Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Fellas on RTE

• 01-11-2010 9:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭

What's up with Bad Fellas on RTE? Are they trying to copycat some of TV3's crime programmes? What an original name as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's very well made imo. I'm enjoying it so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

What's up with Bad Fellas on RTE? Are they trying to copycat some of TV3's crime programmes? What an original name as well.

Tis very TV3 alright, the whole being interviewed in run down buildings etc just annoys me, very tabloidesque altogether, but it has me entertained enough to keep watching so its doing something right for me i suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I didn't see much of the TV3 version.. I vaguely rembember extreme close-ups of the narrators chin and a forced dialogue. I switched it off after 5 minutes. This one does feel tabloid-esque but it's watchable.. and the use of historical footage is good. The chain of story was well thought out also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

it really was a banana republic back then, and lets face it there was alot of support for the Provos throughout irish society

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"For us to live any other way was nuts. Uh, to us, those goody-good people who worked shitty jobs for bum paychecks and took the subway to work every day, and worried about their TV licence, were dead. I mean they were suckers. They had no balls. If we wanted something we just took it. If anyone complained twice they got a visit from the inspector, believe me, they never complained again."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

It's an interesting narrative arc but why do practically all RTE-made programmes have to be ruined by sinister background music and moving / shaky camera shots? Really irritating and takes away from their programmes big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

tv3 regurgatated onto rte and to make matters worse it has been overplayed on tv3...

i now knoe enough about gangland crime to write a thesis on it or better still write for a new paper.

hold on.... i think the sunday world has an opening.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

mikom wrote: »
    "For us to live any other way was nuts. Uh, to us, those goody-good people who worked shitty jobs for bum paychecks and took the subway to work every day, and worried about their TV licence, were dead. I mean they were suckers. They had no balls. If we wanted something we just took it. If anyone complained twice they got a visit from the inspector, believe me, they never complained again."

Definitely you work for a Bank.

Typical Tabloidly Williams Trash on the Telly.

Shhhh but his TV3 series was also funded by the TV licence Shhh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Elmo wrote: »

Couldn't be further from the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Elmo wrote: »

Typical Tabloid Williams Trash on the Telly.

Shhh but his TV3 series was also funded by the TV licence Shhh.

Havent seen it yet, looking at the apprentice ;) i will check it out today.but not to hopeful

scum,bastards,thugs,animals,no morals,lowest of the low i cant wait :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Christ, Paul Williams has made a lot of money from these crime lords. The same stuff regurgitated over and over again. Those nicknames make me cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 block71

if paul williams is our no 1 crime reporter i would love to see him do a series on Fina Fail and all the cronies.
    he touched on Charlie and the gun running in Howth briefly last night but he should continue and delve into Ray Burke ,Liam Lawlor and he might even be able to find out the name of the horse that Bertie won the €32k from...same tripe dished out on a different station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Christ, Paul Williams has made a lot of money from these crime lords. The same stuff regurgitated over and over again. Those nicknames make me cringe.

Indeed, he's the biggest hypocrite in Irish media at the moment, has been for a few years. It's funny to listen to him on t.v. and radio with his faux disgust and hatred for these people, yet he probably makes as much money out of them as they do from their criminal enterprises through his many books, newspaper articles and t.v. shows. He personalises them giving them crappy nicknames rather than being objective about them, he's a leach, where would he be without them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

I liked last night's broadcast. Plenty of vintage street footage around Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

em, accepting all of the above 'bout williams, i thought this was ok - at least it had a docu feel without the usual hysterics (more or less :D)
    please don't hate me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Number 10 Shirt

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Indeed, he's the biggest hypocrite in Irish media at the moment, has been for a few years. It's funny to listen to him on t.v. and radio with his faux disgust and hatred for these people, yet he probably makes as much money out of them as they do from their criminal enterprises through his many books, newspaper articles and t.v. shows. He personalises them giving them crappy nicknames rather than being objective about them, he's a leach, where would he be without them ?

Have a look at these youtube clips.The first is Apres Match's take on him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDFRhu9Kao8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DuY6WPk2y2I

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Indeed, he's the biggest hypocrite in Irish media at the moment, has been for a few years.

a hypocrite:confused: how is he a hypocrite?

The man is a crime reporter his job is to report on crime which he does in a brave and upfront way.

fryup wrote: »

The man is a crime reporter his job is to report on crime which he does in a brave and upfront way.

I read an article of his which followed a criminal going to get Liposuction abroad. It seem trivial to me and to an extent romanticising/creating celebrity culture around such criminals.

I believe he called the criminal The Jordan :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

His career and money is made purely from these criminal gangs with their cute little nicknames. He gives them their infamy and celebrity status.

good episode tonight i taught much better than the TV3 version...but i wish they wouldn't show so many shooting up clips bit off putting

and my god what a sh*thole Ireland was back in those days, if people nowadays think things are bad..they should look at programmes like this

Yeah! druglords live in Spain now and drug addicts get free Syringes from the HSE. But wait until you see how Williams will put it in 10 years time.

