Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trail cameras usefulness

• 23-10-2010 6:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭

A neighbor of mine is considering getting a trail camera for 2 reasons, one to see how many mink are there on his farm (river flows through it) and 2. To see who is fly tipping on his land.

My question is.
    Can a trail cam take a quality pic without making a flash or noise?

What is the best buy trail cam wise (without costing the earth)?

what distances/and pic size do they reproduce?

he supplies me with hunting so I would be doing him a big favour if I could help him out.

He is also a small time hunter himself, but not very fluent with computers.
    And has a large mink problem he reckons if he knew where to lay the traps then he'd have more success with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭quicko

We use a trail camera around some land just out of curiousity. The problem you may find is that at night the ir flash will light up red which is visible and may draw attention to the camera by humans.

Great for nature etc

Keith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

quicko wrote: »
    We use a trail camera around some land just out of curiousity. The problem you may find is that at night the ir flash will light up red which is visible and may draw attention to the camera by humans.

Great for nature etc

Keith

That would be my fear, a human/rob/destroy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Unless they have eyes like owls and can spot a micro second IR flash,and you have put it in a very obvious place that they have scouted out in the day.Or are scanning the area with IR..I wouldnt be too worried about it.PM me if you need somthing a bit more updated and is designed for catching humans on camera.;)
    As for the fly tipping..Your best bet is to go through all the rubbish and see if you can find some sort of documentation EG phone bill,c card statement,medicine bottle,etc and use as evidence for the Gardai/litter warden to instigate a prosecution.:)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Trailcampro and chasingame are two sites you need to read fully to understand the capabilities and limitations of these cameras.

There are specialist cameras made to be used against people, but they are expensive so it depends on how much he wants to spend.

I'm baffled by the mink question, to be honest I think a camera is a waste of money for that job. As it would be as easy if not easier to set a trap, either cage or relevent spring trap in a tunnel with excluder and trap the mink rather than photograph him.

Drains, streams, rivers, lakes, all good spots for Mr Mink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭quicko

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Unless they have eyes like owls and can spot a micro second IR flash,and you have put it in a very obvious place that they have scouted out in the day.Or are scanning the area with IR..I wouldnt be too worried about it.PM me if you need somthing a bit more updated and is designed for catching humans on camera.;)
    As for the fly tipping..Your best bet is to go through all the rubbish and see if you can find some sort of documentation EG phone bill,c card statement,medicine bottle,etc and use as evidence for the Gardai/litter warden to instigate a prosecution.:)

In my experience it is not micro second flash

Today there was an old bicycle, and pallets, last week a matrass . He has found names and addresses in the past, however most fly tippers remove names and addresses

It would be also handy to see who much mink were on the river & fox movement etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

http://bwindiresearchers.wildlifedirect.org/2010/10/18/candid-camera-vicitim-strikes-back/

This thread reminded me of this cool blog - scroll down a bit for some cracking shots of a pretty smart chimp(probably smarter then many of those types who fly-tip in rural areas:mad:).

PS: I used something similiar in Kenya on a recent volunteer trip and got cool photos of both leopards and Hyenas leaving their dens:D

I'd be just afraid that after spending his hard earned money on a cam "that I advised to buy" that some scanger would rob/destroy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Rosahane

Two discounted options here:
    http://www.heinnie.com/clearance.asp?

Rosahane wrote: »
    Two discounted options here:
    http://www.heinnie.com/clearance.asp?

I see a great big flash on one of them £149.
    Anyone got one that uses no Flash?
    some form of UV/IR that has no need for flash, or are these all out of the €200 bracket?

quicko wrote: »
    In my experience it is not micro second flash

Somthing wrong then there.

Today there was an old bicycle, and pallets, last week a matrass . He has found names and addresses in the past, however most fly tippers remove names and addresses
    But you still have to check.:rolleyes:Been there done it.

see a great big flash on one of them £149.
    some form of UV/IR that has no need for flash, or are these all out of the €200 bracket?

Thats about starting price.The "human" versions will cost you up and over this amount.There is a fantastic one out there a so called "rock cam"[or it can be a brick,old tin,large branch cam too;)] SD card with 200 hours recording or photo time,key fob activated with PIR detection.NIcad rchargeable battery.Great bit of kit.Price 700 Euros plus:eek:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Somthing wrong then there.

But you still have to check.:rolleyes:Been there done it.

see a great big flash on one of them £149.

Thats about starting price.The "human" versions will cost you up and over this amount.There is a fantastic one out there a so called "rock cam"[or it can be a brick,old tin,large branch cam too;)] SD card with 200 hours recording or photo time,key fob activated with PIR detection.NIcad rchargeable battery.Great bit of kit.Price 700 Euros plus:eek:

€700 is out of the price range, anyone made a DIY camera?
    These fly tippers are cute hoors. He reckons he knows who some of them are, however he needs proof.

As he provides me with ~400 acres of some of teh best bunny shooting in teh country I feel obligated to help.

Them yokes David Attenbourough uses don't seem to need a flash?? Or are they the high end cameras??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

I emailed trailcampro a few weeks ago about a cam that would not give off a flash or have the tell tale red led light for catching the odd vandal. This is the cam they advised me to use http://www.trailcampro.com/reconyxhc600.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭J. Ramone

I have a non IR trail camera (flash photo) which has its place for deterring deer from newly planted trees. I have one of these winging it's way to me so will report when I get to try it out. They seem very popular and much cheaper, smaller and more battery efficient than any IRs I was looking at a year ago.

€700 is out of the price range, anyone made a DIY camera?
    I know,but that was just to show what human trap high end surveillance equipment can hit you for:D
    DIY ,working on it!Amazing what you can do with modern cell phones;)
    The "housing" is the problem. :(