Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laser Genetics ND3 Long Distance Laser Designator

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

J.R. wrote: »
    i got one last week, and its the canines gonads. i've shot rabbits out to 200 yards with it, no problem once i narrow the beam. its like looking at green daylight, i have yet to meet a fox with it so i'm not sure how they'll react to it.
    it suffers a bit in cold temperatures, but if you wrap a couple of hand warmers around it, it works ok.
    you still need a lamp to scan the fields, but it gives you total control of the light when you're taking the shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

What kind of price and where'd you buy???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Be seated when you find out ;)

€275 in stakelums in thurles. i bought it just to try it out, if i find its not working on foxes i'll sell it on ebay and make my money back that way. but so far i'm happy with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Keep us posted on it's workability on foxes;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

declan1980 wrote: »
    €275 in stakelums in thurles. i bought it just to try it out, if i find its not working on foxes i'll sell it on ebay and make my money back that way. but so far i'm happy with it

Hi Declan. Bring it down here to me and we will try it on some foxes. There are plenty of them around at the moment and i'v bin meaning to get out for some night shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I wonder is there a similiar type out their made by someone else in a different country for half the price. ;)

BTW Is it more than a torch with a green filter??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭DJandDeid

Ya wha?!!!!!!!!!!!! My gun isn't much more than that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

J.R. wrote: »
    Have one on my cz for the last 6 months did not use it yet, I promised a report a while back:o, but due to other commitments was unable to do so, now the evenings are dark I will try it and give a report.

I wonder is there a similiar type out their made by someone else in a different country for half the price. ;)

BTW Is it more than a torch with a green filter??
    it's a hell of a lot more than a torch with a green filter. the light given off from it illuminates the target in more detail than a lamp ever could.
    i can turn the nightforce up to 32x under the nd3 and make out every detail of what i'm looking at. i was reading the number on a bullocks ear tag from 150 yards away last night with it. try doing that under a lamp, or a torch with a green filter:p

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    Hi Declan. Bring it down here to me and we will try it on some foxes. There are plenty of them around at the moment and i'v bin meaning to get out for some night shooting
    i just might take you up on that offer poulo, maybe when the full moon is gone after next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭rmnrgn

A friend has both the ND5 and the ND3. The ND5 is hand held and is truely an impressive bit of kit. Unfortunatly it can't be gun mounted as its too heavy. The ND3 didn't work as it was too cold! Wouldnt be paying 300 euro to have to play around with hand warmers.
    I'd wait until they have the battery/cold weather problem sorted before I'd invest.
    If I was part of a tag team out lamping foxes I'd go 50/50 on buying the ND5 but would probably fall out with my partner over who gets to play with it, amazing piece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 scrapy

that looks like one must have bit of kit for people that love gadgets! is it possable to get one and fit it to a 35 mill tube without making sh*t of your scope?:confused:

well lads just thought i'd let ye know i shot my first fox under the nd3 tonight.
    he was 225 yards out, tried to call him in further but he wasnt budging.
    i had to extend the bipod legs out to 23", to shoot him sitting up because i couldn't see him over the ditch when i was prone. its well worth the money when it'll let you do that

well lads just thought i'd let ye know i shot my first fox under the nd3 tonight.
    he was 225 yards out, tried to call him in further but he wasnt budging.
    i had to extend the bipod legs out to 23", to shoot him sitting up because i couldn't see him over the ditch when i was prone. its well worth the money when it'll let you do that

Well done. Good to hear it works as good as it should. What kind of life are you getting out of the batteries and are they rechargeable.

Good shot on that fox to. Were you able to see the fox clearly or was it just eyes you could see.

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    Well done. Good to hear it works as good as it should. What kind of life are you getting out of the batteries and are they rechargeable.

