Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

School Kid's parents not allowed -Newbridge co. kildare

• 20-10-2010 11:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

Hi
    Parents are not allowed to park on P.G. Duffys garage parking area to drop kids to the school anymore, Doesn't mater if You are a customer of the shop or not. That few minutes of parking when you safely walking with your child across the street it's bad form from the owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Since when did AH become the Newbridge forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Teach your kids how to cross the road safely or get a group of parents together to do a lollypop scheme. You parking there obvgiously affects the company in question, so if they ask you not to park there it's their right and you should respect that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Walk your kids to school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

This is a regional issue.
    Moved to KE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 moone79

i drive because I'm workin outside of Newbridge and thats on the way to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Great stuff altogether.
    Try walking your kids to school. It's really not that difficult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

moone79 wrote: »
    i drive because I'm workin outside of Newbridge and thats on the way to work

And this stops your Kids walking or cycling to school because ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Terry wrote: »
    Great stuff altogether.
    Try walking your kids to school. It's really not that difficult.

It's also not all that difficult to realise that not all of us live within walking distance to schools/work etc.

Shock Horror, some of us won't be asking our 8 year old kids to walk 23 miles to school in the morning.

Mena wrote: »
    It's also not all that difficult to realise that not all of us live within walking distance to schools/work etc.

Shock Horror, some of us won't be asking our 8 year old kids to walk 23 miles to school in the morning.

Well, find somewhere safe to park and walk them the rest of the way.
    It's really, really not difficult.

Rally the affect parents together and get a school bus and then stop causing traffic jams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Shenshen wrote: »
    Well, find somewhere safe to park and walk them the rest of the way.
    It's really, really not difficult.

That I agree with. No excuse using a business premises for mass parking on the school run unless they're happy to allow it.
    jobyrne30 wrote: »
    Rally the affect parents together and get a school bus and then stop causing traffic jams.

Direct it at the OP, we send ours on a bus already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The parents are going onto private property and clogging up the owners space twice a day

If you're not using the petrol station you shouldn't be in there.

And this stops your Kids walking or cycling to school because ?

because his 6 years old

Direct it at the OP, we send ours on a bus already.

Fair play to you, I'm glad to hear you don't cause any traffic jams.

Re-directing comment as requested :)

OP - Rally the affected parents together, get a school bus for you kids and stop causing traffic jams.

because his 6 years old

And he hasn't grown legs yet? You should get that checked out.

Shenshen wrote: »
    And he hasn't grown legs yet? You should get that checked out.

:p:p:p:p:p:p:p

Fair play to you, I'm glad to hear you don't cause any traffic jams.

Re-directing comment as requested :)

OP - Rally the affected parents together, get a school bus for you kids and stop causing traffic jams.

Im driving to fast so you don't have too many chances to see me :p

because his 6 years old

I forgot Six year olds have lost the use of their legs...

Rally the affected parents together, get a school bus for you kids and stop causing traffic jams. Or organise a school walk where children actually walk in large groups accompanied by some adults. Granted the school bus may be a safer option to put you mind at ease. Maybe just maybe you could even park in the pay parking zone which are plenty in Newbridge, from there proceed with walking to the school.

But please don't moan at how a private business owner has had enough of you parking on their land.

Several solution have how been posted to your heart wrenching dilemma. Please feel free to tell us what one you've selected as the most viable.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Parents are not allowed to park on P.G. Duffys garage parking area to drop kids to the school anymore, Doesn't mater if You are a customer of the shop or not. That few minutes of parking when you safely walking with your child across the street it's bad form from the owners.

I'm pretty sure that P.G. Duffys didn't spend a packet on their parking area just to facilitate parents dropping their kids off to school.

Parents dropping kids off to school by car is a pet hate of mine.
    My daughter walked to school from the day she started. Hail, rain or snow. For most kids these days, walking to school is the only form of exercise they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Its a petrol station, not a car park. Did you expect them to be over the moon at the prospect of cars blocking their petrol station/forecourt twice a day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

I don't mind kids being "dropped off" when distance is a factor but why can't the parent just stop for a nano-second outside the school while the child hops out? Why do parents have to park (usually badly in an attempt to get little Jane or Jack to within an inch of the school gate) in private property, get out with the child and accompany them in? I know some schools have a policy that younger kids in junior and senior infants have to be taken into the class by the parent but that's definitely not the case in the majority of schools.

00112984 wrote: »
    II know some schools have a policy that younger kids in junior and senior infants have to be taken into the class by the parent but that's definitely not the case in the majority of schools.

If a school wants to have a policy like that then they should provide an adequately sized car park to allow parents to park without disrupting the general flow of rush hour traffic.

School gates are a major issue of mine. Motorists seem to lose all sense of common decency and cop on when it comes to dropping their kids off to school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

i have to pass those schools every day, the amount of dopes that just stop on the road, get out and saunter across the road for a few mintutes and then just pulls straight out in front of someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭foodaholic

I love that fact that because parents are dropping off or collecting their children it gives them license to park where ever they like !!

