Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best vet in clare??

• 31-10-2010 3:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭

Any recommendations for a good vet in clare. Which is the best

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

I don't know all of them, but I'm very happy with Ceithre Cos in Tulla. They really care about the animals. Bit pricey though, but worth the money.
    The do farm animals and pets.

http://www.goldenpages.ie/Veterinary_Surgeons/Ceithre_Cos_Vet_Clinic/IE_10445859_9999_1001

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭talkin

Yeah thts what I'm after somebody that actually will care bout my dog and not just butcher her

• Registered Users Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Balagan

For a cat, Charlie Kenny of Carmody Street, Ennis. Brings 'em back from the dead!
    See satisfied dog owners in there also.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭Quiet_thought

I'd have to recommend Summerhill. They are all so good in there. Really look after my cats whenever they have to go in. And they have always been so informative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 gypseaking

Eugene Judge on Station Road is also very good, just on Cathedral side of Maddens Furniture.

everybody has said a diff one :( and its for a dog by the way she's lumps that i think mite be mammary cancer.

Yeah well, painful choices...:rolleyes:

Ceithre Cos is an all female vet. Erica does even homeopathy for animals. They are very soft with animals, no butchers whatsoever. They'll try anything else before they pick up the knife, but aren't shy to operate if necessary.
    They operated on the dog of my neighbours who had cancer. The big black beast is still alive and very much kicking.

They looked after my cat who had an unidentifiable illness and made an appointment with a cat specialist in Limerick when they could'nt make sense of it.

My dog got spayed there and gets her shots every year. They ask questions about her wellbeing and behaviour and give really useful tips.
    And they are the trusted vets for a nearby animal shelter.

What more can I say?

You should make an appointment as soon as possible, depending where you live. If you live in Ennis or it is the nearest place, then try one of the above recommended vets. Trust your feeling when you talk to the vet. If you think he is not considerate enough, walk out.

Personally I don't trust male vets (no offence, boys, just bad experiences). The ones I got to know didnt see animals as co-creatures but as things to do work on.

Good luck with your dog!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 gypseaking

talkin wrote: »
    everybody has said a diff one :(
    That's a good thing, not a bad thing, that there are several recommended.
    Carry wrote: »
    Personally I don't trust male vets (no offence, boys, just bad experiences). The ones I got to know didnt see animals as co-creatures but as things to do work on.
    This definitely does not apply to Eugene Judge. He is very kind with animals.

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Taceom

Depends on what part of Clare you are looking in, but I would certainly recommend Killaloe Vets - and there is both a man and woman vet in the practice. Both excellent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

I use summerhill vets and can't recommend them highly enough
    2 years back our cat suffered smoke inhalation from a house fire and they were great really unfortunately the cat had to be PTS but they tried everything they could for 5 days and the bill was a quarter of what I expected it to be!

Current moggy attends them now and I haven't found fault with them ever

• Registered Users Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭CptSternn

gypseaking wrote: »
    Eugene Judge on Station Road is also very good, just on Cathedral side of Maddens Furniture.

He fixed all of my cats and took care of one when it got knocked down last year. Very reasonable fees as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Cushla

I used to use Eugene Judge all the time but switched to Charlie Kenny 2 yrs ago. Eugene was unable to fix a problem with my puppy. She was suffering so I tried Kennys. The problem was down to food. After only 2 days she was noticably better & perfect after a week. He's very thorough & the girls there are lovely too...so enthusiastic. I'd def recommend him but that ceithre cos one sounds fab too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 nadel302008

I go with my Dogs and Guinea- Pigs to Summerhill Vet Centre. And can recommend them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

i use shannonside in kilrush, they're sound got my dog neutered there and a really tidy job. the did it at 8 on a friday evening and kept her there until 11pm. i was delighted with them.

Usually get the dog looked at by charles kenny in ennis. he's good too.

