Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mart with credit card machine?

• 24-10-2010 7:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭

Are there any marts in Ireland where you can pay for stock with Laser Credit or debit cards?

Is it just me, but in this modern era, I just find marts old fashioned and way behind the times. Payment methods are just one of them:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

alot of farmers dont have a credit card and wouldnt have a laser card either , just the way things are i suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Soon you will be able to book cattle into Ennis Mart online. According to their website anyway.
    A guess that is a step in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

thats the way of agri-bussiness in general in Ireland. Rather bend over backwards to facilitate the auld lad thats behind the times than to help progressive farmers.,

how much do one of those machines cost? probably a couple of hundred. probably a lot safer for the mart than cheques that could bounce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Jack C

I agree, credit cards would be much more convenient for all parties. And while we are talking about backwardness what about Eurotags, I find it amazing tha you cant order tags online.

Jack C wrote: »
    I agree, credit cards would be much more convenient for all parties. And while we are talking about backwardness what about Eurotags, I find it amazing tha you cant order tags online.
    dont get me started on eurotags , its time that tender was taken away from them , its a joke.... also why cant you text in your ai call, or email it in ? i assume that 90% of farmer call ai off their mobile and the number isn't lo call them afaik its alot more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

thats the way of agri-bussiness in general in Ireland. Rather bend over backwards to facilitate the auld lad thats behind the times than to help progressive farmers.,

how much do one of those machines cost? probably a couple of hundred. probably a lot safer for the mart than cheques that could bounce

That's what I think. The Marts would know that they are guaranteed their money, especially if they don't know you personally. I don't visit the mart often enough for them to know me and it just drives me mad, paying being my worst gripe.

I feel the whole bidding thing could be cleaned up a bit too to make it easier for bidder and guy helping auctioneer with office slips. Wouldn't a bidding number system be a good idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

You'd want to be off your trolley to be buying cattle on a credit card - pure madness of the highest order

Debit cards though should really be a common practice for mart payment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

I wonder if you bought one on your credit card and if it died, could you claim it on your credit card insurance being that you did not get the goods that you paid for????

I was at a special suckler cow sale once in Newport, Co Tipp. You had to sign up if you intended to buy. They then gave you a number which you held up when you purchased.
    Great idea - meant you didnt have to be shouting your name across a crowded mart.

I often thought it a good idea too to display the bid prices. This would be a great help, especially to the older farmers who cant hear whats going on. They could do it towards the end of the bids when things are slowing down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

what happens if a fella goes to a mart, buys a heap of cattle, pays by cheque in the evening and brings away the cards and cattle, few days later the cheque bounces? would the department get involved I wonder or is it just tough for the mart? credit cards would be grand except you would want some limit, sure most lads would only have a few thousand limit ontheir card I would have thought?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Tipp Man wrote: »
    You'd want to be off your trolley to be buying cattle on a credit card - pure madness of the highest order

Yeah I agree with this, it's too easy to go deep into the red with credit cards. Only spend what you can afford ;)
    pakalasa wrote: »
    I was at a special suckler cow sale once in Newport, Co Tipp. You had to sign up if you intended to buy. They then gave you a number which you held up when you purchased.
    Great idea - meant you didnt have to be shouting your name across a crowded mart.

I often thought it a good idea too to display the bid prices. This would be a great help, especially to the older farmers who cant hear whats going on. They could do it towards the end of the bids when things are slowing down.

That's something I don't like about our mart, there is a display for the cattle, but it's not used. It could also be made use of in the annual ram sale. Can be hard to hear the auctioneer when cattle & sheep are on the same day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

pakalasa wrote: »

they didnt do it on time! did you hear of the scam that was pulled there?

a "dealer" arrived one day with a lorry load of screw weanlings, when they went through the ring 2 new "buyers" tore into them like the hammers of hell, bought the load between them at double their value,

The "buyers" quietly left the yard without paying, and the "dealer" had to be paid for his cattle

L** the mart owner sold the cattle a couple of weeks later and lost a fortune

what happens if a fella goes to a mart, buys a heap of cattle, pays by cheque in the evening and brings away the cards and cattle, few days later the cheque bounces? would the department get involved I wonder or is it just tough for the mart? credit cards would be grand except you would want some limit, sure most lads would only have a few thousand limit ontheir card I would have thought?
    know of a lad last year that bought cattle at the mart with money from a bank approved bridging loan ... cheque bounced had to bring cattle back the second week and sold them at a loss... credit cards charge 18% interest :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Credit cards do not charge 18% interest its only if you don't pay them in full on time then its 18%. My card repays me 1% of all purchases so if i were to buy 15000 of stock in the month i would get a 150 euro paid back to me the next month and so the total cost to me is 14850 if i pay on time. And say i was to put that 15000 on overdraft by using cheque or debit card i would be paying interest straight away. I use my card for nearly all purchases that i make as its an extra months credit only its free.
    I wish marts would use credit cards it would be great. But i would say its due to the mart being charged for the facility by the credit card companies.

