Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Avoiding dogs

• 21-10-2010 7:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭

Is there any time of the day that dog owners aren't out as much? I say this as there is a park, which is ideal for running, where dogs are meant to be on a leash but every so often you get one which isn't and while chase/bark at you. I have a fear of dogs in general, had some frightening encounters with them in this park so I'm just wondering are there any strategies for avoiding them. I've tried running on the fields and while there is a reduced chance of running into a dog its the same problem, in fact worse in certain instances as you'll more likely encounter a pitbull or great dane running full speed ahead and there aren't many places to escape.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Your best chance is very early in the morning, as in, just as it's getting bright or just as it's getting dark. I tend to bring mine out when there's a chance there'll be hardly any other dogs around...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I know it's hard but the oul cliche of not showing your fear is true, be confident when approaching them and make sure they're aware of you, nothing worse than giving a dog a fright as you don't know what they may do, fight or flight.

Evening times are generally busiest with them so as RC says very early or before the evening rush hour if it's feasible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Two dogs chased me while out on the bike this morning, wouldn't have been such an issue if I wasn't trying to get up a hill. In the end I stopped and turned around, they ran off as soon as I did... So maybe try standing up to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭marchino

mloc123 wrote: »
    Two dogs chased me while out on the bike this morning, wouldn't have been such an issue if I wasn't trying to get up a hill. In the end I stopped and turned around, they ran off as soon as I did... So maybe try standing up to them.

I have experienced this plenty of times too, out running.

i ve stared to clap my hands when i hear or see a dog coming.
    its suprizing how that noise shuts them up.
    it even worked on the neighbours 2 alsations!

Try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

its suprizing how that noise shuts them up.

This is true, I know a girl who carries a dog repeller which is like a mini air-horn, if a dog come up aggressively one press of the button will chance his mind, I'm sure you can get them online somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭plodder

There was another discussion recently about this, and there are fairly discrete ultrasonic scarers you can get as well. They are supposed to be very effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I found shouting a lout "NO" at them is surprisingly effective. Most dogs are complete cowards, as soon as there is the slightest sign of resistance they're backing off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

They can smell fear, so try replacing fear with anger. Lots of anger.

Deep breaths, think about something you get angry about, and when the dog comes too close, give it the ole anger outburst.

Oh, and on the plus side, if you're having a bad day, this sudden release of anger towards something usually feels damn good :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭grasscutter

Hi

you really cant avoid them you so all you can do is really adapt your running style around them. If you are unsure around dogs I would always slow to a walk to reduce the interest the dog has in you.

Things i do to avoid hassle
    1 dog on a lead then always run to the owner side
    2 dog off the lead then I always slow to a walk because alot of dogs always like to run along with you for the laugh... nearly been tripped up by a jack russell many a time
    3 if a dog comes up and is being friendly just give it a bit of the "whos a good boy etc etc pat pat etc etc" and then get running again after you have passed them
    4 dog starts giving you grief..... you have to stop and stand your ground. Starts coming towards you then start roaring...... but stand your ground. This worked with a fully grown Rottweiler which started charging towards me one time.

final note- a mate of mine at work swears by squirting water at them from your water bottle..... I wouldnt fancy trying that with a fully grown Rottweiler though

cheers

grasscutter

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I've no fear of dogs so I just keep running - even when faced with two alsations I just kept running, they didn't care - I ignored them so they realised that I was no threat to them. Try not to look at the dog, when you look them in the eye you can aggravate them.

Little thing though re: clapping your hands - thats how I call my dogs when they've wandered too far, you could end up having three nutjobs charging excitedly towards you if you do that. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭greenplain

I was out running two weeks ago at my home place. I was running the route i normally go which involves pasting a house with three dogs, they have never bothered me before but one of the dogs came out ( a bloody alsatian) and the f*cker bit me on the thigh!!. I now dislike dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Stay away from Copper's.......;)

I've no fear of dogs so I just keep running - even when faced with two alsations I just kept running, they didn't care - I ignored them so they realised that I was no threat to them. Try not to look at the dog, when you look them in the eye you can aggravate them.

Little thing though re: clapping your hands - thats how I call my dogs when they've wandered too far, you could end up having three nutjobs charging excitedly towards you if you do that. :pac:

id be the same dogs dont worry me at all. the clapping effect worked on all but one that ive tried so far. The one it didnt work on was probly deaf!!!

Id not be into the stopping and chatting to them myself. mayb if out for a recovery jog on xmas morning but not if your doing a marathon tempo!

anyone try the old pepper spray?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Don't get bitten, get even :P

When I found out that the legendary "super soaker 3000" was no longer for sale, I looked at a few water pistols that came out last year...

super_soaker_ss50_20th.jpg

water_warriors_renegade.jpg

water_warriors_equalizer.jpg

water_warriors_deluge.jpg

The last one is only 212g, so the lightest of the lot. I'm sure all good toy stores have them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Try raising hand in the air (with or without a short stick weapon, dog won't be sure if you have something to hit him with, or not) while shouting "No". "No" is better than random shouting, because many of them are trained in some small way to understand the command.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 James1066

the_syco wrote: »
    Don't get bitten, get even :P

When I found out that the legendary "super soaker 3000" was no longer for sale, I looked at a few water pistols that came out last year...

super_soaker_ss50_20th.jpg

water_warriors_renegade.jpg

water_warriors_equalizer.jpg

water_warriors_deluge.jpg

The last one is only 212g, so the lightest of the lot. I'm sure all good toy stores have them.

