Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

..it's no harm if people lighten up a bit.......

• 20-10-2010 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭

..took this pic today, and it struck a chord. It was on an old Corsa GSI, outside the local secondary school, and was festooned in the manner you'd expect.........:D :D

But it made me laugh: someone who doesn't take himself - or his Corsa -too seriously, and I'm quite sure I did equally brash things to my first car...........I must've annoyed someone then, too, I'd say........:p

I'm posting here, rather than 'Modified Motors' on purpose, as it's aimed more at 'us' than 'them'..........:D :D

131748.JPG

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Punctuation let's it down ;) :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭chasm

Outside a secondary school? Teachers must love the spelling...."crusin":D

Next time you pass it, get the tipp-ex out and draw a little "i" in "cruisin" (we'll allow them the G lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I've done/still do my bit of spinning about town, great way of spending spare time, meet up with friends, keeps me off the drink, usually get a bit of food, go through a few CDs and episodes of How I Met Your Mother. Whats not to like? :)

Oh yeh, the 18MPG around town...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

the fusion amp and 6x9's lead me to believe he sells heroin or has the mental capacity of a 10 year old.... nothing wrong with 'crusin' but theres something wrong with that chap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

enda1 wrote: »
    You did that on purpose, right? :pac:

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I'm not linking any one individual, but ... http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/1021/1224281621765.html
    'Boy racer' gathering broken up by Garda
    RONAN McGREEVY

A MASS concentration of “boy racers” has been disrupted by the Garda and more than 100 arrests have been made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭PaddyFagan

galwaytt wrote: »
    ..took this pic today, and it struck a chord. It was on an old Corsa GSI, outside the local secondary school, and was festooned in the manner you'd expect.........:D :D

Reminds me of a car I used to pass every day on the way to work (back in '97-'98 :rolleyes:) - It had, the then common, "On a Mission" tagline across the top of the windscreen, but across the top of the back window was "Mission aborted, off to the Pub" - always made me smile - gutted that I never took a picture of it now.

Paddy.

esel wrote: »
    You did that on purpose, right? :pac:

Nah. Smiley faces are the new punctuation :D

Victor wrote: »

Not the same thing at all though.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

131748.JPG

If that's all they did nobody would have a problem. 100 arrests though!!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Pic of the entire car please, it might make the skangermobile thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

It wasn't the smiley faces he was on about. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

The problem is that is is not what cruising is, that describes a meet which is what no one has a problem with, a few lads/lassies meeting somewhere, standing around having a bit of craic and then dispersing.

A cruise normally adds various forms of messing onto that, doing donuts, racing, making noise.

No one who is properly into their cars will ever go to a cruise or even use the word, for a good example of this look at the huge Octane meets that never have any trouble at them.

It wasn't the smiley faces he was on about. :pac:

:o Let's move on shall we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

:o Let's move on shall we?
    :Ddid u mean lettuce?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

dunsandin wrote: »
    :Ddid u mean lettuce?

'let us move on'

Nothing wrong with that, smartarse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

err,Always thought the smiley looked like a lettuce, was aahh, pointing out the all new and improved punctuation with Lettuces-:D:D:D:D, 'I'l'l' shut up now...... goes to stand in corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I was following a Budweiser lorry today (you've probably all seen this..anyway)

KEEP BACK
    DOORS MAY OPEN
    (YOU WISH)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Misplaced apostrophes are the new wannabee grammar police Fail.... :p

Not your ornery onager