Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker Fundraising

• 02-11-2010 4:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

(I got approval for this post)
    Realt Dearg are a hurling club founded earlier this year and are based in Terenure in Dublin. They are holding a fundraiser to raise some cash for the coming season and are putting on a poker night which has a guaranteed top prize of 400euro. It will be held in Vaughans in Terenure on Monday the 8th at 7.30pm. Its 25euro entry fee and should be pretty good craic.

For more info click on the poster below.

4030240.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Hi All,

Just as a reminder this is on tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Hope it went well. Good to see a club set up in that area as there is a real lack of G.A.A. clubs in the South City area. Are ye affiliated to Ranelagh Gaels at all or are ye completely separate?

Don't mention the war.

The night went really well other than me loosing. There was about 50 people playing which was perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I understand this is a new club only recently founded? How are things going so far?

Orizio wrote: »
    I understand this is a new club only recently founded? How are things going so far?

The idea of the club started around this time last year where a group of lads decided they wanted to play a bit of hurling. We started training in Feb last year and at the first couple of sessions there was 6-7 lads there. Momentum picked up with new lads turning up weekly and the team has often has well over 25-30 fellas training and usually about 20-25 lads turning up to the matches. There is some talk about entering a second team next year but there would be more players needed. At the moment there are a lto of lads that come up to training as they are still hurling at home at the weekends and don't want to transfer. The training fees are pretty cheap and its great to keep the fitness and touch up. The panel would need to grow up to about 45+ and the club is looking to recruit players of all levels/ages/fitness levels so it can enter asecond team. The mix in the club is fantastic.

Its made up of lads that have moved up to dublin from outside for work. A lot of lads are getting back into it after a good few years of not playing. Its great craic and great for the fitness. The social life is pretty powerful as well - its probably harder to keep up int he pub than on the pitch.

The club is obviously fundraising for next year but also have a sponsor (Vaughans pub in Terenure).

Website is www.realtdearg.ie

Thanks for asking...

Thanks for the reply.

Any thinking about creating an underage set-up for the future or is this more of a short-medium term thing?

Thanks for the reply.

Any thinking about creating an underage set-up for the future or is this more of a short-medium term thing?

Yes that was discussed at the last meeting but will not be in place next year. At the moment we are focusing on recruiting adult players so we can field two teams next season. I would say under age would be high on the agenda in the middle of next year with a goal to starting under age teams the following year.

Peace wrote: »
    Yes that was discussed at the last meeting but will not be in place next year. At the moment we are focusing on recruiting adult players so we can field two teams next season. I would say under age would be high on the agenda in the middle of next year with a goal to starting under age teams the following year.

How do you plan on going about that if you don't mind me asking? Going to local schools...?

That would be the first place to start alright. I would think leaflets and posters in the area would also be included. Some the of lads were talking about approaching the local parish. Further to that i don't know.

Its all very high level at the moment and the details won't be ironed out for some time.

Don't mention the war.

So thats a no then? :D

Correctamundo.

Well best of luck with the club. Hurling hasn't really had a presence in Dublin 6 for decades.

Hi All,

We are rerunning this fundraising event on the 5th of December. We would greatly appreciate any support you can give. It was great craic the last time with plenty of banter at each table. A great prize at the end.

last time we ran the comp i came second place and i know next to nothing about poker :). Just missed out on over 500euro bucks. Disgusted!!!

6375742285_5377f3d17f_o.jpg
    Fundraiser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Well best of luck with the club. Hurling hasn't really had a presence in Dublin 6 for decades.

St Judes and Faughs would disagree!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

thegen wrote: »
    St Judes and Faughs would disagree!!

They're in Dublin 12/6W. Completely different postcode. Rathmines, Ranelagh, Portobello and Harolds Cross would have no hurling clubs as far as I know. The South City does lack a major GAA presence most definitely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

They're in Dublin 12/6W. Completely different postcode. Rathmines, Ranelagh, Portobello and Harolds Cross would have no hurling clubs as far as I know. The South City does lack a major GAA presence most definitely.

The 6w code was only changed 25yrs ago, they were in D6 up to the postal code changes, I suppose thats what I meant. I think they are both 6W, i may be wrong there, but both clubhouses are within 30mtrs of each other.

thegen wrote: »
    The 6w code was only changed 25yrs ago, they were in D6 up to the postal code changes, I suppose thats what I meant. I think they are both 6W, i may be wrong there, but both clubhouses are within 30mtrs of each other.

Yeah Faughs and Judes are very close to each other in Tymon Park.

Realt Dearg (who this thread is about ;)) doesn't have a clubhouse and only source of funds is by hosting events like this poker night.

Any support would be greatly appreciated! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭howiya

Are the funds you raise being used to advertise the club in Croke Park match programmes?

howiya wrote: »
    Are the funds you raise being used to advertise the club in Croke Park match programmes?

