Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Willie Casey on the Saturday Night Show

• 31-10-2010 1:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭

Did anyone see Willie Casey last night on the box ahead of his European title fight at the UL Arena on Saturday.

I thought it was brilliant TV.

Anyone else catch it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

hes some character alright.great interview.hes certainly not shy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Did not see it, but Willie being Willie I doubt he let himself or Limerick boxing down.

In my opinion he is a better boxer and a better fighter at this point of his career than Bernard Dunne ever was, and Willie is more of a straight talker as well. Bit disappointing that he has not received even a fraction of the publicity that Dunne got when Dunne was getting ready to fight Esham Pickering for the very same belt in 2006.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I saw it and it was cringeworthy TV. He wouldn't shut up.

His interview was OK and Im sure he could knock the other guy out by just talking at him but DEAR GOD could he not shut the fvck up during the interview of the Yanks. :(

Frankly if you weren't tuned into to the Limerick accent you would find it hard to understand him.

Anybody count how many times he said "dya no wa i mean?" I lost count after a minute or so. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Berty wrote: »

His interview was OK and Im sure he could knock the other guy out by just talking at him but DEAR GOD could he not shut the fvck up during the interview of the Yanks. :(

Frankly if you weren't tuned into to the Limerick accent you would find it hard to understand him.

Anybody count how many times he said "dya no wa i mean?" I lost count after a minute or so. :D

I agree -me and the oh had to turn over - embarrassing to say the least. Best of luck to him in the fight though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

Berty wrote: »

I couldnt disagree with you more, I thought he was fabulously entertaining and a breath of fresh air - especially in comparision to the polish but boring and rehearsed stories from Richard & Judy.

Yes, he said "dya no wa i mean?" too much but so what. I thought he was brilliant and I will be rooting for him this weekend

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oW047IR9vZ0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

embarrising to say the least, plus both guys talked the way they dressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Just watched it there both of them did very well, it is so difficult to speak on live TV. They both did really well and should be very proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

if the sky thingy is any thing to go by then there chould be sparks flying on saturday night, i will sit here, no i will not sit there,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Dumdum McCarthy

flutered wrote: »
    How do u talk the way u dress please explain more.The dublin boxer hada suit with a cravat and Willie Casey dressed the same way as an american box office movie star! Look at Willies jumper and the guy from jackass next to him,Practically the same different colours.
    I really enjoyed watching it because you didnt know what he was going to say next.I even watched it again on the RTE player the next morn.I hope he wins Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Finally watched the interview thanks to the link that VintageKit put in this thread, and I don't see what people are claiming to be embarrassed over.

Maybe there is a touch of snobbery involved over his accent. Sure Willie is a bit rough around the edges compared to people who are regulars on tv shows, and it was his first big interview to a mainstream audience in Ireland, but I thought he did fine all things considered.

Funny how an accent and a bit of an excited nature can sway opinion it seems.

I can think of a few people who have and are on tv with accents that would be regarded as dodgy, but because most people would not be from the same localities, it does not get noticed as much.

Take Ricky Hatton, he has an accent that would be typical of a working class area in Manchester, yet I have yet to see an Irish boxing fan on boards or anywhere else pick up on that and say that he is cringeworthy in interviews, especially as he gives similar interviews to Willie.

Cheryl Cole is another with an accent that if you were from the north of England would have you doing a double take if you heard it on a bus, yet she is not getting stick from it, Fox Network excluded of course :D

Hell on an Irish level, listen to Bernard Dunne talk.

I think people hear are just reacting because they are Limerick folk or are familiar with the Limerick accent that Willie has and the negative image that can come with that accent.

Willie had an interview and was probably a bit excited/nervous, and chatted a bit much a few times, but I think that is very understandable given that he has no media training and very little experience in front of a camera. Plus the two lads were given a bit of a brief as to what to discuss on the show beforehand and had the cheeky chap vs the serious nice guy roles to play.

People should look at the interviews that Willie has give after some of his fights. Now I personally hate seeing a fighter get interviewed straight after a fight as they will be tired, sore, and their bodies are still revovering, but Willie doing a boxing interview after a fight becomes a pretty straight to the point interview because it is a subject he is very comfortable with.

Saturday night was brand new to him, and taken as that, I think he did nowt wrong.

I always thought Limerick had a reputation of being proud of sportspeople who are doing well and that are on the brink of a decent achievement. Maybe I was wrong on that.

