Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to wear?

• 03-11-2010 4:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22

Hi All,

Quick question, Does it make a difference what you wear on a 1st date?
    I was thinking jeans and a nice top but everyone is saying no to wear a dress, I just think wearing a dress on a 1st date is a bit too much. We will prob be going to a busy cafe bar so dont wanna be dressed down either but worried it could be a bit much, Do fella's even notice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

we do notice but vast majority of us can be broken down into

She looks:
    • Horrible
    • grand

You may get an extra wow if you go all out but if its just to a cafe, I wouldn't stress too much about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Nikbik wrote: »
    Do fella's even notice?

Men notice of course. We pretend not to as it avoids having to discuss ("listen to") clothes and shopping too early in a relationship.:D

The key is to be appropriate, so you need to know where this date will be. For most occasions jeans and a nice top are fine, but if you're going to the opera, a formal dinner event, or something similar then a dress is in order. Shoes are preferable to runners.... they can look very scruffy.

Enjoy,

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Wear whatever you feel comfortable and sexy in! Be yourself, if you often wear dresses, then wear one. I'm a jeans and a jumper girl during the week so thats what I would always wear on a date, unless it was a night out.

If he likes you, it won't matter what you wear anyway, as long as you look desent. If he has a good time, it won't matter at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Yeah Op i think it depends on what your normal style is, if you're a jeans type gal then wear jeans, no point in false advertising i suppose lol, but do not wear runners!
    everyone is saying no to wear a dress, I just think wearing a dress on a 1st date is a bit too much.
    Yeah i got this a while ago from my friends too, personally i'm always wearing casual dresses, so i'd feel wayyy to dressed down in a pair of jeans, but equally a dress felt a bit too much for where we were going (to a pub) and he was not really a "dressy uppy guy" so i wore a dress but dressed it down wearing a pair of dark tights and flat shoes! dressy but not ott dressy, got loads of compliments from him ;)

I think guys definitely do notice, but it also depends what the guy usually wears himself, if hes a casual type of guy then go casual :)

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

if im unsure, i go in what i call dressy-jeans.

currently that outfit is dark blue skinny jeans, black stillettos, a black top with a bit of beading and a swing black cardigan. top it off with a funky bag. its comfy, not overdressed, but not underdressed, as the bag and the sparkle on the top sets it off.

why not sound out the fashion and appearance forum. you might get some deadly ideas there to make you feel amazing

hope the date is a blast for ya!