Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What standard do pieces for the junior cert practicals to get a high result?

• 30-10-2010 6:17pm

I mean MUSIC
    say piano
    how good would your pieces be to get a good grade?
    anybody else doing the 2011 junior cert?
    any ideas for your pieces yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

I was grade 3 on piano and I got an A last year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds1

A few years back but was on 7 and got an A but so did quite a few others on 2 or 3. One of my pieces was from an old grade one book, it's not the level of difficulty but rather the standard it is performed at. I remember doing an easy jazz piece, a classical one, a traditional mix and a tune from a film, mix it up and most of all enjoy!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I got B in Junior Cert Music this year despite only beginning the concertina and having a good few bum notes in my pieces.
    I played 'Edelweiss', 'Scarlet Ribbons', 'Cliffs of Dooneen' and I sort of accompanied 'Arrival' by Abba.

I got B in Junior Cert Music this year despite only beginning the concertina and having a good few bum notes in my pieces.
    I played 'Edelweiss', 'Scarlet Ribbons', 'Cliffs of Dooneen' and I sort of accompanied 'Arrival' by Abba.

Do you take the exam every year? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭jwcurtin

I mean MUSIC
    say piano
    how good would your pieces be to get a good grade?
    anybody else doing the 2011 junior cert?
    any ideas for your pieces yet?

Ya, i'm doing a Grade 5 piece, Grade 4, 1 Coldplay and 1 Yann Tiersen; but that said i know a few Grade 2's and Grade 3's who are doing music aswell!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Do you take the exam every year? :confused:

No, I did it to encourage one of my students who ended up in Music despite having chosen Woodwork. We had a deal that if I could try it, he'd give it a lash too.
    He got a C in pass and was delighted with himself.

No, I did it to encourage one of my students who ended up in Music despite having chosen Woodwork. We had a deal that if I could try it, he'd give it a lash too.
    He got a C in pass and was delighted with himself.

That was a brilliant idea :) Congrats to your student!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

That was a brilliant idea :) Congrats to your student!
    And fair play to Spurious, talk about going the extra mile! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭clunked

As an examiner, I would recommend that no matter what level you are at, choose pieces that you enjoy playing. The standard is what would be expected at the end of three years tuition, no grades are specified, hence the absence of scales at Junior and Leaving Cert level. You could do much better playing Grade 3 pieces well rather than mucking through a Grade 8 piece.

Also watch the sightreading. Sample tests are available at Examinations.ie. Go through these and the clapping tests with your teacher and decide which is the best option for you.

Good luck to you all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 hurleyhead15

So I have my exam next week! I'm playing the piano but am a nervous wreck right now. :eek: I'm playing Beauty and the Beast, I don't like Mondays, Rondo in C and Gavotte... any advise? Is anyone else doing this as a 12th subject?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Indiego

im doing it as a 12th subject :) my school doesnt offer music, so i do it outside of school with my music teacher :)
    im grade 7 flute and im not worried one bit about the exam tbh lol

My practical is next tuesday morning :eek:
    i'm trying to stay as relaxed as possible cauz i know if i stress il completely f**k it up like previous music exams :D

I'm doing two tunes on piano and two on traditional flute
    Should be grand:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Aoifums

So I have my exam next week! I'm playing the piano but am a nervous wreck right now. :eek: I'm playing Beauty and the Beast, I don't like Mondays, Rondo in C and Gavotte... any advise? Is anyone else doing this as a 12th subject?

Relax :)
    The more stressed you are, the less well you'll play. I lost my place and my fingering on my last piece. My examiner was lovely about it and let me restart the piece. I still did pretty well in the exam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 hurleyhead15

All done and dusted!! :P in the end the exam went great so for anyone who is yet to take the exam i do advise you that there is absoloutly no need to be stressed! i think the main idea is to enjoy your performance and do it to the best of your ability! any predictions on the set/choice songs/works for june anyone? :)