Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

legal minim length for a 10/22 barrel, Gallery

• 05-11-2010 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭

Hi please can you let me know what’s the legal minim length for a 10/22 barrel, as the pic below looks very short? I've been offered a 12" to 12.5" barrel.

http://www.galleryrifle.com/Photos/Phoenix-2010/content/P1000207_large.html

And is there any open days where I can try out the gallery shooting?? Close to Dublin??
    Thank you for your time,
    G.G.H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

GGH,

Your club should be able to help you out with some instruction on Gallery Rifle.

If not then you can contact NASRPC to see what they have coming up in the calendar or what clubs near you may have a club competition you could attend to see what GR is all about.

As to the 10/22 in your link - obviously that was at the Phoenix Match in Bisley - one of the events in the International Gallery Rifle series - indeed one of the main shooting events on the U.K. Calendar - I'm sure it conforms to the legal norms.

What would be of more concern may be the stock - if you plan to take part in GR1500 events you will be required to fire from both shoulders during the event - a right handed thumbhole stock may not be best suited for that. If, on the other hand you only plan to enter the shorts (Timed & Precision 1, etc.) then you will only be required to shoot from the 'strong' shoulder so it would not be an issue.

B'Man

PS: Ireland won the first Smallbore Gallery Rifle International in Fermoy Rifle Club this year - with the team using both Ruger 10/22s and a Browning Buckmark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭GreatGayHunter

cheers for that B'Man,
    I've look at the new laws it seems that anything over 10" is considered a Long Rifle.
    hoping that the below is a .22 by looking at the mag? 10/22 AR Kit??

http://www.galleryrifle.com/Photos/Phoenix-2010/content/P1000198_large.html

cheers again,

G.H.H

Glad I could help.

The Ruger 10/22 is a 22lr rifle - no matter which ken or barbie outfit you dress it up in.

What about this one?

tapco-1022_Stock-pink.jpg
    http://www.mountsplus.com/mm5/graphics/00000001/tapco-1022_Stock-pink.jpg
    B'Man

Bananaman wrote: »
    Glad I could help.

The Ruger 10/22 is a 22lr rifle - no matter which ken or barbie outfit you dress it up in.

What about this one?

tapco-1022_Stock-pink.jpg

B'Man

Can'rt see it?? it not showing the link?

G.G.H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭fat-tony

cheers for that B'Man,
    I've look at the new laws it seems that anything over 10" is considered a Long Rifle.
    G.H.H
    I'm not sure where you saw the bit about 10" :confused:

The SI 337 of 2009 states :

“ ‘short firearms’ means firearms either with a barrel not longer than 30 centimetres or whose overall length (excluding the length of any detachable component) does not exceed 60 centimetres;”.

Fat-Tony,

maybe I'm reading it wrong??

http://garda.ie/Documents/User/SI%20337%202009%20Firearms%20%28Restricted%20Firearms%20and%20Ammuntion%29%20%28Amendment%29%20Order%202009.pdf

"(iii) other firearms using 0.22 inch long rifle rim fire percussion
    ammunition provided that the maximum magazine
    capacity of such a firearm does not exceed five
    rounds and that the barrel length of the firearm is
    greater than 10 cm.”.

on the other hand 12 inches is longer than 30cm, so me bird tell me?
    so the 12" to 12.5" barrel should be fine?

G.G.H

Lads you are referring to the regs on short firearms - namely handguns

the ruger 10/22 is - obviously - a rifle - not a handgun

B'Man

GGH,

You've read that completely out of context. That section references firearms used in Olympic-style competition and refers to the length of pistol barrels - 10cm (it's about 4" (inches) not 10"(inches)).

30cm is slightly less than 12" - so your "bird" is correct.

Lads you are referring to the regs on short firearms - namely handguns

the ruger 10/22 is - obviously - a rifle - not a handgun

B'Man
    Yes B'man - GGH was reading an SI out of context.

Nothing obvious about a Ruger anything being a rifle. It must have a minimum barrel length of 30cm and be overall 60cm in length. Otherwise it's a short firearm;)

thanks Gents,
    if there are any 10/22 going cheap let me know, I've got the below to Trade In.
    CZ 452 - 2E ZKM SILHOUETTE The CZ

cheers again Gents.

its the weekend happy shooting.

G.G.H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

(6) It is an offence for a person (except a registered firearms dealer) to possess without lawful authority or reasonable excuse—
    (a) a shot-gun the barrel of which is less than 61 centimetres in length,
    (b) a rifle the barrel of which is less than 50 centimetres in length,
    (c) a converted firearm mentioned in subsection (3), or
    (d) a firearm which has been modified as described in subsection (4).

