Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to ask Stone Cold Steve Austin?

• 04-11-2010 7:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭

OK, I'm interviewing Stone Cold in just over 12 hours and nervous as hell. Basically fire questions at me to ask him!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

uwwedoogie wrote: »
    OK, I'm interviewing Stone Cold in just over 12 hours and nervous as hell. Basically fire questions at me to ask him!

Well the obvious ones off the top of my head are:

Ask him about the projects he is currently working on / has upcoming.

Ask him about the current WWE product

Follow this up by asking if he could see a role for himself in the WWE at some point in the future be it one off, short or long term.

Ask him about the current Wrestling scene in general, What he watches, what he enjoys most, any specific wrestlers he is enjoying viewing in particular etc

Follow on from this by asking him if there is anyone angle or person he thinks should be pushed.

Maybe have a few specific questions lined up about either current news stories he could give his opinion on

or ask about things from Stone Colds past that he could further elaborate on perhaps that have appeared in wrestling books etc

This could be used as an intro into seing if he has any other similar stories he would like to share about his wrestling past on the road or more recent about working in Hollywood.

Because its for an Irish site/audience maybe ask specifically about his opinion of Sheamus and his rise/longevity in the WWE, and maybe ask what he knows of Fergal Devitt.

One thing done by the boards/bostoncrab podcast I think is a good idea is give the interviewee an opportunity to plug anything they would like also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Good luck mate, great catch! All the above ideas are good lead=ins. If he's warming up (and he does sometimes in interviews) you could ease him into chatting about some of the controversies of his career. For example, maybe you could mention WWE's youth movement - after asking him how he feels it's going, you could put the notion to him that WWE sometimes finds itself pushing new stars too fast, which you could segue into a discussion on the Lesnar business.

You're hardly going to get the guy chatting about domestic violence, but I find when doing interviews that people are surprisingly willing to talk about controversial stuff when they're eased into it rather than confronted. Maybe you could look at a few controversies from Austin's career and have a think about naturalistic ways you could bring it into the conversation. A few interesting/insightful quotes could get your site a lot more exposure.

Best of luck again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

What?

I'd ask him alot of movie questions, too. He's probably sick of the same old shite being asked, so if you talk to him about something he is into, then it might get a nice word said for you if you ever approach any other wrasslers he knows.

With that in mind, what actor/director/etc. would he most like to work with. Does he read scripts often, does he predict staying solely in action films or would he branch out into comedy and such, if he found out he were casted alongside the rock in a movie, would he look at that as a good or bad thing (or would he care) has the rock helped him at all, or has he asked Rock for any advice on moving from WWE to film-making, what did he think of see no evil, the marine, etc. if he could put himself in any role from any past film, who would he be..

A lot of room to move about with regards to the movie business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Ask him would he ever go to TNA.
    :pac::pac::pac:

Of course he wouldnt, ha.

But seriously.
    He is a pretty decent twitter user, updates daily, interesting updates, funny ones too.
    Ask him how did he take to it at first, was he a bit reluctant to use it or anything or did he love it straight away.

That could lead nicely into a question asking is social media/the internet being used effectively in wrestling today or should all the storytelling and angle developments be kept solely to the few hours a week on television.

good luck with it man, im sure he will be great.
    Is it going to be an audio interview or a typed one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Ask him is there any chance he will be in the expandables 2 ? And what is his all time favourite action film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Ask if he can think of a way to stop the audience chanting 'What?' at every serious promo.

The monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

Could you ask him what he thought of the angle he did with Kurt Angle in 2001, specifically on Raw the night after Unforgiven, when he cried and begged Angle not to throw him in a river.
    I know a lot of heels cry and beg on occasion but I just never thought this suited his persona. This was the guy that chose to pass out rather than submit to Bret Hart’s sharp shooter and was never afraid of anyone, even when he was first a heel in WWF around 1996. He’s such a huge star that it’s long since forgotten and his character recovered from it almost instantaneously, but I always wondered if he thought it was a good move, especially as he’d already tapped out to Angle only the night before.

Oh, and who does he think the person is who took a stunner the best...

D-FENS wrote: »
    Oh, and who does he think the person is who took a stunner the best...

Its definitely not this guy:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Ask him did he ever try a small Powers when he was in Ireland. And what does he make of Guinness

D-FENS wrote: »
    Could you ask him what he thought of the angle he did with Kurt Angle in 2001, specifically on Raw the night after Unforgiven, when he cried and begged Angle not to throw him in a river.
    I know a lot of heels cry and beg on occasion but I just never thought this suited his persona. This was the guy that chose to pass out rather than submit to Bret Hart’s sharp shooter and was never afraid of anyone, even when he was first a heel in WWF around 1996. He’s such a huge star that it’s long since forgotten and his character recovered from it almost instantaneously, but I always wondered if he thought it was a good move, especially as he’d already tapped out to Angle only the night before.

