Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Proposal Plan

• 30-10-2010 12:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

I've got a plan in my head for a proposal and wanted to run it by someone. My birthday is in a months time and my gf is taking me out for dinner to our fav restaurant. I plan on asking then but wondered if I could somehow get the restaurant to spruce the table up a little without her twigging it early. Given that it's my birthday, she shouldn't expect anything so I'm wondering if i could get the restaurant to claim that there is maybe an anniversary dinner at the table before/after us and that might explain the roses, candles, etc

I also plan on being a grumpy sod all day as it'll be a big birthday. I might even arrange to complain about the table with the staff :-)

I've got the ring ordered so no turning back now.

Let me know what ye think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

i like the idea random, but is there anyway you could drop some subtle hits to your gf to see if its the type of proposal she would like, personally i would hate being the centre of attention:)

+ dont pretend to argue with the waiting staff it will just bug the hell out of your gf

hope that helps and good luck:)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

I've got a plan in my head for a proposal and wanted to run it by someone. My birthday is in a months time and my gf is taking me out for dinner to our fav restaurant. I plan on asking then but wondered if I could somehow get the restaurant to spruce the table up a little without her twigging it early. Given that it's my birthday, she shouldn't expect anything so I'm wondering if i could get the restaurant to claim that there is maybe an anniversary dinner at the table before/after us and that might explain the roses, candles, etc

I also plan on being a grumpy sod all day as it'll be a big birthday. I might even arrange to complain about the table with the staff :-)

Your best bet is probably for the restaurant to claim that your table has accidently been given to someone else and that they have to give you this special table thats already been made up. Can also explain the grumpy sod thing!

Only problem is that you'll need the rest of the restaurant to be full! Or perhaps they could say it was being usd as a sample for a special customer booking the table for another night?

I love the idea btw! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 RandomPoster

Fair point psycho. No argueing so!:D She's been giving out about the fact that I haven't asked yet for ages, no mention of the proposal she wants though.

it's a pokey enough restaurant so I should be able to get away with it if it's not too busy. Maybe they've closed a section or something. Thats a good idea though about giving away the wrong idea.

The grumpy sod thing is to throw her off the scent really. I'm turning 30 so have been laying the groundwork to be off form (just in case i get nervous or something)

cheers for the responses btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 5cutch

Pokey enough restaurant? If you're going midweek, bearing in mind it's your birthday and you plan on proposing, they may be willing to book the place out for you. (You'll undoubtedly have to pay more for this.)

Failing that, just get the head waiter to meet you at the door and say that they've made an extra special effort for your birthday. Quite believable.

I proposed in Sabor Brazil. It was a fairly spur of the moment thing; after four or five failed proposal attempts I'd started to carry a prop ring around with me. I blogged it (and the failed attempts) here, might give you some ideas.

How about this? at the end of the night the waiter calls to your table and says "Would you like anything else?"

Your line is "You". You'll need to be on one knee at that point.

Best of luck! Do let us know how you get on.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

5cutch, that blog is brilliant!!

Random Poster, your idea sounds cool, the only thing that would worry me is that if you're too grumpy and ye end up having a row, she might say she's not going out? I'd say be grumpy but don't go overboard ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭krankykitty

Plan sounds good but drop the grumpy thing, seriously. That might piss her right off. She might like to look back on the day she got engaged as a day where she wasn't feeling annoyed at her fiance for being grumpy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 5cutch

Toots* wrote: »
    5cutch, that blog is brilliant!!

Thanks Toots*, I'm trying to decide on my next entry. It's a toss up between blogging the time I asked her father for permission, or the times we went shopping for rings.

If you like the writing style I've got some short stories on http://GeoffsShorts.blogspot.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭dollybird2

DEFINITELY drop the grumpy thing - you don't want any spoiled memories of the date.
    Why not make it the night of her life instead? Champagne before going out, romantic cuddling and chatting, and have the proposal spelt out on a plate with chocolate sauce and strawberries in the restaurant?

Basically let her order her dessert as normal on an enjoyable evening. Have the restaurant advised - Im sure they will accommodate. When the dessert comes let them put your one down, then set her plate down which will be rimmed with cut strawberries and the words spelt out in sauce.

Have champagne on ice also :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

dollybird2 wrote: »
    DEFINITELY drop the grumpy thing - you don't want any spoiled memories of the date.
    Why not make it the night of her life instead? Champagne before going out, romantic cuddling and chatting, and have the proposal spelt out on a plate with chocolate sauce and strawberries in the restaurant?

Basically let her order her dessert as normal on an enjoyable evening. Have the restaurant advised - Im sure they will accommodate. When the dessert comes let them put your one down, then set her plate down which will be rimmed with cut strawberries and the words spelt out in sauce.

