Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aftermath of Mystery Tour

• 21-10-2010 4:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

Hope ye all had a great night Monday. Unfortunately there were a couple of
    incidents on the night, which the Societies Guild have taken issue
    with.These issues are as follows

1. Someone ripped a seat out of a bus.
    2. Some group of people robbed an off license (on CCTV footage).
    3. Someone got arrested.

These allegations are all based on third hand information and as such may
    only be allegations.However given the engineering society's past reputation
    the Societies Guild consider it pretty likely that these events actually
    happened. As it stands unless the Societies Guild find out exactly who was
    involved in these incidents( if anyone) be it engineers or pharmacists the
    Eng ball and all further engineering society events will be cancelled.
    If anyone has any information on any of the issues listed previously, or if
    anyone knows weather these allegations are true or false please contact us.

Regards

Cormac
    Auditor

gotta love ucc :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

Did the Mystery Tour entail travelling to forums where nobody has any idea what you're on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Tiny Explosions

Hi guys,

3. Someone got arrested.

Regards

Cormac
    Auditor

Students all scumbags!!:P hehe.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Hi guys,

3. Someone got arrested.

Regards

Cormac
    Auditor

I blame the After Hours element in the UCC Engineering* Department.

* Wattle and Daub studies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Students all scumbags!!:P hehe.

true

but its the wat the email was sent, hope y'all had a great do, and then he lists the damage caused..

im sure it was deadly by all accounts...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

have to say :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

true

but its the wat the email was sent, hope y'all had a great do, and then he lists the damage caused..

What the fúck are you on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

have to say :eek:

kimono...hmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

kimono...hmmmmm

????

apologies i've never heard someone from cork use the word 'deadly' like that....:o

OisinT wrote: »
    What the fúck are you on about?

Some students had a night out in Dublin and committed a few crimes........I think.:pac:

And OP thinks we care because...

OisinT wrote: »
    And OP thinks we care because...

Maybe he's still drunk?

I don't know, pointless thread unless you were one of the students there that night.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Rebels!!! The 'lotta them!! :pac:

Mystery Tour sounds like a nerdy thing to do IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Since no one in After Hours knows what this is about I'm moving the thread to UCC.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

biko wrote: »
    Since no one in After Hours knows what this is about I'm moving the thread to UCC.

Much appreciated, any other nonsensical threads you've got banging on over in AH send them right around... :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Shatner

Hi guys,

3. Someone got arrested.

Regards

Cormac
    Auditor

I'm just impressed that Cormac managed to rise to a position as important as 'Auditor' without learning the difference between 'whether' and 'weather'.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Ah how I loved the Eng Soc Mystery Tours! Glad to see they are keeping up the great traditions of getting steaming drunk and causing havoc.

Best time was the Eng Hunt in 07 I think when it was on in the Imperial Hotel. Absolutely mayhem but it sure was enjoyable. Nothing beats stumbling through the doors in to the kitchen and seeing that others had broken in there and were consuming breads and cold meats. Quality times!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Papa_Lazarou

Ah you could tell from a mile away that this was going to happen. Sure only a week or two agao at their class party in the star they all got hoofed out for flipping tables and throwing glasses.

• Registered Users Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Max001

Shatner wrote: »
    I'm just impressed that Cormac managed to rise to a position as important as 'Auditor' without learning the difference between 'whether' and 'weather'.

Isn't there a saying about people rising to their level of incompetence? (or words to that effect) How OP wrote that daft post says a lot bout who's running things. If offences were committed let the Guards deal with it, if they can be arsed :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Shatner

Max001 wrote: »
    Isn't there a saying about people rising to their level of incompetence? (or words to that effect) How OP wrote that daft post says a lot bout who's running things. If offences were committed let the Guards deal with it, if they can be arsed :rolleyes:

The Peter Principle http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Principle

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Ah you could tell from a mile away that this was going to happen. Sure only a week or two agao at their class party in the star they all got hoofed out for flipping tables and throwing glasses.

The star is back???:eek:

The thirsty scholar---> the thirsty
    > now back to being the star.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

The thirsty scholar---> the thirsty
    > now back to being the star.

don't forget the short lived Lancastar

thirsty scholar -> thirsty -> Lancastar -> Star

deRanged wrote: »

So short lived i totally forgot about it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

So short lived i totally forgot about it :D

4478311043_dc0a6b660a.jpg
    the lancaster by Brian Clayton, on Flickr

actually, I forgot Art McBrides.
    3618555571_1fb0343d21.jpg
    thirsty no more by Brian Clayton, on Flickr

Thirsy Scholar -> Thirsty -> Art McBrides -> Lancastar -> Star

4574949345_8940046d47.jpg
    The Star by Brian Clayton, on Flickr

Christ the place is worse than Gorbys for renaming itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

deRanged wrote: »

It was Art McBrides before the floods last year as well wasn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

The Dirty Squalor is now The Star(!) - My, the time they are a'changing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Some Fool wrote: »

3. Someone got arrested.

Am, what the heck are the society guild thinking. If criminal acts were committed it should be left the the Gardai to investigate and take action against.

Who they hell do they think they are? We already have a quasi police force wandering around annoying people and handing out offensive flyers.

I actually find this whole thing offensive. Can someone enlighten me as to what powers of investigation and punishment these people have. Why would anyone report someone to the guild? Also I would question their power to punish whole departments based on the actions of a few. Are they Serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭pirateninja

maglite wrote: »
    Am, what the heck are the society guild thinking. If criminal acts were committed it should be left the the Gardai to investigate and take action against.

Who they hell do they think they are? We already have a quasi police force wandering around annoying people and handing out offensive flyers.

I actually find this whole thing offensive. Can someone enlighten me as to what powers of investigation and punishment these people have. Why would anyone report someone to the guild? Also I would question their power to punish whole departments based on the actions of a few. Are they Serious.

I would imagine the Guild are looking into it because since it was a society event all liability falls to the Guild.

They need to report it to the Guild because if a company decides to sue over this it's the guild that they would be sueing. It's a courtsey heads up more than anything I'd say. I mean if it was your fault that someone was going to have legal action taken against them you'd tell them wouldn't you?

I don't think they'd be looking at "punishing" a department. It's not an academic issue it's an "Engineering Society" issue.