Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newskool Thread !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Stu wrote: »

Good track. Reminds me of John Cage’s 4.33…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

This crew, i actually find them good, kinda techno rap but bizarre, i am concerned now for my mental health :) The girl is strangely hot!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cegdR0GiJl4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ziz-dUe5tWA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Stu

Good track. Reminds me of John Cage’s 4.33…

LOL Android, i'm failing to see the similarities but John Cage is the man, if you like that kind of thing.

Well the white box he put up had all the hallmarks of Cage's innovative composition. I stared at it for 10 minutes not hearing anything. Wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Newskool? Really?

Yeah, Newskool Bazmo. In a similiar vain to the Oldskool/asylum Thread. Anything from the last 10 years thats half decent. Do you not like the Tunage i've put up? Some belters there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

when does Newskool become oldschool,whats the cutoff point?

Oldskool but News Kooler, well some of the new tunes are cooler than oldskool :D. OK, sorry about that .... Anyway, where was i ..........

Yeah, Anything from the year 2000 onwards wouldn't be classed as Oldskool, the later the better, especially stuff thats fairly new and wouldn't be well known and more underground.

Oldskool but News Kooler, well some of the new tunes are cooler than oldskool :D. OK, sorry about that .... Anyway, where was i ..........

Yeah, Anything from the year 2000 onwards wouldn't be classed as Oldskool, the later the better, especially stuff thats fairly new and wouldn't be well known and more underground.
    Why don't you just call it New Music then? I'm not a fan of stupid labels.

Bazmo, the name of the Thread isn't that important, whats more important is that you put up some good tunes, any genre of dance, it doesn't matter. Oldskool has been covered brilliantly on the Asylum Thread but theres lots of great Dance Music out there that wouldn't get a mention on the Oldskool thread so hopefully the younger ones out there and some of us older folk can keep everyone in the loop as to any decent tunes that have been produced in the last 10 years that should be heard, especially anything underground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

I will be surprised if there isnt a lot of tunes upped to this thread, god knows there has been enough whining about oldskool threads & tunes in the past that would indicate that users want to hear some new stuff.

Heres another one i like,

http://www.discogs.com/Flickman-Sound-Of-Bamboo/release/199204

God knows there has been enough whining about oldskool threads & tunes in the past that would indicate that users want to hear some new stuff.

I'm not whining here but I'm surprised you can all remember enough from back then to fill nearly 11,000 posts on one thread. Were ye not taking enough drugs? Because listening to some of the tunes you've posted you obviously were on something…

Copious amounts seriously, used to take 3 to 4 E's with one or two acid every saturday & sometimes friday or sunday also washed down with plenty of alcohol on the sunday from 1992 to 1997, about 97 - 98 i stopped taking E's & was purley indulging in lots of acid & then about 2000 began in on doing about a half ounce of base speed with a couple of acid over the course of the 48 hour parties & loads of gargle for about 4 or 5 years, it all got blanked about 4 years ago now & the demon drink is my only Vice at present, but oh how i love it:D

You seem to be implying that there is some correlation between drug taking & memory loss, i dont find that to be the case whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

To be fair Is Mise, you're remarkably coherent for someone who lived it back in the day. Most I've met have been scatterbrains to put it mildly.

You seem to be implying that there is some correlation between drug taking & memory loss, i dont find that to be the case whatsoever.
    Nah, I think he was implying that you've sh1t taste in music. :p

jtsuited wrote: »
    To be fair Is Mise, you're remarkably coherent for someone who lived it back in the day. Most I've met have been scatterbrains to put it mildly.
    Really? Most? You've obviously met only a few. Or more to the point, the people that you've met are still going at hit hammer and thongs. I'd have cut my teeth back in the old days and I'd like to think that I'm still with it. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Nah, I think he was implying that you've sh1t taste in music. :p

Really? Most? You've obviously met only a few. Or more to the point, the people that you've met are still going at hit hammer and thongs. I'd have cut my teeth back in the old days and I'd like to think that I'm still with it. :/

Actually yeah, not most. It's just when some fcukin former marrouvit starts telling you about Sides back in the day, and he's all over the gaff mentally, you tend to remember that rather than the sane types who say 'yeah great times, had to give it up before I lost my brain though'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

I took loads of Yokes myself over the year but still have the memory of an Elephant :D, i mean, i have a memory of an Elephant chasing me down the road, or was that a horse, Jaysus i can't remember.

jtsuited wrote: »

Only picking this up now, I would put your ability to retain cognitive ability down to how much you keep your mind sharp & body physically excercised. I have always read factual literature out of pure pleasure but it keeps you thinking & your mind evolving & growing and regularly doing work in the garden (big garden, more landscaping than gardening) also love cycling (not competeitivley, just for pleasure)

My brother who is a good few years older than me into his 40's has been an avid consumer of Gangey for over 25 years now every day, still partakes in the consumption of E's, Speed & Charlie & began when the OLYMPIC first opened back in 1991, loves his gargle to say the least.

I have seen him win the 1 million question on the playstation who wants to be a millionaire twice personally & watched him answer question after question after question on fifteen to one that would put him in the final easily. mastermind, university challenge, all manner of game shows with obscure question putting the participants to shame. He completed the marathon the last two years in a row & goes canoeing. Generally a very sharp & coherent guy unaffected by substances.

If you let your mind & body go i would imagine you will slip cognitivley fairly quickly.

Sitting on the sofa munching KFC while watching X-Factor & East enders i would argue is more likeley to make you an unfit fu.ck & dim your mind faster than substances consumed over years.

You can get very sharp coherent guys that have consumed all of the above & ones that havnt consumed any just as sharp.

Similarly you can get very dim, scatterbrain guys that have consumed all of the above & ones that havnt consumed any just as dim & scatterbrained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 slut1