Have champagne on ice also :D

Tbh I'd personally find that all too cheesy but depends on the girl!

I like the grumpy idea as long as you don't overdo it!

Just act a little put out and not all pissed off like! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭dollybird2

I love cheese :D
    I was proposed to over a cup of tea :eek: but wouldn't change it now for the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭magneticimpulse

drop the grumpy bit...id be totally put off by that. it would totally put me off wanting to say yes to a marriage proposal, id be so pissed off with the grumpy bit to even think about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Do not be grumpy. Jees if I was your gf and bringing you out to dinner for your birthday and you threw a strop, I would be so annoyed with you. You will completely ruin the whole proposal idea if you act like a spoiled brat! You don't want to pop the question to your gf while she is not in good form. It should be a happy occasion for you both.

Just act normal. Do what the others suggested here. Do you know though that she would like to be proposed to in a restaurant? If she doesn't like being the centre of attention with the whole restaurant clapping and cheering, then may not be the best idea. Good luck with it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Definitely drop the grumpy thing. I don't understand why people think this is funny. I know someone whose boyfriend pretended to be annoyed with her and that he couldn't have been bothered to get her anything for her birthday and it got her so upset she cried and he had to propose to show he wasn't just being a jerk. That it is not a good or romantic proposal. Good luck with it and don't pretend to be grumpy, it'll spoil a memorable night! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭magneticimpulse

Definitely drop the grumpy thing. I don't understand why people think this is funny. I know someone whose boyfriend pretended to be annoyed with her and that he couldn't have been bothered to get her anything for her birthday and it got her so upset she cried and he had to propose to show he wasn't just being a jerk. That it is not a good or romantic proposal. Good luck with it and don't pretend to be grumpy, it'll spoil a memorable night! :-)

Yep if it was me, id cry too and want to go home and prob shout at you...especially if it was your birthday and I wanted you to enjoy yourself. Just be normal and happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭sligo_dave

I proposed to my fiancee last Saturday and did it a bit different.
    We live together in Sligo but are both originally from longford. I had arranged to be off work that day and had told herself it was so we could go shopping in athlone. No reason to go there but i convinced her we should go early as it wasnt often we got to spend much time with our families back home and arranged for her to get her hair done and bring clothes in case we decided to go out.

Anyway, on the way home we were passing the place we had our first kiss but before we got that far i made out that the car wasn't running right so I pulled up at the place and had the song that was on when we first kiss playing on the cd player. I got out, lifted the bonnet and asked to give me a hand hold something. When she came around to the front of the car I was down on one knee with our song playing at the exact place we first kissed.

She didnt believe me for a minute and thought I was only messing to cheer her up but she eventually said yes and we went to athlone where i had arranged for Fields jewellers to have rings ready for her to choose from. She still didnt believe i was serious till she was on the way home with the ring on her finger.
    One of the most amazing but scariest moments of my life but she's loving telling the story as she had no idea it was coming at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

What a great story!!! Congrats to you and your fiancée!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Limerickgal82

Aww what a great proposal !! You put so much thought into it ! She is very lucky :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Alliandre

Very sweet sligo_dave! Lucky girl indeed! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Featherl

Very romantic Sligo-Dave

Congrats :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 peeweegirl

Let us know how it went!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭City boy turned country

Sorry for hijacking your thread but I wanted to get some ideas from all of ye as well.

I am with herself 3 years now. Im from dublin she's from the west. We moved into our house in meath in June so I told her that it will another year or 2 before we can get engaged. But I am planning on doing it February.

I am under strict instructions not to do it on our anniversary (december) or valentines day. So I will hopefully do it a week or 2 before valentines day.

But how do I do it?

She is from Galway and climbs croagh patrick every year on the same day (a family tradition for her grandmother). I was going to do it once but wasn't able as I sprained my ankle playing footie. I was considering climbing it with her on that day in February and doing on the top of it.

But is that a bit corny?

Also, are proposals meant to be private? Im sure there would be groups of people up there and I wouldn't be the must outgoing person.

The alternative is to have the pub in blackrock that we met in especially opened for us. i know the manager so it wouldn't be a problem and then head to her family in the west where I will have alerted the brother in law and he can have everyone in the uncles pub.

Any thoughts on the above would be greatly appreciated

CBTC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Ashlinggnilsia

Personally I would suggest going for the first idea bout going up the mountain simply because as you say its a tradition and is obviously something she loves doing, like i love christmas so id loved to be proposed to around that time. Think about it in a way there is no better place cos yer will be up so high and have a beautiful view. It really depends on the girl. Im sure you have a good idea whether she will like it your probably just second guessing yourself at this stage