Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protest Against "Garda Brutality"

• 10-11-2010 8:42pm

Anyone got any updates for this at all?

Was looking forward to hearing about it. Was certain it was going to end in disaster. Haven't heard a thing though. Did it go ahead or...?

Anyone know? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Yeah one fella got a slap on the wrist. He's planning on taking it to the European Court of Human Rights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

it did, but the cops beat them all up and killed them and burned their bodies and said "what protesters?" ... and got away with it!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

marzic wrote: »
    it did, but the cops beat them all up and killed them and burned their bodies and said "what protesters?" ... and got away with it!:rolleyes:

That Garda copter seemed to be taking trips over the liffey, dropping things and returning again for hours......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Time for a protest against stupid protests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

We're having a Protest Against Garda Violence at the Protest Against Garda Violence at the Students Protest next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,124 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Is there any need to protest? I mean if someone was savaged by a rampant shickiloni then taking to the streets and causing more trouble isn't going to do their case any good. Best off reporting anything that needs to be reported and let the ombudsman sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Nothing much from what I gather, think only around 200-300 people showed. Saw pictures of it on the photography thread, boggles the mind some of them. Type of people that are itching to get beat up and asking for it, some gobsheen dressed like a riot squad fella with stuff written on it (can't remember) and remember seeing them on the news with scarves round their faces.
    Glad the gardai didn't give them the satisfaction of a hiding, that hospital/lawyer speed-dial will have to wait another day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Gerry Asstrix

The protest today was a successful one, despite it only being announced short notice and not advertised too overtly.

About a 1000 plus were present, and it was a peaceful protest yet the message was loud and clear, that we have a right to protest and wont be battered off the street by the Guards who are acting on orders from the politicians to scare us from pursing our civil rights.

The Op's 'Garda brutality' remark is obviously a snide reference that there was no garda brutality

Have a watch of this and tell me the cops werent heavy handed

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDvjw5GrR88

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-lj-Znj_nk&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJcQqykGpVk&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Irishrossoblu

Of the 300-500 present, I wonder how many were
    a) Students
    b) Present at the student march

I would say at least 498 were SWSS/SF/Eirigi!

The protest today was a successful one, despite it only being announced short notice and not advertised too overtly.

About a 1000 plus were present, and it was a peaceful protest yet the message was loud and clear, that we have a right to protest and wont be battered off the street by the Guards who are acting on orders from the politicians to scare us from pursing our civil rights.

The Op's 'Garda brutality' remark is obviously a snide reference that there was no garda brutality

It was deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

Okay.........The cops weren't heavy handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Of the 300-500 present, I wonder how many were
    a) Students
    b) Present at the student march

I would say at least 498 were SWSS/SF/Eirigi!

How dare you say it was 500, the most accepted number is now 10000, and rising too! :D

last I heard it was over 9000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

OisinT wrote: »
    It was deserved.

The Gardai were obviously trying to provoke the peacful crowd into rioting - Gards are nothing but scum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Time for a protest against stupid protests?

Go for it! It's gotta be better than sitting around whinging on a public forum about protesters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Irishrossoblu

No no no. The protest was 19000 in total. 10000 marched peacefully, while 9000 broke away to have a peaceful invasion of the lobby of a random govt dept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

There are some photos of this protest posted in a thread in the Photography forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Oranage2 wrote: »
    The Gardai were obviously trying to provoke the peacful crowd into rioting - Gards are nothing but scum

That's such a f*ckin retarded thing to say. Really it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

dvpower wrote: »
    There are some photos of this protest posted in a thread in the Photography forum.

"Resist the police, murderers in uniform" :confused:

Did people die or something last week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Truff Puff

Stupid basta**rds. Abusing their power. They should be dragged through the courts like the many innocent people they stitch up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Truff Puff wrote: »
    Stupid basta**rds. Abusing their power. They should be dragged through the courts like the many innocent people they stitch up

You don't get the use of astericks do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

If only there was some way you could hire one of those riot squad uniforms. Just think of it, listen out for the D4 accent and twat him.

That's such a f*ckin retarded thing to say. Really it is.

It f***kin isn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭fikay

Truff Puff wrote: »
    It's ok. Your daddy still loves you.

You don't get the use of astericks do you?

apologies b*****ds:):D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

the police 'killed' the students buzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

As a lad who grew up in the north. I say.

GROW A SET . A bloody nose is hardy brute like. Hell .. I got worse than that in school. Freeckin pansys

When ya get a few slaps of a plastic bullet . Then i will march with ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Heavy handed response?

