Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wedding couple 'abused' by celebrant

• 28-10-2010 8:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/1028/breaking67.html

'A couple who believed they were renewing their wedding vows at a romantic resort in the Maldives were instead subjected to a tirade of abuse in the local language by the man conducting the 'ceremony', it has been claimed.

Government officials and tourism authorities expressed outrage after a video of the event surfaced on the Youtube website.

In the video, purportedly taken at the Vilu Reef Beach and Spa resort, a man performs a service in the native Dhivehi language, but is heard to call the English-speaking couple ‘infidel’ and ‘swine’ and declaring their marriage 'illegal'.

Agence France-Presse (AFP) said the couple was from Switzerland and quoted Vilu Reef general manager Mohamed Rasheed as saying the ceremony was held on October 11th.

International media organisations and local Minivan News transcribed a translation of the celebrant’s rants.

The video shows the couple sitting in a shelter on the beach, surrounded by people.

The bride is wearing a white dress and carrying a bouquet. Incense, documents and wedding rings lie on the table in front of the couple. The celebrant first explains the ceremony in English and then those gathered hold their hands up to pray.

Instead of prayers, however, the celebrant unleashes a wave of abuse about the couple in the Dhivehi language.

"Your marriage is not a valid one. You are not the kind of people who can have a valid marriage. One of you is an infidel. The other, too, is an infidel - and we have reason to believe - an atheist, who does not even believe in an infidel religion," the Minivan newspaper quoted him as saying.

"You fornicate and make a lot of children. You drink and you eat pork. Most of the children that you have are marked with spots and blemishes. These children that you have are bastards."

The camera focuses on the paperwork in front of him, which local media say was not a marriage document but employment contracts - he then begins to read from these.

The celebrant also makes references to bestiality, sexual diseases and "frequent fornication by homosexuals".

Later, as the couple plant a coconut tree together, various comments are made in Dhivehi about the bride's breasts.

Deputy tourism minister Ismail Yasir told the BBC most people in the Maldives were furious about what had taken place and he hoped the couple would be given compensation.

"We are embarrassed as well, and very outraged," he said of the tourism ministry.

Foreign minister Ahmed Shaheed said he was “shocked and horrified” to see the video.

"I could not see the entire video because my children were around and I did not want them to hear the bad language that was used,” he said.

Sun Investments, which owns the resort, issued a statement condemning the employees’ unforgivable” activity.

Mr Rasheed told AFP the company had apologised to the couple and had taken disciplinary action against those involved.'

A nasty thing to do to the couple. Although AH will probably find it quite amusing :confused::eek::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Queen-Mise wrote: »
    A nasty thing to do to the couple. Although AH will probably find it quite amusing :confused::eek::confused:

Yeah, good point. I sure hope nobody brings it to everybody's attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

I laughed at this part,
    One of you is an infidel. The other, too, is an infidel - and we have reason to believe - an atheist

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

A nasty thing to do to the couple.

Yes it is...
    Although AH will probably find it quite amusing :confused::eek::confused:

Most probably not.. but if so.. then some here among me are pricks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

It is terrible to do something like that but you would have to ask why the couple went for their vows in the natives language anyway did they think not being able to understand any of it made it more romantic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,162 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

They deserved it, just like anybody who gets a chinese symbol tattoo deserves cockhead written on their arm. just do it in english and stop being a pretentious douche.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

"I now pronounce you Dick and Geebag, you may now shít on the bride"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Fuhkers dem Maldovians.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

hynesie08 wrote: »
    They deserved it, just like anybody who gets a chinese symbol tattoo deserves cockhead written on their arm. just do it in english and stop being a pretentious douche.

Yep and what's all this renewing of vows crap people are at these days anyway.

It's always those people who can't accept their 'turn' is over and want more 'limelight' :rolleyes: Serves 'em right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,162 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

It's always those people who can't accept their 'turn' is over and want more 'limelight' :rolleyes: Serves 'em right.

Exactly, if they were doing it cause one of them was from the Maldives/They'd been living there for years i'd say fair ****s but i can almost guarantee they did it so at every engagement/wedding/renewal they can say "well when we did it..........."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Who amongst us, hasn't said pog mo thoin to unsuspecting foreigners, with a big broad grin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Enoch Burke and David Quinn would love this guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Ah the danger of people speaking a different lingo around you, you'd never know what they are saying about you. Lesson learned on the couple i hope ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

If I get married and we last ten years, I think it's nice to retake the vows to show that we still love each other and want to continue for that reason; not just from habit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

This is horrible I hope the staff involved got sacked.

My Parents got their vows renewed last July it was an amazing day the thought of someone ruining it like that is cruel. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

policarp wrote: »
    Who amongst us, hasn't said pog mo thoin to unsuspecting foreigners, with a big broad grin?

