Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

yuppie's ?

• 18-10-2010 4:28pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9

hi, so im having a little difficulty setteling into my job, everyone seems to be from d4 and im a bit of a culshee,so im definitely feeling like an outsider. i think if i got some helpful advice on what to do to conform to the yuppie way, my life would be alot easier...anybody have any suggestions!!!!!!!! ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Not a Consumer Issue - moved to Personal Issues

dudara

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Dr. Zeus

Just be yourself OP and stop worrying so much. People from D4 are human also.

IMO people from the country make a huge issue out of the Dublin/country thing. Some kind of weird chip on the shoulder. I think Dublin people are less concerned from about where you are from.

Sorry this might be a little harsh and you sound young but just be yourself. There is nothing worse than people trying to be something they are not.

Oh yeah the worst D4 accent I have ever heard accent is a girl from Sligo:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭PopUp

If you want to get along with the people you work with, try to resist the urge to pack them into little boxes like "D4 heads" "culchies" "nerds" etc etc etc. Yes, everybody does it to a certain extent but it's unhelpful for getting to know real people - nobody actually conforms to those stereotypes and people usually subconsciously pick up on the way you've characterised them and can resent it.

Forget about their accents - listen to what they are actually saying, and judge them on that. (Easier said than done, though, sometimes).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Find out what they watch, watch it, and talk about it to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

I wouldn't consider D4 eejits yuppies. Most professionals I know wouldn't get a job interview if they spoke with a ridiculous (fake) D4 accent - except maybe in marketing!

I think if you're well-spoken and professional you shouldn't have a problem. Acknowledge you're from the country but don't start nonsense like saying "well holy god, i saw big tom over the weekend" unless you want to play up to the stereotype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I'm in an office in Dublin with probably 50:50 city/country people in my dept- am from the country myself (Cork).

We have a banter about each other's flaws (mostly male workplace) and I tend to get most of the slagging from the other country guys :P "Ah Cork what would you be going there for, they still use barter etc..." but it's all good-natured enough and we all have a joke and even (willingly :P) go for pints with each other sometimes.

So in our case when that happens it's a male bonding thing? If it turned into bullying/ singling me out, that would be another matter though

I don't notice anyone's accent so much anymore - think it's more of a 1st impression type thing.

Anyway yup, be yourself, no point in 'faking' an accent to fit in. In fact, that's worse as it's not natural - once heard a Tallaght girl try to pull off a 'D4' accent - horrendous. "Ah yeah, that was made o' cordboard loike"

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

biscuits 1 wrote: »
    i think if i got some helpful advice on what to do to conform to the yuppie way, my life would be alot easier...anybody have any suggestions!!!!!!!! ????

Be yourself would be my advice.
    I don't see why you have to 'conform' to the way other people behave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

??

Most D4 people - or at the very least their parents - were originally from the country.

They're no different to you! Just be yourself, and to be honest, if they don't like it, they're probably not worth knowing anyway. Don't make a big issue out of it, because it isn't really one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 biscuits 1

hi guys, thanks for all the advice, and perhaps i used the wrong word when i said "conform", ive no intention of becoming a different person, but i do really believe that my life would be much easier if i could have more in common with the people i work with. i just happen to be working in d4 and everyone is super trendy, an image haul over would definiately boost my career, but im a bit hopeless,,,,can some please help me, what is a yuppie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Dr. Zeus wrote: »
    IMO people from the country make a huge issue out of the Dublin/country thing. Some kind of weird chip on the shoulder. I think Dublin people are less concerned from about where you are from.

Sorry this might be a little harsh and you sound young but just be yourself. There is nothing worse than people trying to be something they are not.

Spot on, I made the opposite move and I really notice the chip on the shoulder, the suspicion, etc.

Trust me, Dubs are quite open and enjoy a good bit of light hearted banter with our country friends. D4's are'nt really a great example of Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I don't understand the hatred for D4's. I understand that there are some D4's who are a right pain but there are many lovely D4 people. Many people have quite an ignorant view of D4 people.

OP, in answer to your question. I think that you should just act normally around them. You say you are a "culchie", maybe avoid talking about "culchie" thinhs that "yuppies" wouldn't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

biscuits 1 wrote: »
    hi guys, thanks for all the advice, and perhaps i used the wrong word when i said "conform", ive no intention of becoming a different person, but i do really believe that my life would be much easier if i could have more in common with the people i work with. i just happen to be working in d4 and everyone is super trendy, an image haul over would definiately boost my career, but im a bit hopeless,,,,can some please help me, what is a yuppie?

Dear OP, it's ironic that you open the thread asking to be yuppie yet in your latest post, you don't even seem to know what one is. Why would you want to aspire to be something you don't know the meaning of?? I've attached a wikipedia definition below. It's actually a dated term that was used more to describe a social set of people primarily in the US and UK in the 1980s Reagan/Thatcher consumerism era (ie "greed is good") but I guess can also be used to describe Irish Celtic Tiger cubs before our own recession.

The main characteristics are that Yuppies are driven by the acquisition of material wealth and obsession with social status and how they appear. Does that not sound like a hollow and shallow ambition to have? I think the other posters on this thread have already advised that you are better off being yourself and show your true and natural personality which will draw real friends to you a lot quicker than insincere ones. You said life would be easier if you were more in common with all the people you work with. Easier meaning you change and become something you're not just to have something in common?? I don't think that will make you happy or your life easier in the longterm. By all means, identify things that you already have in common with them or open yourself to new interests/hobbies but don't change and conform to things/personality traits that your instincts go against.

You sound young and perhaps a little naive so hopefully the experience of life in the big smoke you are now facing will help you understand more of what is actually important in life and maybe more importantly, understand what isn't important.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yuppie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Trust me OP, you dont want to be heading back down the country every few weeks looking like a yuppy or all the lads in the pub will be giving you an awful slagging altogether. Be happy with who you are, and people will be attracted to you. Although it may seem easier to be similar and conform to the norm, perhaps your uniqueness will outshine the blandness of others around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Based on other posts from the OP, I'm suspecting some troll-like behaviour.

Thread closed for now

dudara