Good shot on that fox to. Were you able to see the fox clearly or was it just eyes you could see.

thanks, it feels good to have it work when i paid so much for it.
    i don't know about the battery life yet, i haven't had to change it so far, but unfortunately the battery isn't rechargeable, it a lithium ion cr123.
    i could see the fox as clearly as if it was the middle of the day (but green:D), but i had to narrow the beam a bit first
    i shot two vixens tonight in the same field within 5 minutes of each other. it's a bit drizzly tonight so i discovered that you have to keep the lens covered until you're ready to use it, because the rain drops on the lens of the nd3 will show up on the image in the scope

thanks, it feels good to have it work when i paid so much for it.
    i don't know about the battery life yet, i haven't had to change it so far, but unfortunately the battery isn't rechargeable, it a lithium ion cr123.
    i could see the fox as clearly as if it was the middle of the day (but green:D), but i had to narrow the beam a bit first
    i shot two vixens tonight in the same field within 5 minutes of each other. it's a bit drizzly tonight so i discovered that you have to keep the lens covered until you're ready to use it, because the rain drops on the lens of the nd3 will show up on the image in the scope

Great stuff I will have another look at them so. Christmas is coming after all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kfod

when the time comes take a look at these:

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.723
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.722
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.770
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.998

Check the manual that the unit is compatible with rechargeable batteries, some devices are not. Something to do with the rechargeable able to give off a higher something or other - don't ask me to be technical :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭Rosahane

johngalway wrote: »
    Check the manual that the unit is compatible with rechargeable batteries, some devices are not. Something to do with the rechargeable able to give off a higher something or other - don't ask me to be technical :p

Good advice!

Also check that the rechargable battery will actually fit. Some torches will take two 123s but not the equivelent 18650 / LRB-168A rechargable Li ion which is marginally thicker:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

was talking about these earlier in another thread so just wondering how anybody who has one is getting on with them, any pros and cons and how they compare to a lightforce

ormondprop wrote: »
    was talking about these earlier in another thread so just wondering how anybody who has one is getting on with them, any pros and cons and how they compare to a lightforce
    to be honest, i stopped using it when the weater got cold because the light fade to practically nothing if the temperature goes under 8-10 degrees. the pro's for them are that you can lamp solo, and you get a much clearer sight picture at higher magnifications, . the cons are temperature sensitivity, you can't work the light when calling the fox the wat you would with a handheld light, the beam isn't wide enough to track moving foxes quickly, and they do see the light.
    my advice would be to stick to a lightforce. if i was back again thats what i would have spent the money on. i'm putting my nd3 up on ebay, because i wouldn't want to inflict it on anyone on this site by trying to sell it here:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,085 ✭✭✭clivej

to be honest, i stopped using it when the weater got cold because the light fade to practically nothing if the temperature goes under 8-10 degrees. the pro's for them are that you can lamp solo, and you get a much clearer sight picture at higher magnifications, . the cons are temperature sensitivity, you can't work the light when calling the fox the wat you would with a handheld light, the beam isn't wide enough to track moving foxes quickly, and they do see the light.
    my advice would be to stick to a lightforce. if i was back again thats what i would have spent the money on. i'm putting my nd3 up on ebay, because i wouldn't want to inflict it on anyone on this site by trying to sell it here:mad:

Well Declan at least that's an honest answer.
    I still go back to the lightforce after trying many different lamps.

clivej wrote: »
    Well Declan at least that's an honest answer.
    I still go back to the lightforce after trying many different lamps.
    thanks clivej, i said i'd better be honest about it otherwise some other poor eejit might go and get one. i'm just sorry i had to be the one to splash out and try it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,156 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Question on these.How well do they work in our rainy,misty nights??
    Lazers diffuse in that kind of weather and seeing this is a kind of lazer,so I am wondering how they hold up??:confused:
    Thats intresting too that they are affected by temperature...

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Lads, look, the reports from a lot of places are that these yokes aren't the best. Fair enough if you've got the money to spend, I prefer to learn via other peoples mistakes mind. They have released a low temp model in the USA already, but with the price and what it actually s I'd still not be convinced enough to buy one.