st1979 wrote: »
    Credit cards do not charge 18% interest its only if you don't pay them in full on time then its 18%. My card repays me 1% of all purchases so if i were to buy 15000 of stock in the month i would get a 150 euro paid back to me the next month and so the total cost to me is 14850 if i pay on time. And say i was to put that 15000 on overdraft by using cheque or debit card i would be paying interest straight away. I use my card for nearly all purchases that i make as its an extra months credit only its free.
    I wish marts would use credit cards it would be great. But i would say its due to the mart being charged for the facility by the credit card companies.
    fair play to ya if you have the 14850 to pay on time:)

......... My card repays me 1% of all purchases so if i were to buy 15000 of stock in the month i would get a 150 euro paid back to me the next month and so the total cost to me is 14850 if i pay on time.......

What the ...:eek:
    What card is that?
    So you buy 10,000 Euro worth of stuff, you get back 100 Euro?:eek:

I have mine on direct debit, havent gone over yet, so in effect it's a free service, receipts are great, that's of course if you have the discipline....if not - get rid of it!

Tipp Man wrote: »

It would depend how you used it. Of course if you were only paying off the minimum balance it'd be madness. But used right, you could potentially have the guts of a month's credit and then have it set up to pay the balance in full by direct debit from your bank account. Well that's how I work it anyhow;). You do have an annual fee of €40 for the privelige though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Is the limit on aser card not in the 3k range?
    I tried to put a car through on laser at 6k last year but was declined, there was more than enough cash in the a/c at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Credit cards are a good source of interest free credit but you must clear the a/c each month otherwise you will get crucified,

OH and myself have a joint account usually get anything from 3K to 10 K per month on the plastic,
    the card company takes the full amount from our current a/c on the 19 th of the month, ( creamery cheque is paid in by electronic transfer on the 18 th)

By paying our big bills in the last couple days of the months via c card we get about 7 weeks interest free credit,

we only write cheques for the companies/ contractors etc. that don't take c/c and usually about 30 to 40 cheques per year, these accounts are paid on the last Friday of month following invoice, if the rep calls before hand the cheque will be back dated.

we have cut back our banking fees dramatically since we adapted this policy,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

snowman707 wrote: »
    Credit cards are a good source of interest free credit but you must clear the a/c each month otherwise you will get crucified,

OH and myself have a joint account usually get anything from 3K to 10 K per month on the plastic,
    the card company takes the full amount from our current a/c on the 19 th of the month, ( creamery cheque is paid in by electronic transfer on the 18 th)

By paying our big bills in the last couple days of the months via c card we get about 7 weeks interest free credit,

we only write cheques for the companies/ contractors etc. that don't take c/c and usually about 30 to 40 cheques per year, these accounts are paid on the last Friday of month following invoice, if the rep calls before hand the cheque will be back dated.

more or less the same way we run.
    30 days from the date of the CORRECT invoice mind you, never pay interest,
    credit cards are great when used properly, should be cut up if only paying min balance.
    as of late, even if a rep calls to go through acc, we would get him to ring through to office to pay on cc, rather than give a cheque while he is sat there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

. My card repays me 1% of all purchases so if i were to buy 15000 of stock in the month i would get a 150 euro paid back to me the next month and so the total cost to me is 14850 if i pay on time.

Jasus, who's that, some sort of an Anglo Irish c/c? :D

snowman707 wrote: »

I like your style snowman707;) Like anything in farming or business, it's how you manage it. You could teach a few farmers a thing or two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭red bull

Muckit wrote: »
    Are there any marts in Ireland where you can pay for stock with Laser Credit or debit cards?

Is it just me, but in this modern era, I just find marts old fashioned and way behind the times. Payment methods are just one of them:rolleyes:

Tuam Co Op Livestock mart accept credit card payment

red bull wrote: »
    Tuam Co Op Livestock mart accept credit card payment

Thanks for that Redbull. It's not too far away from me, will check it out. Would suit me better to buy cattle on the c card

I see Roscommon mart must have been reading this thread. They are advertising that they accept credit and debit cards now. I'd go for a look and consider using this mart for this reason alone.

Their weanlings mart is also on a Tuesday night, which suits the part timer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Muckit wrote: »
    I see Roscommon mart must have been reading this thread. They are advertising that they accept credit and debit cards now. I'd go for a look and consider using this mart for this reason alone.

Their weanlings mart is also on a Tuesday night, which suits the part timer.

Doubt many of the cattle buyers are like yourself Muckit with the old gold credit card with the big limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Waterford-Ross certainly do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Ballybay mart take cards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

Mohill Ballymote & Balla have signs up they are now taking cards