I just watched those vids, expecting to see some brutality. Eh, I think the gardai were unbelievably restrained.

I can see now why it wasn't on the news - because it was so restrained.
    Are the students today living on cloud cuckoo land?

They were clearly attacking a government building what did they expect.
    And as for Eirigi, the war is over dudes.

Fair play to the gardai, difficult job not made easier dealing with this rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Somebody's been to the Youth Defence/Pro-Life/Professional Protestor school of video editting! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

This kind of crap pisses me off. With every right comes a responsability. With every entitlement comes a sacrifice. People in Ireland seem to have forgotten this. You have a right to protest, but you have a responsability to do it lawfully. The people at the department of finance did not do this and suffered the consequences. Maybe they just need to cop on. For every action there is a reaction. If you attack Gardaí they will not just stand there. Sitting down afterwards does not make you innocent. Life is full of consequences like this.

The videos you posted are pathetic. The first one is 5 mins but was originally over 10 minutes long before editing. The other two are equally edited. Grow up and join the real world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I heard 8 million people attended and Gardaí brutalised them with nuclear weapons.

Someone got their hair pulled.

Yeah. I walked by a Garda the other day. He was just standin there in his uniform. He didn't even look at me. He was definitely looking for fight.

Are you for real? How do you provoke a crowd by standing in front of a building?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

k_mac wrote: »
    I heard 8 million people attended and Gardaí brutalised them with nuclear weapons.

Someone got their hair pulled.

Yeah. I walked by a Garda the other day. He was just standin there in his uniform. He didn't even look at me. He was definitely looking for fight.

Are you for real? How do you provoke a crowd by standing in front of a building?

there were a few million people resisting the gardai taunts of a game of slaps, while 12 million were keeping their gloves on so that they wouldn't be caught by a surprise game of knuckles.
    them gardai are always looking for a game of knuckles, or mercy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Is there any need to protest? I mean if someone was savaged by a rampant shickiloni then taking to the streets and causing more trouble isn't going to do their case any good. Best off reporting anything that needs to be reported and let the ombudsman sort it out.
    OMG!!!!!!!! How dare you!!!!!
    Did you not see the youtube videos?
    Ok, they were heavily edited to make the Gardaí look bad, but still The youtube videos!!!!!!!!!!!1

37 million people protested tonight.

Nice troll attempt. People are on to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Have you ever noticed that it's mostly scumbags that get 'assaulted' by the Gardai. And of course, these scumbags would never ever provoke them.

Saying that, on the very rare occasion it happens, it's still not acceptable. I'm just saying it's not exactly black n' white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

In order for there to be a protest against brutality, wouldn't there need to actually be some brutality?

Perceived crime is not nessecarily crime.

The Gardaí handled the student protests exceptionally, and none of the actions of the public order unit that I have seen in any video (and I've been youtubing extensively) are illegal. They are allowed to use force to break up a protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

sdonn wrote: »
    In order for there to be a protest against brutality, wouldn't there need to actually be some brutality?

Sorry to burst your bubble but there is loads of video evidence.Again,sorry but the quality is crap as I was getting my head slapped off me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Lab_Mouse wrote: »
    Sorry to burst your bubble but there is loads of video evidence.Again,sorry but the quality is crap as I was getting my head slapped off me

I'm gonna dress up as Darth Vadar for the budget protest and order them all to stand down. If they don't I'll just crush their throats with my mind. :D

I'm gonna dress up as Darth Vadar for the budget protest and order them all to stand down

thats not a light sabre THIS is:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Have you ever noticed that it's mostly scumbags that get 'assaulted' by the Gardai. And of course, these scumbags would never ever provoke them.

Saying that, on the very rare occasion it happens, it's still not acceptable. I'm just saying it's not exactly black n' white.

Maybe you should un-wrap the cotton wool and enter the rea life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Is this about those leftie groups the hijacked the student protest last week and caused public order offences and criminal damage to buildings nearby. Do people condone this type of "protest"?? :eek: They were dealt with concordantly to the law.

Dont blame the lefties its the greedy capitalist ba$tards(bankers,developers and eejits that bought over priced squats hoping to make a quick buck) that have the students out protesting in the first place*

*more to follow once I finish reading statism and anarchy by mikhail bakunin

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,077 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

Lab_Mouse wrote: »
    Dont blame the lefties its the greedy capitalist ba$tards(bankers,developers and eejits that bought over priced squats hoping to make a quick buck) that have the students out protesting in the first place*

*more to follow once I finish reading statism and anarchy by mikhail bakunin

Dont call us, we'll call you