Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

las vegas weddings

• 17-10-2010 7:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5

We are going to vegas next sept to get married. We are wondering what to do for a reception afterwards. any ideas much appreciated thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

Go for dinner in a nice restaurant or contact your hotel if you are looking for a function room. I would recommend bellagio or venentian for a wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

How many people are going with you?

How formal do you want to go on a meal/reception?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 damienp

We are hoping to have about 30 and we would like to keep it semi formal. We are getting married in venetian and have meal there too its after the meal we are wondering what to do. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭shellyb73

damienp wrote: »
    We are going to vegas next sept to get married. We are wondering what to do for a reception afterwards. any ideas much appreciated thanks

Congratulations!
    We got married last Novembere in the Grand Canyon, we stayed at the Bellagio and wow is all I can say. We only told parents we were getting married so was just the 2 of us.. we had our reception in the lake view restaraunt " prime steakhouse " It was lovely, If you would like to ask me anything feel free!!
    Enjoy!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭tinyfox

shellyb73 wrote: »
    Congratulations!
    We got married last Novembere in the Grand Canyon, we stayed at the Bellagio and wow is all I can say. We only told parents we were getting married so was just the 2 of us.. we had our reception in the lake view restaraunt " prime steakhouse " It was lovely, If you would like to ask me anything feel free!!
    Enjoy!!!!

Shellyb73

We recently booked our wedding in Vegas for next year and are planning on having dinner later in the evening in the Bellagio prime steakhouse. I was wondering if you think it would be ok for me to go in my wedding dress. Its a very small wedding of less than 8 people so its not the party size that worries me, more the looks I may get in the wedding gear!!! :D

tinyfox wrote: »
    Shellyb73

We recently booked our wedding in Vegas for next year and are planning on having dinner later in the evening in the Bellagio prime steakhouse. I was wondering if you think it would be ok for me to go in my wedding dress. Its a very small wedding of less than 8 people so its not the party size that worries me, more the looks I may get in the wedding gear!!! :D

Oh yes it'll be fine!!!! You will see a few brides around and you congratulate each other. And then some girls will be saying to you I am tomorrow, I was yesterday etc. If you feel comfortable in your dress then Vegas is definitely the place to wear it to dinner!

Enjoy! Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Shellyb73

I was in the Bellagio myself for a friend's wedding. We saw maybe one or two brides later on that evening in the hotel. It is completely normal over there! So you won't be getting "would ya look at yer wan" looks at all, in fact you will just blend in!

PS
    Prime is meant to be awesome. We couldn't get a reservation at all as it was booked out for the entire week that we were there :( Instead, we went to FIX (another all-american food restaurant in the Bellagio) and the steak there was the best steak me and my boyfriend have EVER had. And if the steak in FIX was that good, I can only imagine how good the steak in Prime would've been! *drooooooooooooooool*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭dollybird2

Stayed in Bellagio for a week recently and there were brides each day of the trip. They wandered around in the restaurant and outside for smokes/pics etc in their dresses and didn't look a bit out of place. I'd love to have been married in Vegas!

tinkerbell wrote: »
    So you won't be getting "would ya look at yer wan" looks at all, in fact you will just blend in!

Oh thank god! That's exactly what I was worried about. As a matter of interest, do you go into the Fontana bar? That's where we're planning on going after the meal for some dancing without it being nightclub dancing

No we didn't - is it in the Bellagio? Our friends had booked one of the big suites in the hotel for the evening and we had cake and drinks back there after the meal rather than going to a bar.

But seriously - don't worry about looking odd in a wedding dress! In Vegas, there are tons of girls who have gotten married that day, walking around in their dresses. It's cool! It's completely normal. So it doesn't matter where you go, you ain't gonna stick out like a sore thumb!

tinkerbell wrote: »
    No we didn't - is it in the Bellagio? Our friends had booked one of the big suites in the hotel for the evening and we had cake and drinks back there after the meal rather than going to a bar.

But seriously - don't worry about looking odd in a wedding dress! In Vegas, there are tons of girls who have gotten married that day, walking around in their dresses. It's cool! It's completely normal. So it doesn't matter where you go, you ain't gonna stick out like a sore thumb!

It's in the Bellagio, near the restaurant I think. I was just wondering if anyone had been to get some opinions. I've heard it's quite an old school vegas lounge bar with live music and dancing which is what i'm looking for after the meal and was hoping someone had been to confirm.

As a guest, did you enjoy the vegas wedding experience?

To be honest, at the time when we went I was of the opinion that whenever I would get married I wanted a big white dress with a big wedding day in a big church with tons of people at it, the whole traditional Irish experience.

Because of that, I remember thinking at the time "jees, this is not my cup of tea" - the ceremony was over really quick, and it was just so strange to me because all I'd been used to was the big catholic ceremony, I had never been to a civil ceremony before.

However, now I have a completely different attitude to weddings! I don't want any of that traditional stuff - no big white dress, no church - want it to be a really small intimate wedding with no fuss, and have a civil ceremony. So now I LOVE the idea of a Vegas wedding! I think it's wonderful. I really do, because that to me now would be perfect. We went to the wedding in the Bellagio, but the meal wasn't in PRIME - PRIME now to me would be the ultimate place to have your wedding dinner! Ohhh *drool*

So it just shows you how attitudes can really change. You may have some people who don't like the idea of it because they are big traditional heads, or you'll have people who love the idea of civil ceremonies. Look at me - I went from saying "jees I'd never get married here!" to actually wanting to! But yah, depends on the person. Vegas is amazing - I would go back now if I could!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 AineK77

Hey everyone - I'm hoping to nip off in the next two weeks to get hitched in Vegas is this possible do you think as in to just arrive in Vegas and have it all sorted with the hotel or in a chapel?? Did ye get wedding rings before you went or over there? What about shopping in case I need to pick up a dress very lax about all this but just don't want the fuss of a big wedding so like the idea of just doing it as nike would suggest - was on to trailfinders and they were suggesting grand canyon as an option but I really just want the easiest most straight forward option - book flights, hotel and sort the rest out there - am I being realistic??

Yep. No bother at all in Vegas.

Only thing you will need to organise asap is your marriage licence - you need to go to the courthouse/registry office iirc no less than 24 hours before you want to get married and get that.

Once you have that you can get married anywhere anytime. The GC is an option...it will be expensive. So will any of the big hotels.

But there are tonnes of small chapels or motels with chapels which are much cheaper - and pretty much the same product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

damienp wrote: »

Am going to be Devil's advocate here. Just a question, have you been to Vegas before? Merely asking so you'll both know what to expect....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 agath

Yea, bellagio is fab - does depend on your budget and how 'perfect' you want it.
    If you just want to chill and go with the flow it'll be great - if you need everything 'just right' is may be stress but a lovely idea to do it over there. Weddings in Ireland are too much hassle I think and are all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭john_cappa

If you wanted to "renew" your Irish vows in Vegas do you need anything other than ID and your marriage cert from Ireland?