Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxing a car that has been off the road

• 03-11-2010 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭

I've tried searching for an answer to this without success:

My car has been off the road for several months undergoing some bodywork repairs. I want to renew the tax now and I'll be going through the RF100A garda stamped form process. My question is whether I can go with this form into the motor tax office where I am located presently and get the tax renewed here.
    The car is registered in another county (where I normally reside and won't be able to go to the office there). So I could post it but it would take time to get it by return.

I just want to go into the local tax office and ten minutes later be able to drive the car with the new tax disc. From what I understood motor tax goes to the local authority of the registration locality?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

thats about it I think. Doesnt matter where its registered...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

No, it can only be taxed by the local authority of the owners registered address. Post it in or travel home to tax it.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

I'm pretty sure You will only be able to get your tax disc from a tax office in the county where the car is registered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Guess I'll be waiting the guts of a week then especially if I have to get the guards at home to sign the form at the weekend. Very annoying especially when the normal online renewal can be done anywhere.

Albeit I could probably do a temporary change of address. I'm not normally at home during the week so even if it did arrive I wouldn't be able to drive home because the disc would be there instead of here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

Guess I'll be waiting the guts of a week then especially if I have to get the guards at home to sign the form at the weekend. Very annoying especially when the normal online renewal can be done anywhere.

Albeit I could probably do a temporary change of address. I'm not normally at home during the week so even if it did arrive I wouldn't be able to drive home because the disc would be there instead of here.

You can get any Garda station to stamp it, but it must be taxed by your local tax office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

I'm pretty sure You will only be able to get your tax disc from a tax office in the county where the car is registered.

the D, LK, WX on the plate doesnt matter a feck, just that "john murphy" (example name), of no1 whatever estate, whatever town, whatever county is the registered owner. It must be taxed, and have all tax relate things done in the motor tax office of the county which the address of the registered owner is in. For example, my car's registered to me, living in co. limerick, i have to go to a garda station in limerick and then bring the form to the limerick county motor tax office (my bumber plate says TS, but that's irrelevant to them, it's my address that matters).

You can, if you want ask another county's garda station to stamp it, but you'll probably get far more questioning/hassle as to why you're doing it out of county.. in case there would be something dodgy goin on

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    the D, LK, WX on the plate doesnt matter a feck, just that "john murphy" (example name), of no1 whatever estate, whatever town, whatever county is the registered owner.

That's what I meant. I didn't mean a D reg car had to be taxed in Dublin, I meant it had to be taxed in the area where it was currently registered. I have W reg car, live in Shankill in Dublin, the closest tax office to me is five minutes away in Bray Co. Wicklow, but I have to go to Rathfarnham.

Very annoying especially when the normal online renewal can be done anywhere.

True but it would still be posted to the registered address.

I'm pretty sure any garda station will stamp it. Most of them don't even look at the form (in my experience!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

That's weird. :confused: I've had my car off the road the past couple of months. It's registered/taxed in Sligo. I went into Sligo Garda station yesterday to get the form signed saying it had been off the road, and I asked them if I'd be able to bring the car up to Dublin with me today without a tax disc, and they said that it was fine as long as I had the form with me, and to call into a tax office in Dublin during the week to get it taxed (backdated to the start of November.) And I did double check with them that I'd be able to get it taxed in Dublin even though my address is in Sligo!