Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin to Galway for 3k?

• 01-11-2010 11:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭

I'm looking for a car for about 3 grand. I'd like to keep the engine size below a 1.8 (I'm an 18 year old, full license though). It'll be making the Dublin to Galway trip once a week if that's important ?
    Prefer a hatchback, something fairly quick if possible. Am I dreaming?

(Seperate money set aside for insurance)
    Any recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Hi...pardon my french, but, why do you think you need a 1.8 car, for one trip of 1:50 each week ? :confused:

I can't think of ANY car that wouldn't do that -right to 1.0.

This is not the age of the Model T, nor of the de-coke every 1000 miles Morris Minor.

A Smart car, of a mere 800cc (iirc), would make that trip without breaking a sweat............

A good balance is a 1.2 or 1.4 - it is after all, on a state-of-the-art motorway these days.........there are no mountain passes involved........

There are loads of cars you could get for 3k that would do the job for you. Clio, Focus, Corolla, Swift, Megane......the list goes on........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

corolla, or civic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

galwaytt wrote: »
    Hi...pardon my french, but, why do you think you need a 1.8 car, ..

He may not need one, but need and want are two entirely different things. Different people want different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭domrush

I didn't say I wanted one, just saying that would be the engine limit for insurance reasons. I'd prefer a 1.6 to be honest. Is the ford focus a good car?

domrush wrote: »
    I'm looking for a car for about 3 grand. I'd like to keep the engine size below a 1.8 (I'm an 18 year old, full license though). It'll be making the Dublin to Galway trip once a week if that's important ?
    Prefer a hatchback, something fairly quick if possible. Am I dreaming?

(Seperate money set aside for insurance)
    Any recommendations?

You could do a lot worse than something with a TDi engine from the vw/audi stable, and a chip/remap for more poke. Would save you loads on fuel. particularly on a long motorway/dual carriageway run. You're 18 so insurance is not going to be fun to pay regardless of what you have. May not be exaclty the hottest of JDM vtec madness, but it'd be kind to your wallet, and let you save up for something proper nice after you hopefully build up a couple of years no claims bonus.

Or if you really want something sporty you could try your luck with insuring a toyota levin or mivec lancer (both 1.6), and i'd imagine a bit less loaded for insurance than anything with vtec written on it.

My suggestion though, is if you want a properly fun car that's great fun to drive (if you've got any love of driving it'd make you pick the back roads all the way instead), get a E30 BMW 318IS. A crisp handling and very enjoyable rwd car. designed to be nice to drive.

I still go with the sensible option though, of reliable, modern diesel, tart it up a bit if you want, and wait a bit to get something quick, when your insurance bill has got cheaper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭DMG_49

Better getting a Vw Golf / Polo either a 1.2, 1.4 petrol or 1.9Tdi 90bhp

Insurance should be ok, and they are reliable and very easy run for that journey compared to a 1.6 petrol

I didn't say I wanted one, just saying that would be the engine limit for insurance reasons. I'd prefer a 1.6 to be honest. Is the ford focus a good car?

sorry didnt see that, yes ford focus is good. In my old job i worked managing fleets of cars out on lease, feck all went wrong with focuses, they were the first generation ones, which is what you'd get for 3k. They wouldnt be half as fast or flash as lots of the jap chariots (the boy racer stuff like the levins etc i mentioned above), and not "fast" but loads better than a 1.0-1.3 type city car in terms of having some bit of go in them out on big roads.

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    You could do a lot worse than something with a TDi engine from the vw/audi stable, and a chip/remap for more poke. Would save you loads on fuel. particularly on a long motorway/dual carriageway run. You're 18 so insurance is not going to be fun to pay regardless of what you have. May not be exaclty the hottest of JDM vtec madness, but it'd be kind to your wallet, and let you save up for something proper nice after you hopefully build up a couple of years no claims bonus.

Or if you really want something sporty you could try your luck with insuring a toyota levin or mivec lancer (both 1.6), and i'd imagine a bit less loaded for insurance than anything with vtec written on it.

My suggestion though, is if you want a properly fun car that's great fun to drive (if you've got any love of driving it'd make you pick the back roads all the way instead), get a E30 BMW 318IS. A crisp handling and very enjoyable rwd car. designed to be nice to drive.