No - the main spend is all to do with playing pitches and general materials for the club such as sliotars/medic kits.

Are you involved in a GAA club howiya. If so which one?

No - the main spend is all to do with playing pitches and general materials for the club such as sliotars/medic kits.

Are you involved in a GAA club howiya. If so which one?

How much does it cost to advertise in croke park match programmes? Perhaps some of the advertising spend could be reallocated to be spent on the above items that all GAA clubs need

How much does it cost to advertise is croke park match programmes? Perhaps some of the advertising spend could be reallocated to be spent on the above items that all GAA clubs need

We didn't pay anything for it. The club had an article written on how it was formed and the challenges we were encountering. There has been a huge amount of publicity for Realt Dearg as we are a new hurling club formed in an area and a time where traditional GAA clubs are struggling to maintain their player base.

With over 50 players and growing the club has been a huge sucess and its mainly down to the friendly and welcoming attitude of all our players to all newcomers no matter what level they are hurling at. :)

Sorry to repeat myself but which GAA club are you with?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,192 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

We didn't pay anything for it. The club had an article written on how it was formed and the challenges we were encountering. There has been a huge amount of publicity for Realt Dearg as we are a new hurling club formed in an area and a time where traditional GAA clubs are struggling to maintain their player base.

With over 50 players and growing the club has been a huge sucess and its mainly down to the friendly and welcoming attitude of all our players to all newcomers no matter what level they are hurling at. :)

Best of luck with the club, and ignore the begrudger's, some people obviously have an axe to grind.

How much does it cost to advertise is croke park match programmes? Perhaps some of the advertising spend could be reallocated to be spent on the above items that all GAA clubs need

I'm not referring to a written article which was very well written by the way.

I'm referring to a number of ads that were published in GAA match programmes which were along the lines of the revolution is here or coming etc. My only point is that I find it strange that clubs can afford advertising in this era where so many clubs are struggling financially.

This is not a dig at the work you guys are doing as the more people playing hurling in Dublin the better and as mentioned in the thread previously your catchment area badly needed a hurling club. Keep up the good work.

I'm referring to a number of ads that were published in GAA match programmes which were along the lines of the revolution is here or coming etc. My only point is that I find it strange that clubs can afford advertising in this era where so many clubs are struggling financially.

This is not a dig at the work you guys are doing as the more people playing hurling in Dublin the better and as mentioned in the thread previously your catchment area badly needed a hurling club. Keep up the good work.

You are right it would be strange for a new club to be able to afford those advertisments - not one cent from the club was spent on any of those items.

Oh and the revolution is coming.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,787 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

You are right it would be strange for a new club to be able to afford those advertisments - not one cent from the club was spent on any of those items.

Oh and the revolution is coming.... :D

Would probably be worth your while PMing a mod on irishpokerboards.com about putting up notice of this over there as well - it's where all the people who used to frequent the poker forum here on boards ended up and it'll probably drum you up a fair few runners as a lot of guys live in that neck of the woods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,002 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I'm referring to a number of ads that were published in GAA match programmes which were along the lines of the revolution is here or coming etc.

Just to clarify on this briefly. The "number of ads" was one: it was in the U-21 All Ireland Final programme. It didn't cost us anything, there was a free space in the programme, and we were allowed to put in a brief notice. We are massively cash-strapped, and do not have access to the kind of sponsorship that most clubs in our area do. Due to our complete lack of facilities we are badly exposed to training expenses at the moment, which has necessitated a huge amount of fund raising for which we are massively grateful to both our own players for volunteering to help, and most of all to everyone who has very generously helped us out by attending our various events.

Realt Dearg's advertising expenses this year have been zero, and that will remain the case forever.

Just to clarify on this briefly. The "number of ads" was one: it was in the U-21 All Ireland Final programme.

That's incorrect. It was also in the All-Ireland Football Final programme. Anyway thanks to the members of Realt Dearg who have clarified that these ads were not paid for.

The only reason I raised it was in the context of fundraising and expenditure. Best of luck in the continuing promotion of hurling in our capital city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,002 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

That's incorrect. It was also in the All-Ireland Football Final programme. Anyway thanks to the members of Realt Dearg who have clarified that these ads were not paid for.

The only reason I raised it was in the context of fundraising and expenditure. Best of luck in the continuing promotion of hurling in our capital city

Fair enough, I didn't even know about the football one (I'm going to have to plead "from Kilkenny" on that one). Either way we would never spend money on something like that, those placements were just about raising the profile of the club, they aren't particularly useful for recruiting players and volunteers, which remains our priority.

Thanks for the good wishes, it's great to be a small but symbolic part of a very exciting time in Dublin hurling.