Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what price

• 26-10-2010 11:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22

Well lads,
    Ive a few freisian bullock going to the mart. Their year and a halfs and would be in and around the 500kg mark. Thell be going in a pen togetor.what price do you guys tink thell make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

bobby9 wrote: »
    Well lads,
    Ive a few freisian bullock going to the mart. Their year and a halfs and would be in and around the 500kg mark. Thell be going in a pen togetor.what price do you guys tink thell make

If they're solid and framey, maybe €200 plus weight, if thin and bony maybe even money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭bouli73

was at Kilmallock mart yesterday. €200 plus weight would be tops. More like 130/150 for Freisians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 bobby9

ya they would be big and framey. I was tinkin myself that 150 with weight would be tops

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

ballpark 120 with the weight

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

i am bringing one next week:D he is very fleshy , will let yis know how i do

well lads, just to update sold the bullock today. they averaged 540kgs and made €698, was very happy with that price €160 with their weight which i thought was very good for freisians.what ye think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭zetorman

Good man....well done. If you had sold these as dropped calves you would have been lucky to get 80 - 100 euro per head.
    I have a pet theory of mine about FR sucks which is...
    1. Rear them same as Fr heifer sucks for the first summer.
    2. House as weanlings. Good silage but NO NUTS.
    3. Grass following year.
    4.House for 2nd winter. Same idea....silage but NO NUTS.
    5. Graze again next summer.
    6. Sent dierect to factory off grass as 2 and a 1/2 year olds
    7. They should then be about 600 Kg ???? €850 ????

Would this work ?? or am I "NUTS" to be even thinking about it.

Main idea is low imput and low costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

thats the way we always did it with friesian bullocks except we outwintered them. They hit the ground running come spring. they work out ok in the end for us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

We sold 7 FR during the week 490kg made €700. These were very good British Fr though, not a sign of holstein in them, and they made considerably more than all other Fr lots at the mart

I think you did fairly well there

well i bought thease 4 in for €100 each.
    First year grass and a shake of nuts
    outwintered that winter then with a shake of nuts
    then once grass started growin again in march/april they didnt get another nut till just before the mart yday
    with the price of buying them and carrying them through to year and a half factored in they left me €450 profit each.
    i reckon thats a good profit to be left with fresians

zetorman wrote: »
    Good man....well done. If you had sold these as dropped calves you would have been lucky to get 80 - 100 euro per head.
    3. Grass following year.

In my opinion the smart money would be made selling that at 1 and 1/2. no second winter costs, no sheds needed, and you can hold way way more of them. 2 year old cattle need a lot of good quality grass to finish them

Unless of course you have spare land and spare sheds then you might as well finish em

then once grass started growin again in march/april they didnt get another nut till just before the mart yday
    with the price of buying them and carrying them through to year and a half factored in they left me €450 profit each.

Exceptionally good return there, well done, although very few people can get away with out wintering stock now, certainly in our neck of the woods.

Having the ability to outwinter cattle can add a huge amount to their net profit, no sheds, much less silage etc. And they will start thriving way better in March/April than housed cattle. you have a nice system going there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭zetorman

Always wonder why the "continental" fans are prepared to pay such high prices for "quality" stock when they are buying in ?? Granted they get big prices when they go to sell again .....BUT surely its the margin between that is the most important.
    In these cash strapped times if you can buy FR bull calves for less than €100 they will surely leave you a few bob profit.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Pharaoh1

Always wonder why the "continental" fans are prepared to pay such high prices for "quality" stock when they are buying in ?? Granted they get big prices when they go to sell again .....BUT surely its the margin between that is the most important.
    In these cash strapped times if you can buy FR bull calves for less than €100 they will surely leave you a few bob profit.:D

Of course if you are in business of trading (ie buying and selling) the margin is most important. But even if you take the example of buying a FR bull for 100 and selling 2 1/2 years later for 850 thats a lot of winter feeding and a lot of work.
    I sold a batch of continental bullocks in the mart last week avg wt 465kg avg price 835 euro (nearly all April '09 born). They were half of a bunch bought last March April for avg wt 297kg/557 euro. The weight gain does not look too good at 170kg but i brought all of the poorer/butty ones as I was fed up looking at them and would expect 200 - 220kg avg gain.
    Still the margin so far is nearly 280 euro.

I have mostly the better ones to go next week and would expect to do better (although the weather may well dampen prices).
    They did get six weeks of meal (1-2kg) but if the margin finishes up close to 300 euro, I still reckon for me anyway buying reasonably good quality cattle with the potential to gain weight is the best option as well as little enough work and income from silage sales.
    At the same time I know that everyone has their own ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭hoodrats

did you include the milk replacer at 30 euros plus a bag , and all veterinary costs dosing etc?

yes hoodrats i have included every single cent that i had spent on them. to name a few milk replacer, nuts worm and fluke doses, blackleg injection, annual tests, de-horning, castrating etc, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭poor farmer

3. Grass following year.

i have been doing this for years .the calves are from our own milking cows .I am selling 30 month + bullocks to factory getting 8-850 for them
    i think i am loosing on them the two winters inside are costly. its too slow unless you had land for free.Going to leave calves as bulls this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

think the best option is to sell at 2 weeks of age :D