HAHAHA SMART ! :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 James1066

Any garden Center Has These .. Theyre Like Handheld Sprayers! ,

Theyre Really Cheap And Even Shoot Soo Far!

They Fit In Your Pocket Aswell!

Just plain water does the trick! ;);););););););););)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

don't change your running times just because of a few irresponsible dog owners.
    As others said, turn to them and let out a roar with threatening forward motion. That's what I did when I was bitten by one, I told the mutt to "Fcuk off!!" -> It was funny thinking about it now but it worked...well, I suppose I should have done it before he bit me :)

No harm ringing the dog warden too and report all these dogs not on leashes.
    Loose dogs along with dog sh*te along nice walkways are the scourge of walkers & runners.

No harm ringing the dog warden too and report all these dogs not on leashes.

That's a bit of over kill and for another thread, but if the dog is off the lead and under control it's stupid ringing the warden just because you're afraid of it. It's like ringing the gardai every time you see a scanger on the street because you're afraid of what they might do :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

ThisRegard wrote: »
    That's a bit of over kill and for another thread, but if the dog is off the lead and under control it's stupid ringing the warden just because you're afraid of it. It's like ringing the gardai every time you see a scanger on the street because you're afraid of what they might do :p

hmm, OK!
    a skanger is allowed to be in public but it is illegal for a dog to be in public without a leash. define 'under control'? if all dogs off a leash were under control the OP wouldn't exist....anyway, for another thread.

a skanger is allowed to be in public

Well something needs to be done about that so !
    it is illegal for a dog to be in public without a leash. define 'under control'? if all dogs off a leash were under control the OP wouldn't exist....anyway, for another thread.

No it's not, there's no law requiring dogs to be on a leash, some park by-laws require it but the Control of Dogs act, 1986, only requires the dogs to be under effectual control so the you'd be wasting the dog wardens time ringing them every time you see a dog off a lead. The OP said he/she has a general fear of dogs but didn't go into exact details of why, i.e. was he/she bitten etc.

Worked again this evening whilst doing a nice 10miler, a noisy large 'sounding' dog/bitch was barking louldly and i was nicely switched off and running well at the time.
    One clap of hands and the barking stopped, there and then!

@THE_SYCO: good idea with the water soaker haha!! Must try that some time too :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Moycullen1

I definitely agree that dogs can sense fear. I don't really mind them but on a couple of my regular routes there are one or two dogs that chase absolutely every thing that passes. Something I have found effective is if you bend down appearing to pick something up off the ground and make like you are about to throw something at them you'll be amazed at how quick they disappear. Some may argue that you are initiating confrontation but in my opinion you are already up to your knees in it when you see a dog bounding towards you!

If anyone comes across one of those transmitters online post the details cause dogs drive my wife mad when she goes out walking. We live in the sticks where there are no such things as leashes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Moycullen1 wrote: »
    If anyone comes across one of those transmitters online post the details cause dogs drive my wife mad when she goes out walking. We live in the sticks where there are no such things as leashes.
    Atlantic Homecare used to do them, so you could try your local DIY shop, Woodies etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

gerard65 wrote: »
    Atlantic Homecare used to do them, so you could try your local DIY shop, Woodies etc.
    Something like this woudl do the trick...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGUyMFPJRnU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I'd a bit of an issue with this recently. Went out one Saturday morning about 8.30am to do some laps of the park and there was a guy out walking his two dogs. Normally I don't mind, but a few times one of the dogs kept running in front of me so I'd have to take avoiding action. I had hopped yer man would have put it back on the leash but he didn't.

The next day I went out around the same time and met the same guy with the same dogs. And again the same problem, but other thank looking a bit fed up, I didn't say anything.

On Tuesday then I was doing laps of the same park and 3 young fellas were playing football and twice decided to kick the ball in front of me just as I was running past. I let it go the 1st time but the 2nd time I sort looked over at them with the "If you do that again, I'm going to take that ball and kick it somewhere you can't get it back from" look.

Stupid children. I'm so glad I was never one :D

Something similar happened to me locally, kids kicked the ball right in front of me laughing, then here mister, kick the ball back, sure I said. Went over and booted the ball completely in the opposite direction. Ah ye ****head one of them said but his mates had a laugh anyway. None of this giving them second chances for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Moycullen1

Couple of examples of ultrasonic emitters. I like the idea of one with an attack alarm for those who run after dark.

http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=33094

http://cgi.ebay.ie/WALK-EASY-FEND-OFF-ALARM-ULTRASONIC-DOG-DETERRENT-/290484479245?pt=UK_Pet_Supplies_Dogs&hash=item43a239650d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

Yeah, I've used most those strategies in my past runs, found shouting no and moving forward like what the dog whisperer does to Cartman makes them back off.

Went for a run today, way too many dogs not on leashes so had to stop frequently and walk. I find thats a good preventative strategy. The reason I dislike dogs is that I just never really liked them if they got too close pawing/clawing at me, I guess because I always have regarded them as carrying dirt/parasites and I just dont like animals that are too in your face. The other reason is that when I started running regularly I got two years of near misses with dogs, had a pitbull bound towards me once which was worrying to say the least, another dog that growled and lunged at me before running off, a jack russel that was ferocious though fortunately it was on a leash. So I'm very wary of dogs, actually this year I was walking along a footpath minding my own business when a wolfish dog tried to take a bite out of me and I wasn't even scared of it until it went for me as it was on a leash. Had to run around the other side of the car, the owner apologized, good thing it was on a leash though. That said there have been many occassions where I've had no trouble with dogs at all so its really dependent on the owner taking responsibility. I had a good spot abroad however on the footpaths where dogs were a rare occurence, which was nice.