I still go with the sensible option though, of reliable, modern diesel, tart it up a bit if you want, and wait a bit to get something quick, when your insurance bill has got cheaper

Well, OP said BELOW 1.8, and you offer a 1.9 ??:confused:

if it's a modern reliable diesel you want: well, you're going to need a lot more than 3k....

And it he's only going to Galway once a week, a smaller petrol will work out cheaper, in the long run anyway. Now, if he was doing it every morning..........that'd be different.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Hi...pardon my french, but, why do you think you need a 1.8 car, for one trip of 1:50 each week ? :confused:

I can't think of ANY car that wouldn't do that -right to 1.0.

This is not the age of the Model T, nor of the de-coke every 1000 miles Morris Minor.

A Smart car, of a mere 800cc (iirc), would make that trip without breaking a sweat............

A good balance is a 1.2 or 1.4 - it is after all, on a state-of-the-art motorway these days.........there are no mountain passes involved........

There are loads of cars you could get for 3k that would do the job for you. Clio, Focus, Corolla, Swift, Megane......the list goes on........

I think you misinterpreted his post in fairness. Did you even read it at all? He never said he needed a 1.8 for the trip. Wanting something a step up from a 1.0L snail is reasonable. Quite a bizarre reply you gave really!

gpf101 wrote: »
    I think you misinterpreted his post in fairness. Did you even read it at all? He never said he needed a 1.8 for the trip. Wanting something a step up from a 1.0L snail is reasonable. Quite a bizarre reply you gave really!

A very boards reply sadly

I suggest that you look into it propely, and work it out for yourself if you need proof. A 1.9 diesel car is often cheaper to insure than a 1.6- 1.8 petrol car with an smaller engine, because diesel cars have traditionally been considered slow an not sporty in nature.
    I am not interested in any further conversation with you as you seem like a know it all and a sh!t stirrer, and it's not fair to the poor guy who started the thread. A person who i tried to give a reasonable pice of input to in respose to his question.

Thanks for all the replies, you've all been very helpful (Conrad in particular).
    I think it'll either be a 1.6 focus first generation or else a diesel passat if I can get one for the money.
    Cheers for all the help everyone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I know this is the Motors forum and all but if the car will be used just once a week then maybe consider bus or train.
    Price of buying car plus petrol/insurance/tax etc will exceed the price of going by other transport.
    Of course if you're planning to use the car all the time disregard this post.

and then goes on to suggest an E30 318 to an 18 year old :pac:
    1.9TDi are not insurance friendly either when you are 18.
    I am not interested in any further conversation with you as you seem like a know it all and a sh!t stirrer.

GalwayTt a sh1tstirrer ???? Won't find much posts in his history to back that up I would think.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Exactly. I'd limit my research to 1.4l. Even at that an 18 y.o. will be paying hefty running costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

best thing you will do is check out the cost of insurance for say a 1.4 1.6 petrol and a 1.8 diesel focus (im 99% sure these were 1.8??) also check out 1.6 petrol golf/bora/passat and 1.9 tdi versions of the same cars.. once you have a rough idea of insurance cost then go look at the cars you want.
    running a 1.9 tdi golf for anything over 10-12k miles a year will work out cheaper than a 1.4-1.6 petrol golf doing the same mileage.(i know as i had both)

i take it that the dublin-galway trip once a week is not the only driving you are going to be doing. a golf or bora tdi would be perfect as you can get cruise control for about 100 euro for them!!

yes sean1141 the focus diesel was 1.8, and a good old unit if looked after, while not the most lively or quiet. I've had two and sold a good few more. Later on a 1.6 diesel focus was introduced but that will be out of budget

RoverJames wrote: »
    and then goes on to suggest an E30 318 to an 18 year old :pac:
    1.9TDi are not insurance friendly either when you are 18.

GalwayTt a sh1tstirrer ???? Won't find much posts in his history to back that up I would think.

e30 suggested in comparison to "sporty" japanese import type stuff that lots of young lads want to get. as he had said "fairly quick" leading me to think that was the sort of thing he might want. He went on to clarify that something like a 1.6 focus would be acceptable, after i had seen that it was clear that he didnt necessarily want that type of car, but i could nto know that until i'd seen it.

