Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Having fun on sober night out

• 19-10-2010 5:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭

For the teetotalers among you, how do you make sure you have fun on a night out?

Do you dance, get high on sugar, soak up the atmosphere, watch drunk people?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

There are better things to do sober than hang around with drunks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

dance, laugh at drunks making eejits of themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

"Make sure you have fun?" Why would you not have fun?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

For the losers teetotalers among you, how do you make sure you have fun on a night out?

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

mink_man wrote: »
    dance, laugh at drunks making eejits of themselves.

OH YEAH? Well I laugh at the eejits who dance. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

i rarely drink and i still have a great time, i talk away with the lads, go dancing with them and generally have a great time! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭dilapidating

Your fun comes in the next week when you remind us drunks how stupid we acted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭bowsie010

I bring along a kangaroo....not really,thats lousy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I've gone out a few times and not drank and i have to say i didnt have as much fun. After a while the drunks stop being funny and start annoying you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭johnnyfruitcake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

For the teetotalers among you, how do you make sure you have fun on a night out?

Do you dance, get high on sugar, soak up the atmosphere, watch drunk people?

It's unpossible OP, you can't have fun in Ireland without drinking, they don't allow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭yermanoffthetv

Ive had a few nights on the non-alco beer and it wasnt too bad. If it wasnt so bloody expensive Id probably do it more often. That said, if your out with your buddies on the lock it gets less and less fun as the night goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Last time I did it was about 10 years ago, wasn't to bad in the pub but head was wrecked in the nightclub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Sex, gambling, hard drugs and violence.

A heady mix that's a sure fire guarantee of a superb night out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

There are better things to do sober than hang around with drunks.

so what you do is you never go out with your friends???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Did it a few weeks ago, had been out 3 nights on the trot and my body begged me not to drink anymore. Hanging out in the house before hand was fun, the night club was shíte. You don't realise how obnoxious and stupid people are when you're one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I can have a good time out sober but it really depends on my mood. If I'm in a good mood I'll chat and dance and love watching the drunk people make fools of themselves and I like knowing I'll be the bitch to tell them about it tommorrow.

But if I'm not in a good mood then I'll just get really annoyed at how stupid the people are, if I'm in a bad mood I have no patience for idiotic drunks.

But if I'm up for it I have no reason to drink. I know friends of mine said they can't dance or have a good time if not drunk, but thats not true for me. I just need some sugary drinks to keep me awake enough to stay out late :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I can have a good time out sober but it really depends on my mood. If I'm in a good mood I'll chat and dance and love watching the drunk people make fools of themselves and I like knowing I'll be the bitch to tell them about it tommorrow.

But if I'm not in a good mood then I'll just get really annoyed at how stupid the people are, if I'm in a bad mood I have no patience for idiotic drunks.

But if I'm up for it I have no reason to drink. I know friends of mine said they can't dance or have a good time if not drunk, but thats not true for me. I just need some sugary drinks to keep me awake enough to stay out late :P

Quite the little Princess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Kiera wrote: »
    I've gone out a few times and not drank and i have to say i didnt have as much fun. After a while the drunks stop being funny and start annoying you.

Better to be one of the annoying ones right?:D

Personally i haven't drank in over two years, probably have a **** load more fun out now than i did when i was boozing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Being a non drinker sucks, especially when all your friends want to do is go out to clubs.

The only place I ever go at night is the cinema :o

Quite the little Princess.

Only when I'm in a good mood :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I don't like night clubs at all and thankfully neither do the majority of my friends, so I rarely have to put up with being sober in a place that is too loud to hear yourself think. Have no problem being in pub or whatever and not drinking, prefer it tbh and I tend to have a better time. Don't do anything in particular 'cause I don't think you need to drink to have a fun time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I gave up drinking four months ago and haven't been to a pub since. To be honest i wouldn't trust myself to be able to sit in a pub at this stage and not drink alcohol.

I had a think about this and realised one major factor to me having fun on a sober night out is who I am with. I have a few different groups of friends, and one group all love drinking. They all go out with the intention of getting absolutely plastered, can never remember the night, are very hungover the next day. This is how they have a good time.

Anyway when i'm out with them they put pressure on me to drink, saying things like have a few, you'll be fine. This just puts me in a bad mood! If I'm out with people who aren't drinking, or who aren't out on a mission to get drunk, I tend to have a much better time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

My days of 'big nights out' are kinda gone, so it's more restaurants and such now. Where I'm likely to have no more than one or two glasses of wine.

Wouldn't handle anymore than that, but where I live getting drunk is kinda frowned upon anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Smoking area in the clubs is the only saving grace a club has if your sober even if you don't smoke... otherwise I just couldn't head to clubs if I was sober simple as...

hate them to begin with and being sober makes them 100x worse... most of the time if I can't drink I just find an excuse not to go out because everyone else being drunk and having drunken craic is not very fun if your sober