I actually think that's an amazing question. Would love to hear a good, decent reply to that. Didn't suit Steve Austin at all.

Speaking of 2001, you could ask him what he thought of the fight with Booker T in the supermarket that time. Did he find it really humorous at the time, or just a bit too silly? (found it humorous myself :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Ask him about doing another match. He's been hinting at it for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭smokie2008

Ask him was the reason he beats his wife cause of his weight advantage, longer reach and superior footwork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Ask him has he seen any sharks lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭TheTosh

I hope he doesn't finish the interview off with a stunner:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Watching WWF from 96-97, Austin's character was "Attitude Era" while the WWF was still in the "New Generation" Era of bright spandex and hokey gimmicks. How did he get to portray such a serious, strong character, how much freedom did he have as a character; what was working with McMahon, Russo etc like with his character?

If his career wasn't cut short with neck injuries, who would he like to have wrestled in 2003-6? Would he still be wrestling now or did he always want to do action films? Is there anyone he'd like to wrestle now?

WWE seems to have lost it's way (declining ratings/interest/PPV buys etc) What should WWE do to re-connect with the fanbase? What would he like to see at WrestleMania 27?

What was the locker-room scene like when he was coming up (1995-6) vs when he was on top? Had it changed again during his 2003-4 stint as GM?

Will we ever get to see Austin vs Hogan?

and thank you for all the memories.

+1 on Any chance of Expendables 2? If yes, can you put in a good word for The Rock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

Ask him does he regret hitting Debra and if he still has contact with her.

Maybe ask what was the worse argument he ever had with Vince McMahon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭TOPDAWG2.0

I'd like to hear his thoughts on the only time (i think) that he appeared at a show in ireland, when he was the guest ref at the RDS?
    I remember the place being crazy (for him), wonder did he notice it or remember it or was it just par for the course for him? As in different crowd, same reaction every night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I wouldn't be comfortable asking someone about their spousal abuse. Debra yes, beating her no. I bet the interview would end swiftly afterwards if you did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

I would like you to ask him his opinion on the 2nd/3rd generation talent on the rosters? Having been brought into the business the hard way, sleeping in cars, eating raw spuds, and the rest that was highlighted in many books whats his opinion of the silver spoon brigade? Are they living of the family name or does he believe they are talents?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

jaykhunter wrote: »
    I wouldn't be comfortable asking someone about their spousal abuse. Debra yes, beating her no. I bet the interview would end swiftly afterwards if you did.

Exactly! Interview would be over in seconds.

I would keep most/all the questions on the wrestling business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

Write out a list of 10 or so wrestlers/performers etc. that are relevant to Austin's career in some way or another and ask him to describe each in one word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Smokin_Aces

Maybe ask if either of his children wanted to become pro wrestlers, would he support the decision or would he try to persuade them into doing something else entirely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Ask him can he smell.....what the FLAH......is..........cookin'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

flahavaj wrote: »
    I can smell it from Galway. Smells of cow-****e :pac:

flahavaj wrote: »

The Flah says Know Your Role and Shut Your Hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

is he happy with the way his life is going after the wwe. also could you ask him would he ever release any of his old merchandise from the wwf early wwe area.

would like too get some of it over time.

cena wrote: »
    is he happy with the way his life is going after the wwe. also could you ask him would he ever release any of his old merchandise from the wwf early wwe area.

would like too get some of it over time.

The interview was last night bro.
    but as for the merch question, you can get loads of his stuff off ebay. Cheap too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭duuuaaaane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Like the closing bit at the end. WRESTLINNG VOICCCE DOTNET :D

Good interview. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Well done, sounded good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Good job, he really liked the question about who took the best stunner. You should of asked him for a hell ya when you were introducing him though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Good job and yeah he seemed to like the stunner question also seems like he would like to face Hogan, full of nice words for him.

Fair play, its always nice to hear an Irish accent asking the questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Kudos on getting the interview. Interesting that he doesn't see another Hogan/Austin type megastar coming through at the minute. So much for the theory that Orton is the next Austin. The man himself clearly doesn't think so. :pac:

Orton is nowhere near Austin. Anymore. Maybe a few years ago but.

The way I see his answer to the question is in the sense that there isn't anyone being pushed like he was.
    For being pushed overall there's cena, obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

Cool interview. Austin seems like a real good guy to interview.

I knew he was gonna say Hall took a good stunner. Hall was the best at taking it.

Good interview. Shame ya didn't ask him about the crying or RDS though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 crokes

ask him: what is the largest animal you could throw over a crossbar??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

Solid stuff man! Way better then I expected. Good interview voice as well. Keep it up man. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭duuuaaaane

CMpunked wrote: »
    yeah we made it on to all of the dirt sheets! just waiting for the stats to come out in a while, we did 60,000 the day of the Jericho interview, hoping we beat 100,000 this time!

Well of course, that question about the guest host in december was obviously the first time he had even been asked.

With all those IWC sites putting it up your bound to break 100k.