Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish citizenship

• 22-10-2010 10:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭

So I've been living here long enough to be able to have an Irish citizenship.. I dont have to, but I can apply for one. Should I get it? I own a house here, not moving anywhere.. I know that could've been handy to have 2 passports, but makes no difference to me in terms of work, social welfare etc. What would you do if you were me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Do it. Join our team of begrudgers and Manic depressives. Take that red pill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Presumably your from the UK then?
    Do you feel Irish?
    Would you like to be thought of as being Irish?
    If no to these two questions, then no, don't take the citizenship please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Go for it - whats the worst that could happen???

.......deportation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭shuyin1

Do you have 4 years and €950 ready? Avg wait is ~4years and unless you qualify for an exemption they'll charge you the €950 fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

enda1 wrote: »
    Presumably your from the UK then?
    Do you feel Irish?
    Would you like to be thought of as being Irish?
    If no to these two questions, then no, don't take the citizenship please.
    Im Polish being described as "having unbelivable Dublin accent" ;)
    Well, in fairness I lived in a few coutries before and never felt like they were "my place" if you know what i mean, Ireland was different, I feckin love this country...

shuyin1 wrote: »
    Do you have 4 years and €950 ready? Avg wait is ~4years and unless you qualify they'll charge you the €950 fee.
    I've got 7+ and money.. its just the question thats there... that little doubt, you know, loyalty to the State, etc..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Dr_Phil wrote: »
    So I've been living here long enough to be able to have an Irish citizenship.. I dont have to, but I can apply for one. Should I get it? I own a house here, not moving anywhere.. I know that could've been handy to have 2 passports, but makes no difference to me in terms of work, social welfare etc. What would you do if you were me?

If you are not from the EU then do it, at least it will give you the option of the other EU states as a choice of residence besides this depressed chunk of rock in the Atlantic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

Up to you, If you feel Irish, Want to be an Irish citizen then go for it, If not then why would you, Its not going to benefit you in any real way.

I cant tell you what to do. Its your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Well, in fairness I lived in a few coutries before and never felt like they were "my place" if you know what i mean, Ireland was different, I feckin love this country...

Then go for it sure, why not.

There's plenty of native Irish ashamed to be from here. Its nice to see a non native "proud" to live here! Good on you sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

You will be allowed to vote in referendums and elections so you might as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I've got 7+ and money.. its just the question thats there... that little doubt

You need to have at least one red hair to get Irish citizenship. It can be anywhere on the body - head, beard, pube, arsehole - but it's a mandatory requirement.

They don't tell you that on the application form due to EU regulations, but it's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I feckin love this country...

Good enough for me. Give that man a passport!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

...described as "having unbelivable Dublin accent" ;)

Are you sure that was a compliment they were passing to you? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

If you're Polish then I really don't see the point. The only reason I could see for getting another citizenship would be for the fact that it could offer me something my current one doesn't, essentially you'd just have two EU passports, kind of cancel each other out since all it really changes is the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

If you love Ireland, get it! You're probably a lot more patriotic than some of the people who were actually born here. Plus, if you're Polish, you'd then have the added benefit of going to the USA without a visa - although Poland could well be visa-free by the time you're granted citizenship...

liah wrote: »
    If you're Polish then I really don't see the point. The only reason I could see for getting another citizenship would be for the fact that it could offer me something my current one doesn't, essentially you'd just have two EU passports, kind of cancel each other out since all it really changes is the title.

It's not just the document and its benefits he should be thinking of. Applying for citizenship shows a commitment and even a love for your new country, kinda like being adopted into a new (really big) family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I'm guessing you're young and probably havent lived anywhere else in your life.

There's a lot more to citizenship than just EU benefits. The OP has moved around looking for a home and he's found it here and wants to really belong. Sounds like the kind of person we want.

enda1 wrote: »
    There's plenty of native Irish ashamed to be from here
    "The grass is always ...."

I have to say that I've never had better craic, chats, parties than the ones here in Ireland with the Irish... Its been over 7 years since Im here and no bad thing happened to me, the Irish men are nice and funny, the women are gorgeous and sexy... sh*te I have to slow down with this wine haha... But I dont really think that any Irish person should be ashamed of Ireland, just because of a few mistakes.. Everyone is allowed to make a mistake, OK, the Celtic Tiger was a bit of a fcuk up, I agree, but apart from money there are many more things: music, landsapes, people, whiskey and more, more, more! My mother loves here as well, she lives in Italy but she likes coming over here for holidays..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

number10a wrote: »
    I Applying for citizenship shows a commitment and even a love for your new country, kinda like being adopted into a new (really big) family.

