Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Burial at sea

• 09-11-2010 12:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭

Finding it difficult to get info on this in Ireland.

Not sure if this is the best category to post:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I'll never have a burial at sea.

For I can never die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

dear deadliest catch,

phil needs to be buried at sea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

ligertigon wrote: »
    Not sure if this is the best category to post:rolleyes:

No probably not:P

Bereavement forum maybe? :confused:http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1363

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Just make sure the body bag is weighed down good & heavy. The currents should do the rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Let's see ye dance on my grave now ye bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

Buried at sea? Well man thats just about as buried as you can get

after you have killed them, tie a big ball and chain around their ankles. goes down like a lead balloon.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I knew a man buried at sea.

His sons drowned digging the grave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭ligertigon

midnight, 8 replies in 5 mins, you guys not got school in the morning?:p

ligertigon wrote: »
    midnight, 8 replies in 5 mins, you guys not got school in the morning?:p

School! Im too cool for school. BAM !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

I reckon a viking funeral would be pretty cool, you might even get away with it seeing as our nation's capital was a viking settlement and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Go for a swim shortly before you die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Don't forget, when stitching up the body bag, make sure the last stitch goes through the nose. It shows whether they are actually dead or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I remember when I was a child John F Kennedy Jr went missing at sea and they spent ages looking for the body. When they found it they buried him at sea. I couldnt why they had bothered searching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I want to be cremated when i die. Mainly because:

Burial= maggot food
    Burial at sea = fish food

I don't want to be food for something else.

Yea and you get cremated and you'll still be food for either maggots or worms unless you get put in a jar on a mantle, where the dust mites will have a field day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Here's a start
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1993/en/act/pub/0034/sec0066.html
    the Minister being the Mininser for the Marine (probably Communications, Energy and Natural Resources)

and this http://archive.irishmilitaryonline.com/board/showthread.php?t=14686

see post no 7 has a lot of relevant info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭smegmar

I think it's the best way to go. but make sure you're good and tied down, bodies washing up on shore do scare the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Burial= maggot food

Ashes = Plant food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭smegmar

buried too Christian
    sent down the Ganges too Indian
    cremated too Jewish

apparently in some places you don't get your ashes back but just some of the ashes that were in the oven, (is there a specific word for a people oven) it all gets mixed with you and other people who were burned that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Burial= maggot food

Billions of firefiles yomple your body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

smegmar wrote: »
    apparently in some places you don't get your ashes back but just some of the ashes that were in the oven, (is there a specific word for a people oven) it all gets mixed with you and other people who were burned that day.

Crematorium?

smegmar wrote: »

Never thought of dat.

I'd also assume that if you were seriously obese you would burn like a tyre for hours??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

do you really need permission? who is gonna stop you taking a boat wherever with a priest and saying your prayers and lowering over the side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

danniemcq wrote: »
    do you really need permission? who is gonna stop you taking a boat wherever with a priest and saying your prayers and lowering over the side?

That is what them Kerry lads thought back in 1984 , right fecking palava that caused