Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

my 87 golf quick rebuild

• 20-10-2010 9:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭

as some of ye know, my daily tractor was gone a bit rough around the edges:0 so after a truly epic fail of the nct i decided to tidy her up a bit while im doing the nct work. bodywork is rough as a bears arse so i was only ever hoping for an ok-ish sort of finish at very best.
    i'll let the pictures do the talking!!!

last saturday morning

Image0266.jpg

Image0267.jpg

Image0268.jpg

Image0269.jpg

Image0270.jpg

Image0271.jpg

Image0274.jpg

Image0275.jpg

Image0276.jpg

Image0277.jpg

Image0278.jpg

Image0279.jpg

Image0280.jpg

Image0281.jpg

Image0282.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭ep71

Image0283.jpg

Image0284.jpg

spotted this on the teabreak!

Image0286.jpg

Image0287.jpg

Image0288.jpg

Image0290.jpg

sunday evening!

Image0291.jpg

Image0292.jpg

Image0294.jpg

Image0295.jpg

Image0296.jpg

Image0297.jpg

lastnight!

Image0298.jpg

Image0299.jpg

Image0300.jpg

finished up around 12 lastnight and had to be up for work this morn at 6.30am!!

got a quick look at it in daylight this eve, unfortunately theres a good few runs and as usual a load of bloody flies landed in the paint along with lumps of cobwebs and other loveliness from the roof of my shed. anyhow i'll cut the runs out of it when the paint hardens and she should tidy up a treat! should be enough to keep her tipping away for another year or two and another 100k!!!

Image0302.jpg

Image0303.jpg

Image0304.jpg

Image0305.jpg

Image0306.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

Nice work!Puttin it all back together must have been a right pain especially when half asleep and suffocated by paint fumes! Fair play to ya .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Nice work,anyone else would have fed it to the baler after an NCT fail! Tough ol bus those Golfs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Thats a great job lad! I'm getting a MK1 golf of my uncle for free next weekend which myself and a friend are gonna have a go at putting it back together.. Even if we make a balls of it it'll be good experience anyways:D

If it turns out anything like yours I'll be very happy indeed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

What happened to that Carina estate or whatever it was you were restoring?

cheers lads, should hopefully be a car again by monday.

unfortunately or indeed fortunately depending on how you look at it, i got my first full time job since leaving college in early august and the corolla estate has been put on the back burner ever since, hopefully with the golf sorted i'll get back into the corolla shortly:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

Great job there, brings me back to the days I used to work in hay sheds and all that, flies and runs, the bane of my life!! Heres a tip for you, the next time you're spraying, nuke the place with fly killer first (it won't cause silicone reactions, trust me!) and make sure you've plenty of heat and you won't get runs, well less runs anyway. Fair dues to you though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭12 element

Do you have 2 golf wing mirrors to go back on it or are you gonna leave it like it was? ;)

well the escort mirror was the cornerpiece of the old theme:D but yes i now have a second golf mirror!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Encouraging that someone can turn essentially what is scrap to most people around in under a weekend.

Fair play OP, I wish there were more like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

Sweet work and a nice turn around for such a short time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Savage work... When are you going to stick a 20v Turbo into it? :D

never ever ever:D maybe a 1.9 tdi at some stage though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

fair play
    how many hours did she take?

around 4 evenings to get the paint on it, not back together yet

didnt do much this weekend aside from drinking a lot of beer and tonic wine! but i got back at this for a while this eve. probably not going to make it to the nct tomorrow eve as i still have a lot to do, nevertheless she's coming together nicely

Image0314.jpg
    Image0322.jpg
    Image0323.jpg
    Image0324.jpg
    Image0325.jpg
    Image0326.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Set of nice period alloys would set her off lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭walshe

can i ask what grade sandpaper did you use to rub it down? and where can the paint be gotten from? i have a tornado red 3dr golf myself no rust luckily but has gone pink, i tried polishing it but it just didnt work

think it was 320 grade discs on an orbital sander to rub it down, got the paint and sandpaper etc from a local motorfactors. if the paint is just gone pink and not actually scratched or dented you should be able to bring it up by machine polishing with cutting compund or else by rubbing the whole car with something like 2000 grit waterpaper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

good job man, lookin well. what kina mileage you got up on her? a nice new set of fresh number plates front and rear and the orginal wheels repainted she'd look like new..please take off those Carina tin hub caps :-)

Keep the pics commin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Retain the original rear reg. plate, try to get a similar one for the front at Eireplates.