Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*Cancelled* Peer Session No. 1. Lydiard hill circuit, Glendalough, Sat 13th Nov*

• 10-11-2010 9:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭

Following from recent debate about the direction of the forum, Ecoli has suggested we organize several peer training sessions, where you attend a high level training session, in a discipline that you may not be familiar with. Thus, we will have someone coach a track sprint drill session, someone else a LSR session, etc., with the idea that your training will benefit from this new exposure.

The first of these is this weekend, Sat 13th Nov at 10am. Meet at the Visitors Centre Car Park at Glendalough, from where we will head up to one of the trails, and start a Lydiard Hill Circuit, hosted by Rene Borg (Raighne on Boards, Crusaders in real life). Rene is very experienced and knowledgeable in this area, and previous coaching sessions he has given in the past have proven extremely popular. Cost is free, but you should commit to imparting some of your specific knowledge and experience at a later session. Stick your name down below, or PM me or ecoli if you prefer.

donothoponpop
    Slogger Jogger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

donothoponpop
    Slogger Jogger
    GoHard

I'm in there like swimwear. Rene's sessions are super. Don't be intimidated by the fancy sounding names and Lydiard being bandied about. He explains everything very simply and you don't need to be a fast runner to do them. One of the things you do is exaggerated running which is much slower than running and comparable to walking. He'll probably do a circuit thing where you're doing 3 or 4 or 5 circuits at your own speed. You won't get lost in the hills around Glendalough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Also I'd be very interested in track sessions/sprinting etc. just for fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Fab idea guys, and would love to make it (love the pay it forward concept!), but reckon there isn't too much hope I'll make Saturday's session. Would definitely like to join up for others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I couldn't make it at short notice, but it sounds interesting. How long a session (time/distance) is it? What kind of pace would you be expected to keep to? Would you need trail running gear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

RayCun wrote: »
    I couldn't make it at short notice, but it sounds interesting. How long a session (time/distance) is it? What kind of pace would you be expected to keep to? Would you need trail running gear?

See GoHards post above re paces. Circuit will be on fireroad (trail path), ordinary road runners most suitable footwear. This session isn't hill-runner specific, these circuits form part of training for many middle and long distance elites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Im injured at the moment so i dunno will i be back running for it just yet but ill probably tag along anyway.
    Would also say that this is open to everyone regardless of level as this is stuff that would benefit you whether you are a C25k runner starting off or club runner

donothoponpop
    Slogger Jogger
    GoHard
    ecoli

Also for those who do not have a clue about Lydiard hill training philosophies here is a small bit which might give you a better understanding of what the training is and whether you may be interested in doing the session:

Pg.13:

http://lydiardfoundation.org/pdfs/al_lecture.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Looks to be a very good idea, will pop along next time if I can make it. Racing this weekend so won't be around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

I'd love that but I have to ease off the running to clear up an injury. Thanks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Good idea Ecoli. Sorry but Sat is out for me. Pity I'm missing this one

This has been cancelled/postponed due to low numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

This has been cancelled/postponed due to low numbers.

Maybe pick a few dates in advanced. Something like the second Sat ever month or ever second month. Might give people a bit more time to plan with races etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Shame 'cos this is a great concept. Taking people out of their usual surroundings and comfort zones is so beneficial for those willing to learn and progress. Hope you can set it up again. For those of you not familiar with Rene's excellent (though wordy) blog it is here.

Some of us still remember the excellent session we had under coach Tingle up at ALSAA a while back. The lads struggled a bit with the sprint drills :pac: but were on more familiar ground with the continuous relay at the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Shame 'cos this is a great concept. Taking people out of their usual surroundings and comfort zones is so beneficial for those willing to learn and progress. Hope you can set it up again. For those of you not familiar with Rene's excellent (though wordy) blog it is here.

Some of us still remember the excellent session we had under coach Tingle up at ALSAA a while back. The lads struggled a bit with the sprint drills :pac: but were on more familiar ground with the continuous relay at the end.

Yep it was super and tingle was super for doing it. It's funny I was one of those who struggled with the drills but now it's like riding a bike.
    And it's a shame that people were not biting DPs hand off for a spot on this and it's the lack of interest that makes great ideas like this drown in quiet waters.
    Be spontaneous people, get out of your comfort zone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Woddle wrote: »
    And it's a shame that people were not biting DPs hand off for a spot on this and it's the lack of interest that makes great ideas like this drown in quiet waters.
    Be spontaneous people, get out of your comfort zone.

In fairness there were only 3 days notice given, I'm sure with more lead time there would be signifigantly more interest. It would be a shame to let a good idea flounder on the back of one negative experience.

And the permanent plea of someone who lives beyond the Pale, it would be great if these sessions were spread a bit geographically.

Great to see some new ideas coming in though, kudos for organising it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Pity about the cancellation.

I work Saturdays so it was a no no for me. Fair play for giving it a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I would like to do it (or try sprint sessions etc), but I'd need more notice - ideally over a week. I know that isn't always easy to manage...

The determining factor was Rene's availability, he won't be able to give this session again until after New Year. Certainly more notice might have produced a greater response, but no matter what date is chosen though, people are always going to unavailable, or racing, or too far away, or whatever. I'm mindful of the time I asked a couple of successful runners to coach a hill-running course, a date was picked, loads of responses said that date didn't suit, could the course be run again? Another date was chosen, only two people turned up on the day.

Choice and consensus on an internet forum are hard to manage, the success or failure of these sessions is going to be determined by how many sign up, and the bottom line is there wasn't enough interest (that's no sideswipe at anyone for not signing up, more a statement of the way things are).

And the permanent plea of someone who lives beyond the Pale, it would be great if these sessions were spread a bit geographically.

In relation to this i have actually approached a few people from other area s of the country so hopefully that we will get some people stepping forward in other are a of the country who will be willing to take sessions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

In fairness there were only 3 days notice given, I'm sure with more lead time there would be signifigantly more interest. It would be a shame to let a good idea flounder on the back of one negative experience.

Great to see some new ideas coming in though, kudos for organising it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Raighne

RoyMcC wrote: »

What "wordy"! :eek: Well, afraid I can't run from that, if it's a comfort the talking during the sessions get's shorter as the weather grows worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Raighne wrote: »
    What "wordy"! :eek: Well, afraid I can't run from that, if it's a comfort the talking during the sessions get's shorter as the weather grows worse...
    Thanks for the offer Raghne. Would love to take advantage of your generosity and knowledge at some point, if we get around to organizing the session in the future.