Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strangest statements youve overheard recently?

• 31-10-2010 8:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭

I heard a classic last night: 'I was going to come as a reindeer but I decided to be a cigarette instead' from a cigarette drinking a Gin and Tonic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Starbucks in college:
    Student A: Fuck me, this coffee is like sex.
    Student B: So its like your mam, you finished in under two minutes and it's black

Not strange really, just funny :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Little resutrant, Galway city.
    Woman at table:"Nazi zombies!"
    everyone else:"Yeah."
    me: WTF?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Call of duty obviously, get with the times :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

A woman with a charity bucket approaches a passer by-

Response: " No sorry, I like to keep my charity work private"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

More funny then strange but last week the Gardai came to break up our house party. Heard his conversation with my drunk buddy!

Garda says to my friend: "This is serious anti-social behaviour!"
    Friend replies: "It's hardly anti-social when EVERYBODY is here!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I heard someone remark that they like the X Factor once.

I nearly puked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

"We've turned a corner"

I lol'd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Chugger: "Can I ask you a question?"
    Pedestrian: "You just did!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

I was asked this question less that 15 mins ago: what's your name Anne?

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

Albeit the person was drunk... Still no excuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

I overheard a good few ones recently more funny than strange though:

the first one was 3 lads sitting a few seats ahead of me on the bus coming out of town, boy 1 goes look out there, thats my uncle with his wife he bangs window and waves. Boy 2 goes thats two fellas you retard, boy 1 says no thats my uncle and his wife, boy 2 looks a bit confused and looks at boy 3 for reassurance and says is this guy joking, both guy 2 and 3 then look at boy 1 everything goes quit and then boy 2 and 3 burst out laughing getting out pieces of sentences here and there like cant beilve thats a women. I then started laughing and notcied boy1 looking down at me looking not to happy.

The second thing that happend was when I was standing outside brown thomas in the city wating for a lift off a mate, two guards are walking up twords me and coming from the other direction are two guys about 18 years old as they come up twords the guards one of them shouts out theres some smell of bacon the guards look at him and he just looks at them and smiles and keeps walking pure random but brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

lcrcboy wrote: »
    I overheard a good few ones recently more funny than strange strange full stop though:

the first one was 3 lads sitting a few seats ahead of me on the bus coming out of town, boy 1 goes look out there, thats my uncle with his wife he bangs window and waves. Boy 2 goes thats two fellas you retard, boy 1 says no thats my uncle and his wife, boy 2 looks a bit confused and looks at boy 3 for reassurance and says is this guy joking, both guy 2 and 3 then look at boy 1 everything goes quit and then boy 2 and 3 burst out laughing getting out pieces of sentences here and there like cant beilve thats a women. I then started laughing and notcied boy1 looking down at me looking not to happy.

The second thing that happend was when I was standing outside brown thomas in the city wating for a lift off a mate, two guards are walking up twords me and coming from the other direction are two guys about 18 years old as they come up twords the guards one of them shouts out theres some smell of bacon the guards look at him and he just looks at them and smiles and keeps walking pure random but brilliant

FYP......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

mfceiling wrote: »
    FYP......

FYP for your pleasure?? lol not shure what that stood for dubt it was the standard FYP (five year project) :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭celtic Liger

in a shop last week, two 11 year old girls..."who's baby do you want to die? I hope kats baby dies"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Too many to mention, all of them from Lenihan and Cowen.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

lcrcboy wrote: »
    two guards are walking up twords me and coming from the other direction are two guys about 18 years old as they come up twords the guards one of them shouts out theres some smell of bacon the guards look at him and he just looks at them and smiles and keeps walking pure random but brilliant

I know of a guy who was arrested outside a niteclub for saying something along those lines, not even to a cop but in a cops presence. He said do I smell smokey bacon. He wasn't doing anything out of the way besides but was arrested and turfed into the back of the Garda car. He was sat there for about a quarter of an hour as the Guards work was not complete there. They subsequently drove to a nearby petrol station, had a very stiff word with him, dearrested him but cautioned him and let him out of the car. While he was p!ssed off at the whole episode it was a real p!sser of a night so in another way he was thankful he got to wait for his taxi in relative comfort!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Tea-a-Maria

'Dearrested'?You mean released?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

'love those fianna failers- they have the ordinary chap on the street in their favour'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Queen-Mise wrote: »
    what's your name Anne?

Maybe he just left out the second question mark?
    what's your name? Anne?

An odd enough one I overheard with my cousin while in a lift of all places. We just got onto the lift and there were two yummy mummy type ladies on it. They were obviously mid conversation when we started heraing them but once said to the other "theres milk in Mary's water too". We could hardly contain ourselves from laughing...don't think we did really. We assumed they were probably talking about a high lime content in Marys tap water whoever Mary is or something along those lines but perhaps could have being something more sinister too:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭AnneElizabeth

in a shop last week, two 11 year old girls..."who's baby do you want to die? I hope kats baby dies"

Sounds like they were talking about Eastenders? Maybe..?

'Dearrested'?You mean released?

No, I believe there is actually a word called dearrested too. Heard it a few nights back on one of those Traffic Cops type programs and it was a cop that used the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Overheard two girls discussing public sector paycuts. Girl A is a teacher.

Girl A: I think I'm being discriminated against because I've been to university & got a degree.

Girl B: You do realise that many people who work in the private sector have also been to university?

Girl A: Blank confused look on face!

God help her poor students!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Girl saw lobster thrown into pot, an hour or two later she was asked did she want any. She refused, saying;

"No, sorry, I dont eat anything thats alive when its killed."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭wolfric

THFC wrote: »
    Girl saw lobster thrown into pot, an hour or two later she was asked did she want any. She refused, saying;

"No, sorry, I dont eat anything thats alive when its killed."

that leaves....zombies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Tonights favourite: Question- 'What did you dress as last year?' Answer- 'I dressed as a knacker from Mayo from the 70s'. Question- 'What did a knacker from Mayo in the 70s look like?' Answer- 'You know........A check shirt and stuff'.