Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feel trapped by Social Welfare!

• 19-10-2010 5:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Back story: My son is 3yrs old, my self and his dad split when he was 11mths old. I worked full time until I was made redundant in June 2009, and applied for and was granted lone parents benefit (I had been living back with my parents since the split), I managed to get back into work this year, but only part-time hours available. I need to stress that it's not that I can't or won't work full time, I do want to, but it's so very hard at the moment, I've been sending out 10-20 CVs every week, and have also gone back to college part-time to get the qualification to back up my already vast experience in my field. So as it stands at the moment, I get my wages from the part-time hours I do and a reduced loan parents payment.

I want to move out of my parents and into a place with my current partner. But I don't think I/we could survive if my SW was cut off. I don't want to depend on him, especially when it come to taking care of my child, it was being dependant on someone else that has landed me in such a bad place in my life and I'm not about to walk into that trap again. My sons dad is unemployed, and gives me what he can, but tbh it's a pitance.

I feel totally trapped, my home is not my home, I don't get on with my parents (I'm nearly 30), i feel totally powerless in the raising of my child as they belittle me at every turn. I feel as if I have no say, I say no sweets before dinner, they give him huge bag, as if to rub my nose in it (just a small example).....I'm under their roof, so I have to do what I say. I hand up a decent lump of my minimal wages every month. I'm on the council housing list, but as my parents have a decent enough place they tell me it could take years to get a council place. I've looked in rent allowance, but it seems a minefield.

Can anyone give me some advice? I know that if your hours/days are cut in work then you can sign on for part dole payment for the days you don't work. Would it be possible for me to switch from LP payment to partial jobseekers until I can find full-time work.

I really want to do things by the book, I know there are people out there who wouldn't tell the SW of their change in circumstance, but I don't think that's right and I wouldn't want to be looking over my shoulder all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭thefeatheredcat

I think maybe having a chat with citizen's information may be a help, at least they can make you more aware of your entitlements should you move out. You could even maybe enquire just at an information kiosk at your SW office.

Research their websites but definitely citizen's information would be a good start but definitely have a chat with someone in the know about it.

In the meantime, there are things you can do regarding living with your parents. It's their house so their rules apply with how things get done.
    However, when it comes to your child you do have a right to speak up. They may not realise that they are undermining you and to them they are just wanting to spoil their grandson. I would suggest that you have a discussion on this with them, not to confront them or argue but to even at least check with you first prior to sweets being given. That's in the best interest for your son as he'll only get confused as to when sweets are acceptable and when they're not. Thank them and be appreciative for the generosity and kindness but assert yourself a bit more but also know when to let them spoil your son too. Give in to the sweets but insist that they're for after dinner when the plate is empty or have eaten a decent amount. They're the grandparents, but you are the mother and you have the final say when it comes to your child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Go to your local Citizens Advice. They will give you the best and most impartial advice. Rent allowance is a bit of a minefield but once you know what your circumstances will be they will be able to find out for you from the Community Welfare Officer.

Are you saying that you want to move from Lone Parents to SWA because you may move in with your boyfriend?

ETA: The CWOs in the main are very nice and helpful and if you are intent on doing this above board will be more than happy to tell you what you will be able to get and what you won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Yes, talk to Citizen's Advice.

Howeve,r if you decide to live with a partner, regardless if he is the father of the child or not, your benefits will be reduced.

Look to find a place on your own, and apply then for the benefits available.

By the way, you might be very appreicative of your parents' interest in your child in time to come, so try to control the irritability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭m'lady

Hi op, totally understand the trap that you are in, been there and its very frustrating. To be really honest I can't really offer you much advice other than sit down with your partner and see if you can financially afford to move in together, based on the average rents in the area in which you wish to live.
    I do know if you are working at all, you will not get any rent allowance, nothing. Try and get on with your parents for your sons sake as well as your sanity!
    Also I don't see how the fact that your parents have an adequate house should hold any bearing on your application to the council -your an adult and have a dependent child, I could be told differently though?

I hope things work out for you, it's hard but things will improve:D

m'lady wrote: »
    I do know if you are working at all, you will not get any rent allowance, nothing.