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Claregirl

I have to say Charlie Kenny is the best vet I've ever come across. He brought my dog back from the dead about 8 years ago. She was put to sleep recently at the grand old age of 16 and I think he was more upset than I was. Very caring and compassionate and really cares and takes an interest in animals. Bev's a dote and a true animal lover and allways gives great advise when needed. I changed to Charlie from Summerhill - they let me down badly in an emergency and a friend of mine had a bad experience there also. In my experience emergencies only seem to count if it's a valuable heiffer!

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭fionav3

I know I'm late with this but I have to reccomend Charlie Kenny too. Absolutely fantastic vet, really cares about the animals and so good at his job. the girls are lovely too and Bev (one of the nurses) is an animal behaviourist who ga=ives great advice. I dread the day the man will retire, he's top class.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 golden brown

I agree with everyone else Charley Kenny and the nurses there are first class. They also deal with reptiles too. Bev is a qualified dog and cat behaviourist and she will give loads of advice. They specialise in cats and dogs and other pets. My friends rabbit we thought had died and Bev told her what to do over the phone and he was back to himself in 2 days. I wouldnt pass the door.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 alanhiggy

charles kenny is the best

its agreed so charles kenny is the best

• Registered Users Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I hear members of my family who have pets talk very positively about both Charles Kenny and Eugene Judge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

alanhiggy wrote: »
    charles kenny is the best
    in what way is he the best?

By saying he is the best,does that mean there is a worst?:confused:

i use this practice,but to be honest a vet is a vet is a vet, no???

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Claregirl

Eh No!!!

See previous comments!!! Some are better than others, some care more than others and some are in it for more than the money......! Bit like doctor's really!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Aidan O'Connell, I find is fantastic. Good with animals and a nice down to earth, honest person! He'll tell you what the best course of action is and is honest about the prices too!

Also Matthew Egan in Ennis is good too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

Yeah well, painful choices...:rolleyes:

Ceithre Cos is an all female vet. Erica does even homeopathy for animals.

What does this mean? they only treat female animals? Why is the gender of a veterinary practitioner relevant? Any 'vet' that condones the use of homeopathy (diluted water) would be immediately struck off my list of favourable candidates.

No. I just stated that there are only female vets (I'm female myself and note such things), without making a judgement. Both vets are married to local cattle farmers and have loads of children - no indication of man/male-haters, innit? :D

Homeopathy might work or might not work. The use of it in a vet clinic is for me an indication that especially a rural vet tries more than just the usually culchie approach that is, if the animal doesn't work or please, shoot it.
    Homeopathy is in this case just a complimentary thing, not the main approach.

The "girls" would do anything to heal or rescue an animal. So would I.

If you just popped in to make sour statements - tough.

Basically I'm pleased that there are still a lot of people in Clare who care about their pets. Don't have the best experiences in my sticks.

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭woggie

I swapped to Charles Kenny from Eugene Judge as I found him (Eugene) to be very rude and coarse. I know there are some that say it shouldn't matter how he talks it should only matter how he looks after your pet but to be honest when you're standing in his surgery and he is cursing his head off in front of your 10-year old daughter then it does matter! To me anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭babygirlz

I love them in Summerhill Clinic, I loved PJ when he was there, I think he is retired now but still pops in and out.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭sparticus78

I'd have to recommend Summerhill. They are all so good in there. Really look after my cats whenever they have to go in. And they have always been so informative.

+1 more - I have used them since our pooch was a small puppy and always found them nice. Used them recently when she had a litter to get them vacc' chipped etc and they gave us a good deal

• Registered Users Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭CptSternn

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Frediie

I have to say I found the reception staff and some others extremely rude and abrupt in summerhill. In this day and age I would expect a pleasant response when I call into any business especially when it relates to something important to me such as my pets. If I or anyone else in business today spoke to people the way they do we would be fired. If they do not enjoy their work I would suggest letting the job go to someone who would gladly do it and appreciate itwould not then some customer care classes for those involved would be a good investmrnt as they have slacked so much and havent a clue what manners are. II will not be returning there in the future.