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

(6) It is an offence for a person (except a registered firearms dealer) to possess without lawful authority or reasonable excuse—

you mean - without a license

What has this to do with Ruger 10/22s ?

B'Man

That particular one has been debated in these forums without any solid conclusion as none of we "paralegals" could work out what the drafters of the legislation meant by "lawful authority or reasonable excuse";)

Well I think a bit of cop on would tell anyone that cared that a Ruger 10/22 with a barrel over 2 foot long would constitute a rifle (provided the barrel was rifled that is :rolleyes:).

B'Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

From OP
    Hi please can you let me know what’s the legal minim length for a 10/22 barrel, as the pic below looks very short? I've been offered a 12" to 12.5" barrel.

"Well I think a bit of cop on would tell anyone that cared that a Ruger 10/22 with a barrel over 2 foot long would constitute a rifle (provided the barrel was rifled that is rolleyes.gif).

B'Man "

Unless 12-12.5" measures over 2 foot in your part of the woods, I would advise (re-hash of old carpenter saying) read twice, send once.

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

Well I think a bit of cop on would tell anyone that cared that a Ruger 10/22 with a barrel over 2 foot long would constitute a rifle (provided the barrel was rifled that is :rolleyes:).

B'Man
    Yes B'man - 2 foot long is approx 60cm and would definitely not fall into the "short firearm" definition:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 1500ppc

Hi GreatGayHunter,

The short barrel is a KID 12.5" and it shoots and balances very well and will serve you well, unless you try to shoot the Bianchi barricades with it. For obvious reasons I put a 4" extension tube on mine to make sure I took all my fingers home with me after shooting. I've just ordered some 14.5" tubes as I think these will prove to be the best for GR type shooting. The AR is not a .22, it's Dave Emery with his 9mm lever release rifle from Southern Gun Company, and again it's very accurate but it has to compete in "open" class for Gallery Rifle comps due to it's box mag reloads (instead of loading the tube by hand on the Marlins) and lever release system. Cheers, Gwyn!

1500ppc wrote: »
    Hi GreatGayHunter,

The short barrel is a KID 12.5" and it shoots and balances very well and will serve you well, unless you try to shoot the Bianchi barricades with it. For obvious reasons I put a 4" extension tube on mine to make sure I took all my fingers home with me after shooting. I've just ordered some 14.5" tubes as I think these will prove to be the best for GR type shooting. The AR is not a .22, it's Dave Emery with his 9mm lever release rifle from Southern Gun Company, and again it's very accurate but it has to compete in "open" class for Gallery Rifle comps due to it's box mag reloads (instead of loading the tube by hand on the Marlins) and lever release system. Cheers, Gwyn!

Cheers for that,
    attached Is what I was looking for, hoping to start the Gallary Rifle this year, and tips?

G.H.H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭ghostmantra

thanks Gents,
    if there are any 10/22 going cheap let me know, I've got the below to Trade In.
    CZ 452 - 2E ZKM SILHOUETTE The CZ

cheers again Gents.

its the weekend happy shooting.

G.G.H
    i was looking at one today,boyds stock (evolution i think) 4 X 10 round mags comes with original stock as well...butlers medical hall wicklow town 0404 67355 sean leonard. hes a RFD, i think it was in or around E400 i don't know if thats cheap or not :)...........there is a swift scope on top (3x9x40 i think)

cheers for that all sorted , just need time to shoot.
    hows the shooting in Wicklow??

G.G.H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭cookey-1

hi i have had similar problem after talking to local gards he told me the overall length of the gun must b over i think he sed 900mm from stock to end of barrel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

cookey-1 wrote: »
    hi i have had similar problem after talking to local gards he told me the overall length of the gun must b over i think he sed 900mm from stock to end of barrel
    That sounds like a misreading of the original Restricted Firearms SI which stated :
    the following long firearms (not being assault rifles or bullpup rifles):
    (i) single-shot or repeating rifled centre-fire firearms of a calibre not
    exceeding 7.62 millimetres (.308 inch) and whose overall length
    is greater than 90 centimetres,
    (ii) single-shot, repeating or semi-automatic rim-fire firearms
    designed to fire rim-fire percussion ammunition and with a magazine having a capacity of not more than 10 rounds,
    on its list of unrestricted firearms.
    Thing is the 90cm limit applied to centerfire rifles, not rimfire rifles.