Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Power Snooker

• 29-10-2010 9:41pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭

Just a reminder lads, Power Snooker on saturday 30th from 1pm on ITV 4.Should be good fun, keep an eye out for Luca Brecel, this kid is something special.
    Enjoy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

This is cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

wow its pretty awful , the audience is below the level of the table , that makes no sense . Someones trying to turn it into darts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

This is great fun, I'm loving it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

It's just a bunch of piss heads being piss heads. It's worse than darts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭zack01

From what i've seen it's great fun, a glorified snooker exhibition, players seem to enjoy it, as long as you don't take it too seriously then what's the harm??
    Hope it's sucessful and they run another one soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

What a day, I have enjoyed watching this! yea its loud but so what!
    It's nice to see all the players enjoying themselves, Makes good tv, pity about all the ad breaks on ITV4...

Fit birds leading out the lads...mmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭SanoVitae

I can't see it getting anyone interested in snooker who isn't already a fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

I only came across this by chance, flicking through the channels this afternoon.

I am a fan of snooker anyway, so I decided to have a look. I must admit, I'm enjoying it. Been watching it all day!

It's not better or worse than ordinary snooker. I think you have to take it for what it is... something different.

It's good to see some of the players' personalities come out, and the crowd getting involved. The players and officials seem to enjoy the audience participation, so what's the harm?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm waiting for the strippers between sets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭oneillMan999

thoroughly enjoyed it, great fun and the players and crowd really seem to enjoy it, and thats comin from someone who likes the tactical side of the game!

its like snooker on crack! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

Thought it was very entertaining myself.
    Some of the crowd were a bit OTT with the Oggie, oggie, oggie chanting. Got on my wick a bit.
    The players, Ronnie in partic, seemed to love it. I think he might have been serious when he suggested double or nothing at the end. That would have been fun.

And not having to listen to Virgo commentating is a bonus...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I quite enjoyed it actually and I'm kinda surprised to be saying that as like a previous poster, I like the tactics and indeed safety play aspects of the game. I think it brings something different to the game and suits the more "pool" type players and, of course, Ronnie. I sometimes think Ronnie could play with a broom stick and still kick a$$. The crowd were slightly annoying at times but some of the laydeez were nice.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭alang184

I slightly enjoyed it only because I enjoy the players and the skill. Apart from that, I don't like it.

I think people, who want change in the game, are really beginning to lose the run a bit. There's nothing wrong with the rules of normal Snooker. All that's wrong is the previous inability to get other big nationalities involved. How can an international sport be popular when almost all of the top players are of one nationality (English).

The Power format lost so much of what is good about the normal Snooker format. The player's were scrappy, missing so many pots, almost no safety (which is a very skillful and exciting part of the game, in my opinion).

Some people say "Ah sure it's just a one off, just for fun". But I don't think so. Something that O'Sullivan said was that "Snooker is finally into the 21st century". So what, the World Championship should eventually be this format?

In my opinion, all they need to do is:

- More big ranking events in foreign countries (especially mainland Europe)
    - Get far more internationals on the main tour and top 16
    - Shorten the World Championship; best of 25/33/35 is a bit over the top
    - Allow the WC to move to different countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Curious. Any online links to highlights or anything?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 snooker_news

I'm still in two minds as to whether I'm in favour of Power Snooker although I'm leaning more towards not liking it. On the one hand it makes for some very entertaining snooker but on the other is also takes away a lot that's great about the game.

I really enjoy watching players like O'Sullivan playing more adventurous snooker but surely that's for the realm of exhibitions matches not actual tournaments.

alang184 wrote: »
    I slightly enjoyed it only because I enjoy the players and the skill. Apart from that, I don't like it.

I think people, who want change in the game, are really beginning to lose the run a bit. There's nothing wrong with the rules of normal Snooker. All that's wrong is the previous inability to get other big nationalities involved. How can an international sport be popular when almost all of the top players are of one nationality (English).