A big moaning begrudging flat broke family :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭shuyin1

I've got 7+ and money.. its just the question thats there... that little doubt, you know, loyalty to the State, etc..

I meant 4 years from the date you apply not the length you've been in Irl. Since you're an EU citizen the benefits isn't worth it.The amount of paperwork is unreal but you get to go to the four courts ;)

talla10 wrote: »
    My Irish friend said the other day that I moan just like I was born-breed Irish... :D

talla10 wrote: »

I know, but it didn't tie in with my lovey-dovey imagery. :P But then at least we'll have someone else to help us pay the bills.

shuyin1 wrote: »
    I meant 4 years from the date you apply not the length you've been in Irl. Since you're an EU citizen the benefits isn't worth it.The amount of paperwork is unreal but you get to go to the four courts ;)

It's not a four-year waiting list actually. Still terrible though - 26 months. :D

http://www.inis.gov.ie/en/INIS/Pages/Citizenship_Processing_Times

But either way, the thing that matters is that the OP has a clear love for this country and wants to mark it in some way.

Never knew about the Four Courts bit though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Mits

I don't see the point. I believe you are a citizen of the country you are born in. As Poland is already in the EU it will make little difference to you.

Unless you want your kids to play for an Irish team

Yea.. there is one thing that id say bothers me a bit (not too much tho), not in terms of the papers but rather someting that lies a bit deeper, what i've seen on polish forums, discussion groups.. they say "you're gonna no longer be Polish, but you're never gonna be Irish either, you'll be hangin in a limbo".. Thats something Im afraid of.. As per another thread I started here on boards.ie a while ago, many people have said that i will never be Irish since im not a red head, my 2nd names end with *ski, etc... Will i just be a fcukin alien??

@Mits - my son is already best Irish-speaking person in the class, got platinum award for overall participation in school events and the progress, he attents guitar lesson (good lad, like a daddy) and computer class.... Hes just like an Irish kid with a Dublin accent who has no other friends but irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

First they take our jobs now they're taking our citizenships...........................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭JayEnnis

Somebody buy this man a pint!

You clearly love the country so yes, I think you should apply for a citizentship as it seems you identify with us as a nation more than poland.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    First they take our jobs now they're taking our citizenships...........................
    I know... Sad, innt?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭nordisk celt83

Dr Phil, you've lived in Ireland for 7 years, so in a multitude of ways Ireland will have had an impact on you, and come to define who you are.
    You live, work and play in Ireland. I'm sure you and many others born overseas contribute a great deal to the shaping of Ireland, and therefore can undoubtedly come to see themselves as Irish.
    If you feel a bond to this country, feel a connection to here and see your future here, you are in my mind Irish.
    People who have arrived from overseas to Ireland in recent years are apart of the Irish experience, and on a daily basis define what the future of Ireland will be.

If you want to be an Irish citizen, go for it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Mits

my son is already best Irish-speaking person in the class, got platinum award for overall participation in school events and the progress, he attents guitar lesson (good lad, like a daddy) and computer class.... Hes just like an Irish kid with a Dublin accent who has no other friends but irish.

I think the speaking Irish has a lot to do with Irish people passing on their hangups to their kids. I do a lot of work in schools and find that non natives are more open to learning Irish. Its good to here he is doing well.

It's not a bad country just broken. I lived in Oz for a while and applied for residency but didn't get. I still would have felt Irish.

On a bigger picture should we all not be European's rather than nationals.

InTheTrees wrote: »
    I'm guessing you're young and probably havent lived anywhere else in your life.

There's a lot more to citizenship than just EU benefits. The OP has moved around looking for a home and he's found it here and wants to really belong. Sounds like the kind of person we want.

Lived in America for 7 years. Canada for something like 14/15. Ireland for 2 years. UK for 6 months. Germany for the forseeable. Latter three all of my own accord and alone.

I just don't see the point in going through the hassle of obtaining another EU citizenship when it offers no additional benefits, has nothing to do with not loving the country, it's just an awful lot of paperwork for what amounts to no valid reason other than patriotism.. which I don't really count as a valid reason.

