Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

99 Ford Focus - Diagnose it?

• 21-10-2010 06:49PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭

Hiya lads,

99 Ford Focus diesel, 75k, recently started "chugging" (technical term I know). What I mean by that, is that there is a lot of grey smoke from the exhaust when the engine is idle, and the car splutters. It never dies, just sits there shuddering until I take off, or it will stop spontaneously.

Local mechanic had a look, replaced some filters, said he found the problem but it wasn't fixed, then he suggested dirty diesel (not the case). He's a pretty good mechanic, so I'm sure he knows his stuff.

Can anyone help with this? Im reluctant to go to a ford dealer, because I cant afford the prices. Plan to take it to a different mechanics at the weekend, but thought some friendly advice wouldn't hurt!

Fire away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

First off i'd check to see if the fuel filter was changed.

If so i'd run injector cleaner thru the system.

Did you get a diagnostic scan done on the car at all.

Think there's an EGR valve, that might need a cleaning out too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

I'd say it's the CAT, i had a similar problem with a Focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭silverfox88

dont know all that much about this kind of stuff so please dont shout at me if im way off the mark!! :) just sounded a bit similar to my old car, is it a bit rumbly and shuddering, with feck all power and flying through fuel? changed the four plug leads in mine, my dad bought them in halfords for about 27 euro each or so, fitted them himself and the car ran clean again afterwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Siverfox88 wouldnt shout out you for that, glad it such an easy fix for your car.

Have given spark plugs a clean it the past and its help improved the running of the engine.

It'd be great if that was the OP problem. I'd hope he's mechanic already checked them. Could be worth looking at though.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Muckie wrote: »
    Siverfox88 wouldnt shout out you for that, glad it such an easy fix for your car.

Have given spark plugs a clean it the past and its help improved the running of the engine.

It'd be great if that was the OP problem. I'd hope he's mechanic already checked them. Could be worth looking at though.

It's a diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

It's a diesel.

It might be the flux capacitors so..........