Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brendan O'Connor should host the Late Late.....

• 30-10-2010 11:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭

Well lads, what do ye think?

B O'C would make a far better presenter than Tubirdy in my opinion. Anyone agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

B O'C would make a far better presenter than Tubirdy in my opinion. Anyone agree?

I dont particularly like tubs and believe him to be an overpaid under performer.
    However I feel even more negative about O Connor.

Are we really that stuck for talent in this country that this topic is a toss up between two very poor presenters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,321 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Jaysus that's a disgracful idea!

O'Connor is a cretin and his chat show was incredibly brutal is has to be said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Brendan O'Connor is miles ahead of Tubridy. It's not gonna happen though; Tubridy's connections got him where he is today, and he's not likely to get off the gravy train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

Sean Moncrieff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Jaysus that's a disgracful idea!

O'Connor is a cretin and his chat show was incredibly brutal is has to be said!

Mr Stuffins,

I think you are confusing Brendan O'Connor with the Dainty Little Bugger! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Sean Moncrieff

Yeah, I like Sean, Defo comes across really really well on the radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

kippy wrote: »
    Yeah, I like Sean, Defo comes across really really well on the radio.

He does. He's a lot more clued in and smarter than Tubridy, and a far superior interviewer. Also has a sense of humour and is a bit of smartarse which makes for great entertainment.

My biggest peev with Tubridy is that he looks embarrased and nervous everytime anything remotely edgy is mentioned. Like his mum is watching or something. He's like an awkward teenager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,321 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Ray D'arcy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

As much as I dislike Tubridy, a big massive NO to that suggestion. Brendan O Connor is a complete twat,not only should he not host the late late, he should not be on TV fullstop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Sean Moncrief, Ivan Yeats, Mark Little,Ray Darcy, Pat Kenny:D

All far better for the job than tubbers and o'Connor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Well lads, what do ye think?B O'C would make a far better presenter than Tubirdy in my opinion. Anyone agree?

I feel like someone has stolen the clothes out of my closet.. ;)

I have been hammering on about this for a while.. Get rid of the guy of Tubridy and give it to O'Connor... No matter what you think of Brendan, he's far more entertaining than Tubridy.. even if he's only a stop gap until they find someone better..

Tubridy wasnt voted in to the job (the excuse his relations usually use) and has no right to the job..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

I think he should. It wouldn't take much to do a better job than Tubridy, but I think BOC has a presenter quality to him that's rare.

I don't like his monologue though, he's not good at either making or delivering those lines. Next time he should try to find some way to make sure they're funny first, such as people to try them out on.

Historically, it's been whoever won the Saturday Night slow that eventually went on to host the Late Late Show..... let's hope for the love of god that that's not Craig Doyle anyway. :eek:

You know what might have happened? It could be that Craig Doyle was such an absolute disaster that RTE saw sense and took the slot from him and gave it to Brendan O' Connor instead. So feeling sorry for him and not wanting to feck him back to radioland forever more, they decided to give him The Panel that was free instead.... this way they could pretend he was more of a comedian rather than a chatshow host, and like it was a mutual agreement sort of deal.

I have a strange feeling that this season might be the last we ever see (listed in the newspapers) of The Panel. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

If BOC ever gets offered the poision chalice of the LLS I hope he turns it down. I enjoy Brendan's show and enjoy his style. But as for the DLB fella - he's woeful too full of his own self importance. I don't like him at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

There really is a shortage of top presenters in this country. Or maybe a shortage of opportunities? I'd like to see Bryan Dobson out there trying something new and more upbeat actually. He has potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Ray D'arcy

Speaking of pricks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

I have a strange feeling that this season might be the last we ever see (listed in the newspapers) of The Panel. :rolleyes:

No great loss tbh. Anyone have viewing figures over the last 4/5 years? I presume they are on a constant downward trend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭drBill

Ray D'arcy

Just when I thought this country couldn't get any worse...

Ray D'arcy
    mloc123 wrote: »
    Speaking of pricks..
    drBill wrote: »
    Just when I thought this country couldn't get any worse...

The insufferable midget, Ray Darcy, recently said on his radio show that he will emigrate if Fianna Fail are re-elected...... remember that the next time at the polls and do your patriotic duty! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

I don't think BOC is a strong enough presenter for the LLS.

DLB tho has to go.

There has to be someone better then DLB - it is a sorry state of affairs when DLB is considered to be the creme de la creme in presenting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭transylman

The insufferable midget, Ray Darcy, recently said on his radio show that he will emigrate if Fianna Fail are re-elected...... remember that the next time at the polls and do your patriotic duty! :D

Nope, he said he would emigrate if Enda Kenny became taoiseach. FF man to the core that lad, how else do you think he got the job at rte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Alfred123

All those rte characters – are a complete waste .. that Ryan Turbidy fellow, i cant switch the damned thing off. ON tv mornin and noon and radio in the morning. Now he’s gone and written a freakin book on J F Kennedy. I feel like the man is sleepin with me !!! (and i'm not even Gaye). I can Taste him in my boiled egg in the morning. Anyway sooner he takes a break from himself, we can get to listen to a few other characters on radio/tv. Can someone please get the man out of my life !
    .. there be a few other personas on rte tv, et al who should be pushed under the nearest passing bus. That Brendan O Connor fellow .. i mean .. its like watching someone take a crap LIVE on tv. In a bog-cork accent. Who EMPLOYS these people ! their relatives ? - and that Craig arent i so goodlookin - fellow .. i heard he arm wrestled a guy who operating a jack-hammer in donnybrook for the job - hosting a few tired old comedians. Least its a group effort ..

i might just apply to host my own chat show on the rte meself. I mean I’m basically an idiot – I have nothing to say that a whole load of people need to hear at once. I don’t feel very presentable (though I carry myself well .. ) .. I’m not very well liked and I’m willing to become even more dislikes .. and I’ll get a fat-pig salary for doing it. Count me in .. I could could really host a chat show .. then I'd really get in your bed, i'm tellin ya .. i'd be on radio from am - till my pm riprte chat show. Monday – Friday .. people would have the w/end to digest what i said. .. you'd never get rid of me - i'd be written into your toilet paper .. Are we ok to go on camera 3 there, Frank ? . :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

There are some genuinely intelligent and engaging personalities out there who could do the job, Mark Little for one.

Blockheads like O' Connor being mentioned is quite frankly laughable. The rationale being used by some that he asks risque questions is also wrong. The reason he can ask these questions is because he is interviewing the likes of Lisa Murphy, who nobody has any respect for in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Alfred123 wrote: »
    I can Taste him in my boiled egg in the morning.

lol, what a first post..

transylman wrote: »
    Nope, he said he would emigrate if Enda Kenny became taoiseach. FF man to the core that lad, how else do you think he got the job at rte.

Sorry, my mistake. Today FM was on in work the other day, I wasn't really listening and therefore I wasn't sure whether Darcy said FF or FG. Thanks for correcting.

Alfred123 wrote: »
    I can Taste him in my boiled egg in the morning.

I never thought eggs would taste so smug.....!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

I doubt he'd be true to his word. He's probably going on the hype that Fianna Fail definitely won't be re-elected, in order to get his dig in and be dramatic and all that. In the small chance that Fianna Fail are re-elected, I doubt he will anyway.