Drugies would snort coke off Sexy Russian Models, while drug lords bought AK47s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

Normally i despise any of the tabloid/Paul Williams sensationalised crap BUT i thought last nights episode was very well done with the archive footage etc & Interviews with Bereaved parents & Community activists, Which is something TV3 never seem to bother with, especially the Archive footage. I know that RTE were around in the 70s, 80s & 90s and TV3 were not, Just personally i thought this was a much better watch than the usual tabloid lark on offer..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bill2673

I enjoyed this.

I was a bit sceptical of the story of 'how heroin was introduced to Dublin' seemed a bit simplistic to me......that they had been trying the armed robbery, that wasn't working, so they robbed a drug factory instead, and discovered by chance that there was a huge demand for illegal drugs.....this notion that it happened by chance, and if it wasn't for Larry Dunne, then this wouldn't have happened. My understanding is that there was a huge wave of heroin across the UK, particularly Scotland and the northern cities. My guess is that there would have been a huge heroin wave into Dublin whether Larry Dunne was there or not.

It was interesting to see the ex Garda talk about the 'autumn of 1979' as being the time when the wave of heroin hit.

It was also interesting to see how out of touch the politicians were. Micheal Noonan and Barry Desmond were very smug "I introduced this important piece of legislation"....as if without them there would have been no legal comeback. My guess is that there would have been huge political pressure at the time to introduce anti drug legislation, and that they really had no choice but to do this.

Also, the thing I found most frustrating about it, with regard to politicians, was that it was only when Veronica Guerin was shot that they really decided to crack down on the drug lords.
    Is thousands of inner city heroin addicts died from Aids not good enough for ye lads?
    But one journalist gets shot, and the foreign media picks up on it, and well we can't have that lads. (No disrespect meant to Veronica Guerin. If the government had been serious about drug crime in the first place then she may not have been killed).

At the end of the day, what this documentary shows yesterday is that someones going to supply it one way or another, and doing features on the various chief dealers doesn't mean much since if its not them its going to be someone else.

Personally, I'd be more interested in a documentary about about drug users and their families and the damage it wreaks. For example, I know of one woman still alive in the North inner city of Dublin who lost three children to AIDS in the 1980s, all heroin addicts. I'd rather listen to what she has to say than any of these punters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Thought last nights show was brutal. RTE is moving closer to TV3 type broadcasting every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭sleepyman

Bill2673 wrote: »
    I enjoyed this.

I was a bit sceptical of the story of 'how heroin was introduced to Dublin' seemed a bit simplistic to me......that they had been trying the armed robbery, that wasn't working, so they robbed a drug factory instead, and discovered by chance that there was a huge demand for illegal drugs.....this notion that it happened by chance, and if it wasn't for Larry Dunne, then this wouldn't have happened. My understanding is that there was a huge wave of heroin across the UK, particularly Scotland and the northern cities. My guess is that there would have been a huge heroin wave into Dublin whether Larry Dunne was there or not.

It was interesting to see the ex Garda talk about the 'autumn of 1979' as being the time when the wave of heroin hit.

It was also interesting to see how out of touch the politicians were. Micheal Noonan and Barry Desmond were very smug "I introduced this important piece of legislation"....as if without them there would have been no legal comeback. My guess is that there would have been huge political pressure at the time to introduce anti drug legislation, and that they really had no choice but to do this.

Also, the thing I found most frustrating about it, with regard to politicians, was that it was only when Veronica Guerin was shot that they really decided to crack down on the drug lords.
    Is thousands of inner city heroin addicts died from Aids not good enough for ye lads?
    But one journalist gets shot, and the foreign media picks up on it, and well we can't have that lads. (No disrespect meant to Veronica Guerin. If the government had been serious about drug crime in the first place then she may not have been killed).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I enjoyed this.

At the end of the day, what this documentary shows yesterday is that someones going to supply it one way or another, and doing features on the various chief dealers doesn't mean much since if its not them its going to be someone else.

Personally, I'd be more interested in a documentary about about drug users and their families and the damage it wreaks. For example, I know of one woman still alive in the North inner city of Dublin who lost three children to AIDS in the 1980s, all heroin addicts. I'd rather listen to what she has to say than any of these punters.

Totally agree there, having been brought up in Scotland I saw the damage hard drugs was doing in Glasgow and Edinburgh, that wouldnt be just put down to just one criminal family in Dublin and like you say if the Dunnes hadnt done it someone else would have certainly have.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

I enjoyed this.

There wasn't. Only inner city Dublin and some parts of west Dublin were being affected initially so the middle classes didn't give a sh1t at the time. In fact I thought the politicians in the programme admitted that they underestimated the scale of what was happening.