That as far as my knowledge goes is not completely true. I'm not sure how you would be situated if you moved in with a man who is not your child's father but if you were to move into a place with your child on your own and still work part-time you would lose a euro in rent allowance for every euro you earn above a certain amount, so depending on how much you earn, you could lose it all or keep some of it. There is a formula for this which you can obtain from the Community Welfare Office. The same goes for if you were to switch to SWA. The advantage to being on Lone Parent benefit is to do with how much you can earn and still retain some of your benefit AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭dolphin city

i see that you want to move into a place for you and your child AND YOUR CURRENT BOYFRIEND - why should you be involving him in it - can't he look after himself - do you not have enough on your plate with just yourself and your child. Is your current boyfriend working - if so, maybe he can rent a place and you and your child can move in with him and pay him what you can instead of paying your parents.

dont' get me wrong, I'm not having a go. but I think the days of giving out houses to people with extra bedrooms for their current boyfriends/future boyfriends/future children should be abolished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 DubMam

If you work over 19 hrs a week you can be entitled to Family Income Supplement to top up your wages, but this may be affected by the amount ur boyfriend brings in. Rent allowance does not apply to full time workers, i work part time |(hours were reduced last yr from full time) and get fis and rent allowance. Everything will be affected by your boyfirends income so make sure you want to be assessed as a couple ie it's going to be a long term thing, or you will spend years on paperwork applying and reapplying for things

BTW I am on the council list 8 years and nowhere near getting a house from them, but you need to have been assesed as having a housing need by the council to get rent allowance. The thing with rent allowance from my expierence is that you must have been able to pay the rent originally (which i was b4 hours cut back) so not sure about how it would work for you??

Not sure if this was any help but thats what I know from my experience:o

Also i have always been completly above board and straight with SW and council and found them quite helpful, i think they find it refreshing when peope are honest!

For someone not having a go, you are doing very well. I don't see that the OP is looking for the system to support her current boyfriend. She is intending to keep things open and above board. She just wants to be as independent as she can and if it includes the man in her life so what. She is entitled to a personal life even on social welfare.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

She is entitled to a personal life even on social welfare.

Certainly she is entitled to a personal life- however she has to make choices that reflect the stipulations attached to her social welfare income.

If she wants to move in with a new partner- it is a personal choice that she is making- with the implication that her new partner will be expected to provide towards her child.

I respect the fact that the OP is loathe to become dependent on another person, particularly after her experiences with the father of her child- however moving in with someone will always mean an interdependency one way or the other- be it financial or otherwise.

The knux of this issue seems to be how does the OP extricate herself from what is rapidly becoming an unbearable home situation- without loosing her social welfare entitlements.

The short and simple answer is- if she moves in with a new partner- their means are taken into account when accessing whether or not she is entitled to benefits. If she is not willing to accept this- for whatever reason- she has two choices-

1. find new accommodation for herself and accept that she will not qualify for rent allowance for the first 6 months

or

2. put up while she continues to live at home.

With respect of finding accommodation herself- rents have continued to fall, and with the proposed reductions in rent-allowance being floated for the December budget- they are only going to fall further. You might be very surprised at the accommodation on offer and what its going for- if you're not too picky about the area.

The State Benefits forum may be able to offer better advice to the OP here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thanks for the replies, but I think some of you have gotten the wrong impression. I don't want SW to support my current boyfriend, he's perfectly capable of doing that himself, and I certainly don't want SW to give me a house just so I can move him in! In fact, I don't really want any SW aid at all, but with the small few hours I work it's currently the only way I can feed and house my child!

My OH is perfectly happy to support us, but I don't want that, I want to be able to contribute my share....even if it is a little less than equal, I just don't want to be totally dependent on him. The stress of living at home just adds to it, but really, even if everything at home was rosy, at my age and having contribute a lot to society in the past and doing everything in my power to do so again, am I not entitled to want to make a life/family of my own?

What I'm asking is, as my hours are only spread over 3 days, and seeing as I have paid full tax for over 10 years until July of last year, and have worked part time since, can I claim on my stamps for the 2 days I'm not working? Or will I have trouble switching from LP to JS? I'm really hoping this will only be temporary, as I said, I'm doing everything in my powers to get back into full time employment.

Thanks for the advice already given, I will check with citizens advice. But just wondering has anyone been in this position with SW before and have they managed to switch allowances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Thanks for the replies, but I think some of you have gotten the wrong impression. I don't want SW to support my current boyfriend, he's perfectly capable of doing that himself, and I certainly don't want SW to give me a house just so I can move him in! In fact, I don't really want any SW aid at all, but with the small few hours I work it's currently the only way I can feed and house my child!

