Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What handbag brand for a gift?

• 04-11-2010 11:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29

I'm buying a handbag as a gift for my mum for Christmas but I'm completely clueless about the brands. I guess I want something recognizable. Looking at Marc Jacobs, Calvin Klein, Emporio Armani, Vivienne Westwood and Karen Millen but I've no idea which is better or are they all acceptable? To be honest I'm baffled and have a migraine from searching. What others are good? Budget is around 300 but I'm flexible. She seems to favour large-ish tote style ones.
    Any suggestions please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

For that money & size in those brands - you'll probably be looking at a monogrammed or cloth bag. Walk into BT (or equivalent) and just have a look at the bags.

DKNY are a good brand for bags, and they offer leather bags for the €200-300 mark.

For comparison, I have a large V.W. leather bag which cost €500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭myxi

You could have a look at the Radley handbags. Me and my brother got my mam one 2 years ago and she loves it. Was in around the 280 mark. They make some lovely bags and very good quality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

myxi wrote: »
    You could have a look at the Radley handbags. Me and my brother got my mam one 2 years ago and she loves it. Was in around the 280 mark. They make some lovely bags and very good quality!
    I was just going to post Radley too, i love them, they're very understated stylish if that makes sense.

I really like these as im not into flashy blingy bags.
    Radley-Malmesbury-A4-Tote-Bag.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 S0L0N

They're nice, I doubt if if my mum would be into anything too glitzy either. Are Radley well known though? I know it's kinda superficial but I like beating my brother in the best gift stakes. Just love getting that dirty look from him that tells me I've triumphed again, worth whatever money. Gotta love a family Christmas!

S0L0N wrote: »
    They're nice, I doubt if if my mum would be into anything too glitzy either. Are Radley well known though? I know it's kinda superficial but I like beating my brother in the best gift stakes. Just love getting that dirty look from him that tells me I've triumphed again, worth whatever money. Gotta love a family Christmas!
    haha...ah the "who buys the best present" competition gas!

Yeh Radley are a very well known brand. I dont know much about all the handbag designers but i know this one. In my opinion its a classy and elegant brand and something like the cream one above would be used as an everyday bag. They are quite plain though, but thats what i like. Id feel weird walking around with a Louis Vuitton or Gucci one, its just not me.Id be well impressed if someone gave that on xmas day :D

Grand, I'll scout around for some so. What do you think of the ones I posted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭thecleverone

Massive Radley fan here too. They're fab!

But if you're looking for opinions on the bags you posted, this would be my favourite.

I like the Emporio Armani bag, the Vivienne Westwood purse, dont like any of her handbags (80s looking) and the last Marc Jacobs bag is lovely too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Just a tip, if you're going for radley bag (they are gorgeous!) try the Kildare Outlet, if it's within reach of you- they have a shop down there and the deals are amazing. You could get a serious brother beating bag down there! ;)

Kildare is a bit out of the way for me I'm afraid, besides I like to do all my Christmas shopping online. Far less stressful and confusing. Like a lot of guys I hate shopping though sacrifices must be made in the cause of sibling rivalry.He will be defeated!
    The consensus from you all seems to be for Radley so I'll guess decide in a day or two.Feel free to offer any more opinions etc., it's really helpful but I can't reply for a couple of hours, gotta hit the road.

If i was to pick my favs these would be them:
    Vanessa Nylon
    Ruskin Tote...this is fab in the tan and my ultimate fav
    Garnett tote..id pick the green
    Vanessa Oilskin..v cute

If ye had the money, a matching purse would be so cute

Of the ones you posted i like the 4th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Radley do lovely bags - they have plain but nice styling and tend to come in natural or neutral colours. I wouldn't normally be a fan of their styling (it's not edgy enough for me) but even so I occasionally see a bag from them that makes me go "nice!".

If you are thinking Radley, I really would recommend their outlet in Kildare Village. They have a good selection and the prices are very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Just looking at macy's site the other day & it seems that grey bags are on trend now & GUess are doing a nice range.

I know BT's do them.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I love that last DKNY one. I had it on my list for my 21st birthday bag :p It's very classic looking, but the clasp adds a bit of flair.

What's she going to use the bag for? Is it everyday, shopping, work? That may dictate the colour, size and quality she'll need.

The sheer variety is exhausting!
    Fair play theres so much choice out there it is a minefield trying to choose.You seem to have an idea what style (tote bag) you're going for so thats a great start. Is your mam a generally fashionable person and into "labels"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

I love the second VW one you posted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭carolinespring

I love the VW bag. Really fantastic and the 2nd DNKY.

anniehoo wrote: »
    Fair play theres so much choice out there it is a minefield trying to choose.You seem to have an idea what style (tote bag) you're going for so thats a great start. Is your mam a generally fashionable person and into "labels"?

Not particularly I think though I don't really take much notice of these things normally.
    So, I suppose the votes generally are for Radley,DKNY or the VW. I think I'll sleep on it tonight and buy in the morning, whichever way I'll get a purse from one of the other designers to cover the bases.
    Thanks to everyone here, your advice has been a great help in my bewilderment.

Not particularly I think though I don't really take much notice of these things normally.
    So, I suppose the votes generally are for Radley,DKNY or the VW. I think I'll sleep on it tonight and buy in the morning, whichever way I'll get a purse from one of the other designers to cover the bases.
    Thanks to everyone here, your advice has been a great help in my bewilderment.
    Ok breaking it down this what i think about the 3 brands:
    Radley: classic,simple,elegant,beautiful,unfussy,timeless,not for bling lovers;label is well known
    DKNY:fashionable for a few years,modern,middle of the road "classy",well known label,glamorous,noticeable
    VW:quirky, edgy, sometimes on trend,not everyones cup of tea,stylish for the time its being sold,fun,individual,different.

This is my opionion of these brands,the few that i know.

One last thing,dont buy a mix and match purse and handbag!!!Pulling a Radley purse out of a VW handbag...mmmm...just doesnt go,sorry. Im probably totally confusin ya now.Forget about the "label" and what will sound best. Think of your Mam and not the label.Itll be no use if its stuffed in the back of the wardrobe in January and thatll just be a waste of a fab handbag lol :D

oh...I'm glad you mentioned that mix and match thing, I hadn't considered that.

Hmmm, just checking around and I'll just note for anyone interested that www.radley.co.uk on their site say for a Christmas promotion "When purchasing three products the cheapest item will be free." with returns being accepted until end of January for items purchased from now to Dec. 22. £7 flat rate delivery to Ireland.