Must have missed the section in my driving test where its okay to double park when picking kids up from school - way to go parents, teaching your kids that its okay to break the rules of the road if it suits you. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭stackerman

00112984 wrote: »
    I don't mind kids being "dropped off" when distance is a factor but why can't the parent just stop for a nano-second outside the school while the child hops out? Why do parents have to park (usually badly in an attempt to get little Jane or Jack to within an inch of the school gate) in private property, get out with the child and accompany them in? I know some schools have a policy that younger kids in junior and senior infants have to be taken into the class by the parent but that's definitely not the case in the majority of schools.

And the biggest problem, standing there talking ****e for half a bloody hr :rolleyes:

Owner spot on, no respect given to him so . . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Snaggerman

Jesus, yiz are a heartless bunch of cnuts!!
    That section of road is lethal for any pedestrian at that hour, let alone a 6yo child. IMO the op should be commended for having the cop on to head two hundred yards past the bedlam at the school gates and then try to get the kid to school as safely as possible.

Not their fault some clown of a town planner had the bright idea to locate 4 schools beside each other on a main road, with virtually no parking spots and an over zealous traffic warden. :mad:

If Duffey wont let ya park there, op, you'll just have to abandon the car around the gates like the others, therefore making the traffic delays worse!

Oh, just for future reference, try not to venture into After Hours any more, they tear newbies to shreds in there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Snaggerman, watch the language please.

All, I've just cleaned a load of crap out of this thread. It may have started in AH, but it doesn't mean it can continue in this manner now that it's in this forum. Keep the posts on topic, and within the charter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Snaggerman

BuffyBot wrote: »
    Snaggerman, watch the language please.

All, I've just cleaned a load of crap out of this thread. It may have started in AH, but it doesn't mean it can continue in this manner now that it's in this forum. Keep the posts on topic, and within the charter.

Fair enough, apologies. Had just finished reading a marathon 150pg post in AH (The one about stinginess) and I suppose I'd had enough of miserable gits.
    Kinda felt the op was been picked on and jumped (leaped?) to their defense.

As ye can see from my post count, I'm not much of a poster, more a lurker;), would only usually get involved when it looks like someones getting the short end of the stick, again, apologies!

Out of curiosity Snaggerman, are you suggesting that Duffys should all but close down their business for an hour in the morning and evening so that they can accomodate parents who wish to use their forecourt/petrol station as a car park while dropping their kids to school? The OP seems to suggest that it is "bad form" from the owners of the garage not to allow parents to block up their forecourt while dropping their kids to school; how would you prefer to see Duffys handle the situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭stackerman

Snaggerman wrote: »

Not their fault some clown of a town planner had the bright idea to locate 4 schools beside each other on a main road, with virtually no parking spots and an over zealous traffic warden. :mad:

Nor is it Duffys fault !

They have, I'm sure, invested a huge amount in their business and should be allowed to run it without their car park being taken over by the parents. I have seen parents parking up, dropping off kids and then standing there talking for ages. Fair ? me thinks not :(

I think Duffy was left with little option, and if you ask me, was reasonable for long enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Jennyfer

Cant blame Duffy's, its got quite bad in there past few weeks especially. I pull in there every day to get the paper on way to pick up my child from school (about 30 mins before he gets out so that I can go on around and park in one of the spaces opposite the Church beside Patrician Primary) and its gettin to the stage that you cant even get in sometimes, cars piled in all over the place. It has to put customers off. Sayin that, the whole area is a disaster at school times, its not realistic for everybody to walk. And to suggest letting a 6 year old walk alone is just plain ridiculous, no matter how close to the school you are. On one hand you're put down for driving to school and clogging the roads yet on the other if anything did happen a child walking to school alone you'd be the worst parent in the world. Fair enough if you live within walking distance and you arent working or can walk on to your job from there but a lot of parents still have to drive on to work, others dont live within walking distance, others dont like sending their 4, 5, 6 or 7 year old off on their own on a bus, and that is their right. And yes we all walked to school as kids and did us no harm, the world of good etc but the roads nowadays are a very different scenario. Oh and if the very sensible woman, who has recently taken to just abandoning her car in the middle of the road and doubling the chaos on Chapel Lane, is reading this, please have a bit more consideration :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Jennyfer wrote: »
    And to suggest letting a 6 year old walk alone is just plain ridiculous, no matter how close to the school you are. On one hand you're put down for driving to school and clogging the roads yet on the other if anything did happen a child walking to school alone you'd be the worst parent in the world.:confused::confused:

I agree with the general gist of your post but nobody suggested that a 6 year old child walks to school on their own..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Jennyfer

vektarman wrote: »
    I agree with the general gist of your post but nobody suggested that a 6 year old child walks to school on their own..

No, I know but thats age of my own child and it bugs me that people think if you need to take the car for work purposes he/she could walk or cycle, or just hop out of the car and run on across to school. If the kids were a bit older and you could pull up beside the school without them having to cross a main road that idea would be feasible. As does happen on Chapel Lane for example. It would be much easier for everybody if that was the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Its the same in my area.

Big fat Mamas escorting there big overweight kids 500 yards to school ..

In the the car!

Blocking the road 3 times a day.

I would not mind if it was pissing with rain, but even in the best sunny days its the same.

Playstation generation kids could really do with the exercise(so could the mums).