Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Melbourne Cup

• 01-11-2010 7:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭

Whose backing what?

i might have a sneaky e/w on Harris Tweed, but havent really looked at the field in great detail yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

had a quick look at the card..
    no nothing about any of the horses,but can some1 tell me why so you think is well clear fav..
    thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭Slimity

Manighar e/w. If ground is actually soft, he has a big chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

I think So you Think is favourite because of the ground expected to be soft, he was only backed into favourite the last few days, this will also suit Profound Beauty i think so might be worth an e/w punt aswell for patriotism if nothing else :P

Is there any Aussie racing experts on here?

would be handy for the other races on the card, as i havent a fiddlers about most and plan to have a few bets whilst watching it for the night/morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭Juwwi

deleated

• Registered Users Posts: 17,963 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Bauer @ 40/1. Got this tip so a few quid e/w.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Slimity wrote: »
    Manighar e/w. If ground is actually soft, he has a big chance.

Agree ! Hopefully ground is soft enough if it is 20's about him is a huge price and the jockey on board is a huge plus !

Also backed Maluckyday e/w at 33/1 straight after his win early on Saturday morning.

Good guide on the ATR website.
    http://www.attheraces.com/article.aspx?hlid=512415&lid=&raceid=&title=Melbourne+Cup:+Runners+Guide&ref=&nav=&sub=&day=

• Registered Users Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

coughlan08 wrote: »
    no nothing about any of the horses,but can some1 tell me why so you think is well clear fav..
    thanks

He's won 4 G1s in a row and he's trained by Bart Cummings.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Am i wrong or is this a good bit of a step up in trip for So You Think?

Holberg and Profound beauty for me

• Registered Users Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

only1stevo wrote: »

First try at the trip ! Is bred to get it though.

Goldcupfav wrote: »
    First try at the trip ! Is bred to get it though.

Yea just watched his race from sat, seemed like there was quite a bit left in the tank

• Registered Users Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭Juwwi

only1stevo wrote: »

you are correct saturdays race was a 1m 2f race.

cant find any further races back tho

robbie1977 wrote: »
    you are correct saturdays race was a 1m 2f race.

cant find any further races back tho

http://www.racingpost.com/horses/horse_home.sd?horse_id=742548

There ya go

• Registered Users Posts: 844 ✭✭✭qc3

coughlan08 wrote: »
    thanks

He is unbeaten in all five starts this season since August 28.
    He won the Mackinnon on Saturday at (odds of 4-7) proving he will have no trouble handling a soft track
    The big question is will he stay this first attempt at 2m.

PROFOUND BEAUTY ew for me @ 14/1

PriceWise Tip
    Melbourne Cup
    4.00 Holberg 1pt win 20/1 blue square 888.....14/1 at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

qc3 wrote: »
    PROFOUND BEAUTY ew for me @ 14/1

I went with Profound Beauty e/w at 20/1 on PP.

• Moderators Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Decent sized e/w bet on Shocking @ 10/1 and small e/w on Zavite @ 150/1.

Should be epic.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Is it just me or are most of these horses untried at 2m? They all seem to be 1m2f or 1m4f horses at most.

Going for Profound Beauty but smart money says favourite, even Weld is keen on him - ‘He's an excellent horse, just special,’ Weld said. ‘He's nearly impossible to beat in the Melbourne Cup. It's wonderful for Bart.’

• Registered Users Posts: 40,861 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Bauer @ 40/1. Got this tip so a few quid e/w.

He's scratched.

Gone for Shocking to win and Zipping to place, covered with a few quid on the fav.

John Berry on ATR after picking out the winners of the last 2 races there, seems to know his stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,963 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

[
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    He's scratched.

So I just seen, pity as the tip was from a very very good source.

• Registered Users Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

watching attheraces there n our irish hopefull profound beauty looks nice n relaxed, have him done EW at 14/1. little EW on campionoligist and master o reilly at big odds for a bit of fun. A case could be made for about 10 horses so lets hope Pat has the luck of the irish, looking forward to it...
    boyles robbing me i see power giving 20/1 aaaaahhhhhhh

He's 37/1 on betfair to win 8/1 to place

Ive done Profound to win 38.0 and place
    Harris Tweed to win 30.0 and place 7.2
    Illustrious Blue to win 70.0 and place 16.0
    Holberg 27.0 to win and place 7.2

Just realised Betfair only paying 3 places though ffs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Went with Americain.

No way no fing way i won i won:D

Good stuff Jonjo

Your man John Berry tipped him aswell, shoulda listened damn it.

I cant believe it, was going to go with the fav but i said the ameican elections are on today so i will go with american:o, call me crazy all ye want:p.
    Only had 5 e/w at 14/1 but still the perfect round off to a day where i took the bookies to the cleaners.

haha probably a better strategy in a race like that

• Moderators Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Mosse is a class act. What a jockey.

• Registered Users Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

super ride n a well deserved win. fair play jonjo nice touch!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

What the **** Americain won at 12/1? It was as low as 7/2 a few weeks ago.