To each their own. I just said I didn't see the point, didn't say not to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭nordisk celt83

Also, it's very possible to reconcile having an affinity to two countries. Things really aren't that black and white...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Yea.. there is one thing that id say bothers me a bit (not too much tho), not in terms of the papers but rather someting that lies a bit deeper, what i've seen on polish forums, discussion groups.. they say "you're gonna no longer be Polish, but you're never gonna be Irish either, you'll be hangin in a limbo".. Thats something Im afraid of.. As per another thread I started here on boards.ie a while ago, many people have said that i will never be Irish since im not a red head, my 2nd names end with *ski, etc... Will i just be a fcukin alien??

@Mits - my son is already best Irish-speaking person in the class, got platinum award for overall participation in school events and the progress, he attents guitar lesson (good lad, like a daddy) and computer class.... Hes just like an Irish kid with a Dublin accent who has no other friends but irish.

Well you'll always be polish if you feel polish so don't bother listening to them, also teaching your kid Irish will be useless when the chinese take over so i'd suggest Manderan classes and also only let him play with asian kids.

Irish will be useless
    Never say learning languages is useless, I'd love to be like a sponge and speak fluent Irish....
    when the chinese take over
    I'll be one of the first to get me hands on the weapon and fight for this country and its culture - although not mine in origin, but good, interesting and valuable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 battleaxe

My advice is get the hell out of here before its to late,no future here on this godforsaken island in the Atlantic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Why would you want to live here?

karlog wrote: »
    Why would you want to live here?
    guiness tasts like nowhere else and soft, sexy and hot girly "hi" i hear sooo often does not make me cum anywhere alse..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

go for it
    you're more deserving of it than i am and i was born here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

As a pro-integration supporter(yeh from that mega multi-culturalism thread), I welcome you into my arms with a nice delicious pint of Guinness or was it Lech or Erdinger I was last drinking? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

do you work for corrib foods op? the delivery man in work is polish with a flat dublin accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I think its great that you want to become a citizen. I hope you get it.;)

do you work for corrib foods op? the delivery man in work is polish with a flat dublin accent
    nah i work in one of yer banks in it... im a computer man stuck in the heavy metal from the 80's harmless you should say ;)

Uh oh. A Polish banker caused our economic collapse :eek: :D

gurramok wrote: »
    Uh oh. A Polish banker caused our economic collapse :eek: :D
    Yeah!!!

i dont know if you're finding it funny but i use it ever feckin toooime i get a chance

"have you been caught................."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljuR1-z9N78

i just keep laughing, ari "tomo's gone crazy so cum un down!!"

Yeah!!!

i dont know if you're finding it funny but i use it ever feckin toooime i get a chance

"have you been caught................."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljuR1-z9N78

i just keep laughing, ari "tomo's gone crazy so cum un down!!"

Certainly is funny, I FB'ed it! Guess what, you're an honourable Irishman, maybe even more Irish than me! :);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭selekta

I remember I was vaguely warned by an Irishman about potential tax pitfalls of being formally Irish (if you earn good money that is). This was some time ago and he didn't go into any details…

So, my question is: what are the downsides of becoming an Irish citizen? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Lived in America for 7 years. Canada for something like 14/15. Ireland for 2 years. UK for 6 months. Germany for the forseeable. Latter three all of my own accord and alone.

I just don't see the point in going through the hassle of obtaining another EU citizenship when it offers no additional benefits, has nothing to do with not loving the country, it's just an awful lot of paperwork for what amounts to no valid reason other than patriotism.. which I don't really count as a valid reason.To each their own. I just said I didn't see the point, didn't say not to do it.

Eh, did you bang your head somewhere along your travels? :eek:

selekta wrote: »
    I remember I was vaguely warned by an Irishman about potential tax pitfalls of being formally Irish (if you earn good money that is). This was some time ago and he didn't go into any details…

So, my question is: what are the downsides of becoming an Irish citizen? :)

You become the opposite of Dr. Phil!

Eh, did you bang your head somewhere along your travels? :eek:

What's wrong with not believing in pledging allegiance to the country you happened to be born in? I did nothing to get the country to where it is, my birth there was nothing other than chance. I don't identify with it at all.

I also just don't believe in being a blind patriot for any country, even the one I do identify with (though I wasn't born there). All countries have faults and there is no "best" country. I can like certain countries-- I love Canada with all my heart-- but I can never call myself a patriot.

What's wrong with not believing in pledging allegiance to the country you happened to be born in? I did nothing to get the country to where it is, my birth there was nothing other than chance. I don't identify with it at all.

I also just don't believe in being a blind patriot for any country, even the one I do identify with (though I wasn't born there). All countries have faults and there is no "best" country. I can like certain countries-- I love Canada with all my heart-- but I can never call myself a patriot.
    Always liked the Canadian buuurds ;)