I thought it to a fella who came over from England as a Traditional Irish "good Morning" the poor fella made good use of it until his supervisor actually told him its meaning when he said it to the Manager where he works one morning. I had great fun with Mna and Fir also.

If I get married and we last ten years, I think it's nice to retake the vows to show that we still love each other and want to continue for that reason; not just from habit.

Show who? Your friends and family?? ...what have they ever done to YOU !!!

Anyway it's supposed to be 'till death do us part' -once is enough....don't put your friends through that again and again!!!!

I've just got to the stage in life where I'm done going to weddings, if they all start renewing their vows they can ask my ar$e, I'm not wasting any more weekends/thousands of quid on them !!!! :P:rolleyes:

I've done my bit and NO I dont want to be invited to a dinner party so they can ambush me with their romantic dvd of the renewing of their vows!!!

I've got no more fake 'oooh's and aaaaah's to give!!! :cool::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Yeah,it's a horrible thing to do, but i agree that they either should've got the ceremony done in English, or at least had a translator there so they knew what was being said to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

Fair play to yer man for getting one over on the infidels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

made them look the spa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

This post has made me cringe with embarrassment.

Rockn wrote: »

I wonder which religion would the man spouting about infidels belong to?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Mmmmmmm .... Pooooooooork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

I'm sorry but I can't stop laughing. That probably makes me mean and nasty but I can't help it. :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Rockn wrote: »

Stupid infidels! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Some crazy (and very funny :D) stuff said all right, but yeah, some westerners opt for exotic religious ceremonies and they do not even practise that religion... but it's exotic, so kinda trendy, e.g. that fuck-wit Russell Brand and Katy Perry having a Hindu ceremony. Yes, because they are Hindus.

Assuming the couple are Christian, why would they have a Muslim officiator?

Were they in on the act? ;) D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

If I get married

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

... the couple should have been a little suspicious of the wedding music:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Dudess wrote: »
    Some crazy (and very funny :D) stuff said all right, but yeah, some westerners opt for exotic religious ceremonies and they do not even practise that religion... but it's exotic, so kinda trendy, e.g. that fuck-wit Russell Brand and Katy Perry having a Hindu ceremony. Yes, because they are Hindus.

I dunno, I always thought Hindi ceremonies looked like great craic. Much more fun than the Catholic ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

I too came to mock, but…

many others got here before me. My work is done. The sadness of the late poster :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

This is precisely why I'm learning Polski.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

I haven't. Probably because it's sad and lame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I haven't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

And which foreigner hasn't gone away afterwards laughing into their sleeve that póg mo thóin is the only phrase the Paddy has got after 12-14 years of tuition in the language?

I'll give that wedding ceremony guy some credit - he managed a full rant in his language!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Dudess wrote: »

They actually had a Christian ceremony according to the bastion of "news". "E"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Yeah,it's a horrible thing to do, but i agree that they either should've got the ceremony done in English, or at least had a translator there so they knew what was being said to them.

Go Go Captain Hindsight. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

those muslimers dont be liken us westerers...i be telling the nodin, but the nodin dont be listening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

alwaysadub wrote: »
    "I will do the ceremony in the ancient tongue of my people".
    "Eh, no, in English please"
    "Infidel! You have offended me!"
    "Actually, I'm atheist"
    "......." *head explodes*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

I think the 'celebrant' is in the wrong job. He'd be much better off working as a 'chiponhisshoulderbecauseforeignersgettodowhathecanonlydreamofant'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

It is terrible to do something like that but you would have to ask why the couple went for their vows in the natives language anyway did they think not being able to understand any of it made it more romantic.

So you cant get married in anothe language in case you get a load of abuse?

If a french or African couple who getting married in Ireland get there Registar to speak their language in case they get a load of abuse too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭shefra

I'm sorry but I can't stop laughing. That probably makes me mean and nasty but I can't help it. :D:D

:D:D Me too. Those poor guys must be so sick of westerners with nothing better to do with their money. Wonder did they even pay the guy to perform the ceremony. The two guys with him did'nt even crack a smile.:D Watch this space as all foreign wedding dvd's will be scrutinised and demand for interpreters will go through the roof, not to mention compo.:D:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Someone bitter?

Or just too cheap??

Bob Z wrote: »
    So you cant get married in anothe language in case you get a load of abuse?

More like because you haven't a clue what's going on. How is it in any way meaningful if they don't understand a word.

More money than sense tbh

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    Someone bitter?

Or just too cheap??

Cheap, definitely cheap :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

I haven't. Probably because it's sad and lame.
    big broad grin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Did they check in case it was just a wacky hidden camera show?