Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ok Afterhours... I give in and submit to your will... :)

• 08-11-2010 3:03pm
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hello AH.... I need your help.

I'm trying to raise awareness and/or funds for Moards and Movember. Its a serious cause with a not-so-serious approach to things. :)

The idea is that for a month, the fund raiser grows a beard/moustache/whatever and raises funds from donations. But that isnt much fun for the donators now is it??

So here's what I propose: I have been growing a full beard for the last 7 days and will do up until towards the end of November. Then I'll shave it into the style chosen by AH for a week. Possibly several styles!

But I'm only taking votes from people who donate to the cause:
    http://ie.movember.com/mospace/1153438/

or people who prove they have read this page: http://ie.movemberfoundation.com/mens-health/ with a screenshot/pic of it on their computers!

1 vote if you read the page, 5 votes if you donate!

The only thing I ask is no hitler moustache (:p I know you lot!), other then that you can choose any style of tache or beard! :):)

You game?

DeV.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

In the form of Ming the Merciless you could chose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Ok iv read it (i promise il donate later :)) so my vote is for an inverted Hitler moustache :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

DeVore Banned for spamming.

Only joking Boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Boards originating efforts are immune to the usual promotional rules I hope! If not I will rewrite the rules to make them so... *ahem* :)

I'll wear anything we come up with and will photograph it for proof! If I can segway from one style to another I'll do that too...

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Any one of the Dubliners.Your choice...

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

policarp wrote: »
    Any one of the Dubliners.Your choice...
    Oh God, please..... not that hahaha...

I dunno if I can grow a "go compare" or Hercule in the time but I'm game for giving it a shot!

You have to prove you've read the page or donated to vote though (I'll accept proof/donations later but a promise is a promise :p )

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

In the shape of a fanny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Just donated a massive €2.50 (was all I had left on my Payzone card, honest :p)

My vote goes to .. an Amos special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Just donated a massive €2.50 (was all I had left on my Payzone card, honest :p)

My vote goes to .. an Amos special.
    I was coming to suggest a fine pair of mutton chops, but that's good too.

€20 down for this or the chops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Hands down, honest to god, i'll donate €20 for this gem

RedXIV wrote: »

Wow. I want :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Hahaha, moustaches are stupid!

Sorry DeV, I have to go with the toothbrush. Your avatar is to blame for my choice. Picture with a waistcoat and fez please. :cool:

Thats a 5 voter.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

OG.... you donate and I'll get you that pic.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

Out of interest, how long do you plan on keeping your mustache/mutton chops/whatever terrible style AH chooses for you?

I think the longer you pledge to keep it, the more people will be willing to donate. We love seeing people make fools of themselves ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

charlie chaplin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Midge Ure in the video for Vienna.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Mary Harney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

orourkeda wrote: »
    In the shape of a fanny
    Flaps n all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

A Reverse Hitler.
    Shave only the part right below your nose.

Remember folks, your votes dont count without the Mo Money (or proof of reading the page!).

I'll wear it for a week. I have to sign for a house during that week too so, its going to be "interesting". :)

I might also do the SSF standup comedy gig in it too, if I do it :)

DeV.

I've pledged €20 but you only get a fiver now, the rest on delivery

PROOF!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Biggins wrote: »
    In the form of Minge the Merciless you could chose?

This is how i read your post. I think i need help...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Donation made.
    I vote for the same as this dude at the front-has to be as bushy though!
    And i second the question mark one too:D
    http://inlinethumb25.webshots.com/43928/2291223550104237032S500x500Q85.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

http://multitext.ucc.ie/images/thumbnails/1830.jpg

Also, take the picture with that facial expression.:pac:
    I'll be donating in about 2 weeks when I get paid.:)

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Donation made.
    I vote for the same as this dude at the front-has to be as bushy though!
    And i second the question mark one too:D
    http://inlinethumb25.webshots.com/43928/2291223550104237032S500x500Q85.jpg

I knew I liked you for a reason!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

DeVore wrote: »

The only thing I ask is no hitler moustache (:p I know you lot!), other then that you can choose any style of tache or beard! :):)

Really? That's what I'm doing for Movember anyway, although I am calling it a Charlie Chaplin.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Nobody is going to be looking at your facial hair when you're standing naked at the spire dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

RedXIV wrote: »

THIS ONE! THIS ONE!

Donation made :D

Proof is here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

What's wrong with Charlie Chaplin's mustache?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭DualFrontDiscs

I'll pay double (or read it twice/ slowly) for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

20 blips on Monday when I get paid for THIS

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Fair play to ye DeV! :)

Welcome to the team! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

i use my one vote for Red XIV's one!!! :D

Proof

if you do that one i'll donate! :D

Wow... that one with the chest all the way down.... I can only DREAM of having chest hair that could do that. The sad and lonely tufts at each nipple simply wont suffice... :(

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Oh dev.

Can donation be made with Laser? If so I shall participate, well on you chap for making yourself look a fool for charity.

I once had pink hair for two weeks, for the shave or dye thing, and living in limerick city, there was heckles from knacker babies daily! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Oh dev.

Can donation be made with Laser? If so I shall participate, well on you chap for making yourself look a fool for charity.

I once had pink hair for two weeks, for the shave or dye thing, and living in limerick city, there was heckles from knacker babies daily! :(

I was pleasantly surprised to discover you can pay with Laser. :)

alwaysadub wrote: »
    I was pleasantly surprised to discover you can pay with Laser. :)

Crap :(

Donated there, I suggest something like this if you have the needed hair for it.

http://funny.picturepie.com/images/ultimate_fumanchu_beard.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

orourkeda wrote:
    In the shape of a fanny
    Faps n all.

FYP :p

over 50 euros was donated in the first 12 hours! Thats awesome.

I met Papa Smut last night for drinks and he will confirm I am rocking the full beard, ready to execute the commands of AH collectively. :)

It doesnt half itch!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Actually, scratch my suggestion. Shave everything except an A on your right cheek and a H on your left.

-Funk

I will if you get the money for it! :)

DeV.