The Power format lost so much of what is good about the normal Snooker format. The player's were scrappy, missing so many pots, almost no safety (which is a very skillful and exciting part of the game, in my opinion).

Some people say "Ah sure it's just a one off, just for fun". But I don't think so. Something that O'Sullivan said was that "Snooker is finally into the 21st century". So what, the World Championship should eventually be this format?

- Allow the WC to move to different countries

I *think* you're missing the point of Power Snooker. Apologies if I'm wrong.

It is more for the fun. It's not (I hope) intended to infringe on *proper snooker*.

As you correctly point out, a lot of the skills are lost here BUT so what. It's a rapid fire version.

In a sense, I view this as a different game to Snooker and, in it's own right, it was enjoyable but it's not a replacement for the game I love and never will be.

My one worry is that the likes of Ronnie will view this game as an easy days work for a few grand pay and leave "proper snooker" .

I'm still in two minds as to whether I'm in favour of Power Snooker although I'm leaning more towards not liking it. On the one hand it makes for some very entertaining snooker but on the other is also takes away a lot that's great about the game.

I really enjoy watching players like O'Sullivan playing more adventurous snooker but surely that's for the realm of exhibitions matches not actual tournaments.

Like my post in reply to alang184, i think this game needs to considered as a different game. Either enjoy it for what it is or continue to enjoy proper snooker or do both.
    It's a bit like Rugby. It was born out of football but never replaced it.
    Both formats can run together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Curious. Any online links to highlights or anything?

here ye go

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IlVQ0uUpTJQ

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭zack01

alang 184

I'm sure what Ronnie meant with those comments is that snooker is finally moving forward, it's not stuck in the doldrums of 6 ranking events and one invitational event per season.
    By this seasons end there may well have been twenty ranking events played not only in the UK but mainland Europe, China and already announced Thailand with the snooker world cup earmarked to make it's return there, not to mention the invitational event that has been announced for Brazil and you can see that finally the sport is beginning to go global.
    From what I've heard to the possibility of a ranking event down under in Austrailia is an almost certainty for next season.
    As far as for getting more international players on the circuit, if you were to study the ranking list you would see that there is an abundance of international talent out there, it's up to them to earn their place in the higher rankings, and to be fair they are getting their chance with the twelve extra PTC events and long overdue changes to the ranking list, the top 16, 32 are there on current form and not on a run they had to a final two seasons ago!
    I don't see a change in the world championship regarding the number of frames played, it is the pinnacle event of the sport and in my opinion shouldn't be altered, although it was announced that the final session the 2011 final will begin an hour earlier.
    Back to the Power Snooker, as I have said earlier, 'what's the harm' in something like this, it's a change from the ordinary,and a welcome change from some of the posts I've read here. It's only a bit of fun, it doesn't take itself too seriously and rightly so. If we were to get back in to the routine like we had twenty years of an event on television every couple of weeks with the same player/players winning boredom would creep in again and people will switch off.Power Snooker and the one frame shoot out event in Jan won't let that happen.
    It's been a great season so far, we had the World Open which was a huge success, next week is the World Seniors which can be seen on Sky, and following that are back to back EPTC events in Hamm Germany and Prague in the Czech Republic, that will bring us nicely up to the UK championships andthe return to action of John Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

Well said zack01 - you hit the nail on the head with that post!

However if I ever hear POWERZONE again it will be too soon.

What changes to the format do you guys think could improve Power Snooker?? I think Foul & Miss rule should be taken out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Total Cack,a dumbed down version of a once great game,i agreed with the idea of making the sessions shorterto best of 5's and max best of 9 for the final,but having drunken louts screaming while the players are over the ball ruins the very fabric of the game,and i don't agree the players enjoyed it,shaun murphy looked like he couldnt wait to get off the table,i won't watch this type of tournament again,dumbed down scumbagged up version of the sport