
    Two steps forward
    One step back.

One step forward
    Two steps back
    One step forward
    Two steps back
    One step forward
    Two steps back
    One step forward
    Two steps back

I take-2 steps forward
    I take-2 steps back
    We come together
    Cuz opposites attract
    And you know-it ain't fiction
    Just a natural fact
    We come together
    Cuz opposites attract

Who'd a thought we could be lovers
    She makes the bed
    And steals the covers
    She likes it neat
    And he makes a mess
    I take it easy
    Baby I get obsessed
    She's got the money
    And he's always broke
    I don't like cigarettes
    And I like to smoke
    Things in common
    Just ain't a one
    But when we get together
    We have nothin' but fun

EVERYONE LISTEN TO MC SKAT KAT.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 156 ✭✭Cranky Mc Funhouse

It's ok money doesn't suit Irish people anyway. I predict poitin stills and ceilis will reign supreme!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Give it about two months and you'll see a sharp increase in the amount of people being adversely affected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Give it about two months and you'll see a sharp increase in the amount of people being adversely affected.

Im going to hold you to that.
    I was talking to a recruitment agent today,he said it is getting an awfull lot busier.

But no we will be having nettle soup for xmas dinner eh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

drdeadlift wrote: »
    Im going to hold you to that.
    Oh don't take my word for it, go look at some of the vitriol being unleashed on the property tax threads. And that's but the merest taste of what's to come in the budgets, plural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭jodaw

Doommmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeddddddddddddddddd

Two steps forward
    One step back
    Two steps forward
    One step back
    Two steps forward
    One step back.

One step forward
    Two steps back
    One step forward
    Two steps back
    One step forward
    Two steps back
    One step forward
    Two steps back

Ah Jesus, I'm a terrible dancer and you are changing the moves half way through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭tommylimerick

the doom just got doomier gloomier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Sean^DCT4

Boards really needs a "dislike" button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i just cant wait for the steady increase in street walkers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

According to the news this morning Angela Merkel really stuck it to Ireland. Stabbed in the back I believe it is called. I really don't care anymore because I'm just about as doomed as I can be. The only way from where I am is down further so I may as well enjoy all the plight of all the people who
    don't have friends or relatives whom have been all too badly affected by the recession. Yes, they have endured a financial set back, but none of them have been laid off or had to claim social welfare.
    going down eventually too. Misery loves company. :D

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1112/economy.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Im gonna sing the doom song.

doom-de-doom-doom-doom-doom-de-doom-doom-doom-doom-de-doom-doom-doom-doom-de-doom-doom-doom-doom-de-doom-doom-doom-doom-de-doom-doom-doom-doom-de-doom-doom-doom-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Look at recession and depressions to see some of the effects one might consider.

I won't be locusts and brimstone, but life might become considerably harder for some.

Interest rates, depression, stress, suicide, crime, immigration, alcoholism, quality song writing. We will see an increase of all these things.
    But think of the stories and the sage advise we can dispense to our unfortunate progeny. The line "well back in my day..." will have returned to its former glory and carry more weight with the striplings while we bore them with our reminisces about banjo playing, foreclosures and 10Mb/s broadband

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

/ wakes up ....

Tax ?...only little people pay tax .

And ...er ......oh right :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

it's all a pile of s'hite. nobody's going to starve and the moaners, whingers, bitchers, begrudgers, whiners, skivers, knackers, dossers, tossers and all other 'ers' - especially the ones that frequent boards to air their grievances - can all go to f'uck.

thank you for reading - i'm here money to friday 9-5 cause i love a good rant in between work...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Biggins wrote: »

Neil Prendeville once flew with American Airlines, but he played with his nuts. Hence the warning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Neil Prendeville once flew with American Airlines, but he played with his nuts. Hence the warning!
    Thats just because he was flying Aer Lingus, if he was flying American Airlines they would have made sure the situation wouldn't have blown up in his face, they have stewardess hair for that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Sean^DCT4 wrote: »
    Boards really needs a "dislike" button.

Boards has a dislike button, it is called a keyboard. If you have a problem with something you can express it in words or something more substantive than a click of a button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

it's all a pile of s'hite. nobody's going to starve and the moaners, whingers, bitchers, begrudgers, whiners, skivers, knackers, dossers, tossers and all other 'ers' - especially the ones that frequent boards to air their grievances - can all go to f'uck.

thank you for reading - i'm here money to friday 9-5 cause i love a good rant in between work...

Freudian slip? :D