1.9 diesel cars are far more insurance friendly than many of the things young people drive. Particularly if you go for a model that wouldnt traditionally be a young man's choice.

What glawaytt was at in this thread was sh!t stirring, and pushing a closed minded small cars good big cars bad agenda. It IS possible to avoid driving a 1 litre shopping cart at 18, i've done it, and many others have. People have the right to choose what to drive if they want it and can afford. And what you personally are doing now, picking fault with thing that i have said, because you'd don't like them rather than because you have another sugestion to make in a civil and reasonable way, is definitey sh1t stirring. Unneccessary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

DMG_49 wrote: »

Insurance should be ok, and they are reliable and very easy run for that journey compared to a 1.6 petrol

Indeed, the 90 horsepower TDI in a Golf, Bora or Passat is a damn reliable thing if you get a decent one in the first place. Which is very doable. Im talking engine wise.

On the motorway you shouldnt be doing any less then 45mpg and despite gearing which I take issue with its not out of place on the motorway. It feels stable and is comfy.

MPG wise 45ish is about what I am getting from my one on the motorway. About 530 miles. If you keep it more towards 60mph you will get more mpg. 55 - 60 is what I usually get on back and N roads.

EDIT:

Ill echo what Sean said about cruise control. It transformed long journeys for me. I did it myself and I think the kit cost about 100 quid. Really makes motorway journeys much easier.

btw. I do Enfield to Belfast every week. Im getting two round trips in on a tank.

if it's a modern reliable diesel you want: well, you're going to need a lot more than 3k....

Well to bring economy into it diesel has to be mentioned and a 1.9 TDI is well worth a mention in that respect. That kind of conversational attitude by nitpicking into a sentence like that in relation to this is just beyond nonsensical. Its .1 of a litre :S

I also completely disagree with your statement that you need more then three grand for a reliable diesel, modern maybe but reliable no. Not just from VAG but you have good reliable diesel engines from a number of manufacturers from around 2000.

Proof is in what I drive, a 90hp 1.9 TDI from 2000.
    I have replaced a temp sensor (20quid part, done within a standard service), replaced oil seal, fixed a wiper pipe in the 1 and a half years owning the car.

15,000 miles on since i got it (165,000ish in total) the engine is fine.
    There is something to be said for the old style VE TDI these days. With so many PD and recently CR problems it makes sense from the point of view of me and the OP to go old school.

And what you personally are doing now, picking fault with thing that i have said, because you'd don't like them rather than because you have another sugestion to make in a civil and reasonable way, is definitey sh1t stirring. Unneccessary

You'd be better off popping down the local chemist if you reckon that was sh1t stirring :pac: :pac:

Are those 90 bhp Tdi passats slow or something? They look like great value for money!
    Any opinions on this http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Focus/1.8-TDCI/201040199810734/advert?channel=CARS? (Probably able to stretch the budget to 4 grand)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Are those 90 bhp Tdi passats slow or something? They look like great value for money!

90bhp + heavy saloon car = slow!

Any opinions on this http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Focus/1.8-TDCI/201040199810734/advert?channel=CARS? (Probably able to stretch the budget to 4 grand)

You wont like overtaking in it but up in second and third there is some sense of whoosh about it in the right rev range. It pulls rather well in those gears and also 4th come to think of it.
    Im getting mine remapped to around 120hp for the overtaking reason.

I am perfectly fine with it on the motorway since I use it mostly then but there have been instances on N roads where I would see a gap to overtake and not be able to take it.

Just noticed it was a Passat and my experience is with a Golf. Id say the woosh would be calmed a bit :p
    Good car none the less.

btw. The TDCI is the Ford engine to get. TDDI is meant to be slow. I dont know about the reliability of the engine and associated problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Lads, let's keep our discussion to the pros & cons of various cars for the OP. Healthy discussion is good; let's not let it get personal.:)

Wow - this is still going on ?