Limerick has a local lad, who turned pro only two years ago, and who has had only 10 pro fights, yet he is one fight away from winning a European title. That is a hell of an achievement, and one that if he wins the European title could springboard him into the World title picture.

The one thing I know for sure is that if Willie was English, then his fighting style and personality would see him growing a big following in the way that Ricky Hatton did. Over here it seems that his accent and one interview in which he was a bit excited/nervous is enough to make him cringeworthy in the eyes of some.

It is a bloody shame as here is a lad that is proud of Limerick, and like Andy Lee, he is a lad who when answering questions from international boxing media is always quick to bring up Limerick, saying good things about the place, and point out that his dream is to have a world title fight in Limerick over Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

I enjoyed that interview,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭mark1974

Hope he wins.
    As for the interview I thought he did ok.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

flutered wrote: »

You nailed it!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Well said Kess.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

He seems very positive and speaks positive of Limerick but i think maybe because of who his family are people are slow to support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

I thought that it was a great interview/entertainment and even though I'd be more in Paulie Hylands camp I really enjoyed Willie.
    I'm from Cork and always cringe when I hear strong Cork accents on TV or radio but Willies' strong accent didn't bother me at all. Probably overdid it a little when the Jackass guys were on but overall found it very entertaining. The fact that the two lads are good friends meant that they could bounce off each other and I thought it worked well. Looking forward to Saturday now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Probably overdid it a little when the Jackass guys were on but overall found it very entertaining.

Knoxville was the one who started talking to them and he and the other Jackass guy seemed more interested in messing about with the boxers than talking to O'Connor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

Normally go to all the fights in UL but I aint touching this one with a 100ft pole. I hope Willie wins though, he is a classy little fighter.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭bantee

You will always get elitist snobs in any area of the country who are quick to begrudge an up-and-coming sports personality due to their accent/area of origin/dress sense/etc.

I don't really care about his background. Boxing is on the rise in this country over the last few years and the best of luck to Willie and any other boxers who are trying to make it.

I think he's 28 which is old in terms of the experience he has as a pro but really hopes he hits the bit time over the next year or 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 kuntakinta

he did his best considering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

Kess73 wrote: »
    Finally watched the interview thanks to the link that VintageKit put in this thread, and I don't see what people are claiming to be embarrassed over.

Maybe there is a touch of snobbery involved over his accent. Sure Willie is a bit rough around the edges compared to people who are regulars on tv shows, and it was his first big interview to a mainstream audience in Ireland, but I thought he did fine all things considered.

Funny how an accent and a bit of an excited nature can sway opinion it seems.

I can think of a few people who have and are on tv with accents that would be regarded as dodgy, but because most people would not be from the same localities, it does not get noticed as much.

Take Ricky Hatton, he has an accent that would be typical of a working class area in Manchester, yet I have yet to see an Irish boxing fan on boards or anywhere else pick up on that and say that he is cringeworthy in interviews, especially as he gives similar interviews to Willie.

Cheryl Cole is another with an accent that if you were from the north of England would have you doing a double take if you heard it on a bus, yet she is not getting stick from it, Fox Network excluded of course :D

Hell on an Irish level, listen to Bernard Dunne talk.

I think people hear are just reacting because they are Limerick folk or are familiar with the Limerick accent that Willie has and the negative image that can come with that accent.

Willie had an interview and was probably a bit excited/nervous, and chatted a bit much a few times, but I think that is very understandable given that he has no media training and very little experience in front of a camera. Plus the two lads were given a bit of a brief as to what to discuss on the show beforehand and had the cheeky chap vs the serious nice guy roles to play.

People should look at the interviews that Willie has give after some of his fights. Now I personally hate seeing a fighter get interviewed straight after a fight as they will be tired, sore, and their bodies are still revovering, but Willie doing a boxing interview after a fight becomes a pretty straight to the point interview because it is a subject he is very comfortable with.

Saturday night was brand new to him, and taken as that, I think he did nowt wrong.

I always thought Limerick had a reputation of being proud of sportspeople who are doing well and that are on the brink of a decent achievement. Maybe I was wrong on that.

Limerick has a local lad, who turned pro only two years ago, and who has had only 10 pro fights, yet he is one fight away from winning a European title. That is a hell of an achievement, and one that if he wins the European title could springboard him into the World title picture.