My OH is perfectly happy to support us, but I don't want that, I want to be able to contribute my share....even if it is a little less than equal, I just don't want to be totally dependent on him. The stress of living at home just adds to it, but really, even if everything at home was rosy, at my age and having contribute a lot to society in the past and doing everything in my power to do so again, am I not entitled to want to make a life/family of my own?

What I'm asking is, as my hours are only spread over 3 days, and seeing as I have paid full tax for over 10 years until July of last year, and have worked part time since, can I claim on my stamps for the 2 days I'm not working? Or will I have trouble switching from LP to JS? I'm really hoping this will only be temporary, as I said, I'm doing everything in my powers to get back into full time employment.

Thanks for the advice already given, I will check with citizens advice. But just wondering has anyone been in this position with SW before and have they managed to switch allowances?
    OP, sorry if I am taking you up the wrong way but do you want the tax payer to assist you when your boyfriend is more than happy to support you and your child? Having the taxpayer supporting you is not supporting yourself in my opinion.

I do appreciate that you do not want to be dependant, especially with your previous history but relationships always involve give and take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭axel rose

Cathy, I think that was a wee bit harsh. The OP was let down very badly and is afraid that if she moves in with her boyfriend she risking having to go back to her parents if it doesnt work out.

From what the OP describes she is doing everything in her power to become financially independant. SHe IS working AND going to college. The SW is doing what it should be doing and helping her out while she does her best to sort herself out.

If every OPFA recipient had her attitude the country would be in a much better position.

You are entitled to claim JSA if you are working part-time for up to 3 days a week- however you must show that you are available for, and actively seeking, employment for the rest of the week. If you are studying, or otherwise not available for any of the rest of the week, you may not qualify. Note: the JSA payment is based on a 6 day week (incl. of Saturdays), and is means tested. For the purpose of means testing- there is considered to be a benefit associated with living with parents (its known as the assessment of benefit and privilege, and as you're over 24- the benefit aspect would only be considered (if you were under 24, your parents income would also be factored into the equation))- and any considered benefit would be reduced by the this amount.

Note: Your lone parents payment is factored as means (as are any savings you may have) and would be deducted from the maximum JSA benefit you would be entitled to at a rate of 1:1 on the lone parent payment, and EUR1 per EUR1000 savings for any savings you may have.

Presuming you qualify for the full rate of lone parents payment (EUR196 per week) alongside a dependent child payment (EUR29.80 per week)- these payments would exceed the half-rate JSA benefit you would be entitled to (for the 3 days out of 6 that are counted).

So- in short- yes, you're entitled to JSA for the days you're not working, however the means tested element of this is exceeded by your current social welfare entitlements, so there would be no additional benefit to you as a result of claiming it.

S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Kathy: I am the tax payer you speak about, as is my boyfriend.

Smccarrick: I know that if I move in with my boyfriend I will give up my LP benefit, as I would be co-habiting an not considered a lone parent any longer. I thought that you could claim Job Seekers benefit and it's not means tested, if I remember correctly, and to qualify you need to have paid a certain amount of PRSI yes?

So if I sign off loan parents, and assuming I've enough PRSI credits, which I'm pretty sure I have, I was only out of work completely for a few months last year and have paid 10 straight years before that and again since end of Jan this year, then as far as I can see I should be entitled to JS benefit for a certain amount of time. But i'm not quite sure how easy it is to sign off one benefit and apply for a new one. I can prove I'm seeking full time work, I keep copies of all applications and reply letters. I don't think my studies will affect it as it's a blended learning course, mostly distance/online/assignment based, with 2 lectures per term.

I guess I need to speak with citizens advice to find out the proper ins and outs of it.

Smccarrick: I know that if I move in with my boyfriend I will give up my LP benefit, as I would be co-habiting an not considered a lone parent any longer. I thought that you could claim Job Seekers benefit and it's not means tested, if I remember correctly, and to qualify you need to have paid a certain amount of PRSI yes?

Correct JSB is not means tested- and you would appear to qualify. Rules include:

1. Working a max of 3 days in the 6 days counted
    2. Have a min of 26 weeks paid PRSI contributions in the relevant tax year, and 26 weeks in the preceding tax year (the relevant tax year for 2010 is 2008 btw)
    3. Min of 104 contributions since you have started working

It may be possible to backdate the claim to when you were made redundant (which might be ideal), but they are getting rather strict on backdating claims at the moment- but it doesn't hurt to ask.

This link will probably help here