Well, and to keep Conrad happy, here's my 0.02+0.02+.....
    I'd prefer a 1.6 to be honest. Is the ford focus a good car?
    Yes it is.

anyone who knows cars, and VAG in particular, knows that the words 'VAG', '1.4 petrol' and 'reliable' have no place being in the same sentence. And, if economy is an issue, then surely something that consumes half as much oil as they do, makes it a non-runner. The 1.2 Hpi petrol and 1.9 Old School Tdi are a better bet.
    biko wrote: »
    I know this is the Motors forum and all but if the car will be used just once a week then maybe consider bus or train.
    Price of buying car plus petrol/insurance/tax etc will exceed the price of going by other transport.
    Of course if you're planning to use the car all the time disregard this post.
    exactly. But even if you do use the car, all the time, it's all the other time that will make your decision, not a 1/week trip on the M6.
    1What glawaytt was at in this thread was sh!t stirring, and pushing a closed minded small cars good big cars bad agenda. It IS possible to avoid driving a 1 litre shopping cart at 18, i've done it, and many others have. People have the right to choose what to drive if they want it and can afford. And what you personally are doing now, picking fault with thing that i have said, because you'd don't like them rather than because you have another sugestion to make in a civil and reasonable way, is definitey sh1t stirring. Unneccessary
    Well a quick trawl of my history in these parts shows I drive a 3.0 petrol because it's cheaper to run than an 07 1.8 Tdci Ford (which I bought new, btw....), ..........
    bbk wrote: »
    Well to bring economy into it diesel has to be mentioned and a 1.9 TDI is well worth a mention in that respect...........Proof is in what I drive, a 90hp 1.9 TDI from 2000.............15,000 miles on since i got it (165,000ish in total) the engine is fine.
    Couple of things there: one diesel I already said: the old school Tdi is a safe bet (if you get a good one) it's the modern one's that are rubbish, and the 3k budget will filter most of that out. As above diesel does not always = economy. You have to put the OP's use for it in context. 1 trip a week, of 1hr and 50mins duration, does not warrant the extra a diesel car would cost, over a suitable petrol, as the extra cost's of buying/running/taxing/servicing an older diesel can't be justified by one trip.

Ode To The Motorist

draffodx wrote: »
    90bhp + heavy saloon car = slow!

they will still do perfectly respectable speeds, and still have reasonable torque. You coudl do worse. It would feel a lot better on long trips than smaller less solid and spacious cars

Anan1 wrote: »
    Lads, let's keep our discussion to the pros & cons of various cars for the OP. Healthy discussion is good; let's not let it get personal.:)

i WAS trying to, and gave reasonable information, trying to be helpful. The OP appreciated it, and thanked me for it, which i appreciate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

they will still do perfectly respectable speeds, and still have reasonable torque. You coudl do worse. It would feel a lot better on long trips than smaller less solid and spacious cars

Still slow!

Would a 1.9 tdiwith a remap be much quicker? How much extra horsepower would I get from it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

I have a 1.9tdi 90bhp golf and she is very light on juice and although not a rocket its well able to move! I'd definetly be looking to buy one if I was you! Insurance isn't a massive killer either, costing me about 2k fully comp with axa! Some of my friends are driving 1.4's and paying up to €1700!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

OP here is a nice looking golf http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1662160 it has a lot of work done going by the add most of which can be expencive to do.. turbo + flywheel for example.. its also the 110bhp one which would have a bit more poke than the 90 in a passat.. a remap would give you roughly 30 more bhp and 55nm of torque..

Would a 1.9 tdiwith a remap be much quicker? How much extra horsepower would I get from it?

it would feel a lot better than standard. On turbo diesels you can get 20-30 bhp from a remap (non turbo diesel and petrol cars don't get anywhere near that sort of increase). I know that a 110 tdi will get to about 135 (bhp), the 90 will increase to probably around 120. while the actual bhp figures are very high, they do have loads of torque so they won't feel short of a bit of go. And will still be economical after it.

alan1990 wrote: »
    I have a 1.9tdi 90bhp golf and she is very light on juice and although not a rocket its well able to move! I'd definetly be looking to buy one if I was you! Insurance isn't a massive killer either, costing me about 2k fully comp with axa! Some of my friends are driving 1.4's and paying up to €1700!

Now that's a helpful post. Would i be right in guessing 1990 is the year you were born? Thus putting you in the young male driver bracket, and giving proof that it is entirely possible for a young lad to have a good diesel car.
    Good choice on the golf by the way, grand motrs, we sold many of them here over the years and no complaints.