The one thing I know for sure is that if Willie was English, then his fighting style and personality would see him growing a big following in the way that Ricky Hatton did. Over here it seems that his accent and one interview in which he was a bit excited/nervous is enough to make him cringeworthy in the eyes of some.

It is a bloody shame as here is a lad that is proud of Limerick, and like Andy Lee, he is a lad who when answering questions from international boxing media is always quick to bring up Limerick, saying good things about the place, and point out that his dream is to have a world title fight in Limerick over Dublin.

Great post, signed in just to thank it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭georgem25

I thought it was a very entertaining interview.
    Best of luck to him on Saturday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭shano_88

Anyone know what time the fight is scheduled to start?

There is a public weigh-in out at the UL Arena today and everyone is welcome.

I generally love weigh-ins, you really get a sense of the personalities of the fighters, which ones have struggled to make weight, which are on good form etc.

They are usually up for a chat as well once they have made weight, you just have to fit your conversation around them gulping down litres of shakes and scoffing Mars bars as the rehydrate and replenish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

is the fight being broadcast on TV or radio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

kilburn wrote: »
    Normally go to all the fights in UL but I aint touching this one with a 100ft pole. I hope Willie wins though, he is a classy little fighter.......

woud like to see the fight but just thinking how many of Willies relatives will be there makes me hope the place will be struck by multiple bolts of lightning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭shano_88

Im going but im not finished work till around half 8. What time is the fight meant to start at?

Details of the weigh-in

I'll have some photos later

http://boxing-ireland.com/20101105_casey_hyland_weighin_16.html

148761_463393308727_226000308727_5373208_786215_n.jpg

Its a wonder they got Hyland out of that suit!

Mc Love wrote: »
    Its a wonder they got Hyland out of that suit!

Maybe its time you left off with the negative comments. You came on here last week and were very disparaging and disrespectful about both of these guys and I think that the Kess post that made showed that the silent majority outweighed you negativity.

You can see from the weigh in photos that these guys, who are fighting for the European title, still one of the most respected titles in the world, have immense courage, disipline, determination and dedication to get themselves in the condition they are for the task ahead.

You and I wouldnt last a week in their shoes in what is the toughest sports in the world.

I take my hat off to them, you might be snobbish about their accents, but I can assure you that outside of Limerick and indeed Ireland, Willie has gone down a storm. His interview became a bit of an internet hit with boxing fans around the world and Willie's name is on everyones lips and the eyes of the boxing world to some degree are on Limerick and all you can do is take pot shots. Poor form.

Willie is a positive role model, someone getting up off their arse, working hard to achieve a goal. The least you would expect is a little support from your home city.

_MG_1448.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

That interview was brilliant. We need more ordinary people who are just saying it as it is on our tv. Yes his accent is different - but aren't we all. A brilliant interview and great for the sport.

Can't wait to see the fight - delighted that RTE are showing respect and getting good coverage for Irish boxing - not just the fights but allowing the fighters to have a personality and let people know the heart and soul that goes into it.

Go on the lads :D

Maybe its time you left off with the negative comments. You came on here last week and were very disparaging and disrespectful about both of these guys and I think that the Kess post that made showed that the silent majority outweighed you negativity.

Its an internet forum where people are allowed to leave comments, if you didnt like what I wrote, report it or maybe its time you left the internet!

At least Willie changes his clothes :D

Mod Edit: Mc Love banned for a week for abuse and back-seat moderation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

Come on Willie woooooooooo.

Knock the jackeen out !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Maith an Fhearr Willie :) Great day for Limerick boxing.

so so glad for Willie.

Let hope that Willie and Andy Lee can prove that Limerick is a real hotbed of boxing talent.

Willie Casey-Paulie Hyland report with undercard and video

can Casey now topple Kiko?

http://boxing-ireland.com/20101106_willie_casey_is_european_king_24.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭mark1974

Willie Casey-Paulie Hyland report with undercard and video

can Casey now topple Kiko?

http://boxing-ireland.com/20101106_willie_casey_is_european_king_24.html

My heart says yes but my head says no. Kiko is a completely different ball game.

Well done Willie.

mark1974 wrote: »
    My heart says yes but my head says no. Kiko is a completely different ball game.

Well done Willie.

Willie is riding the crest of a wave.

If Limerick gets behind him and they could get the show on in Limerick again then I reckon he could do it!

just to let you know that Willie will appear on this show again tonight, Saturday 13th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

go on willie :cool: