Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Austria 70.3

• 17-10-2010 5:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭

So it looks like I am in for this one, May 22nd 2011.

Has anybody on here been before? I have a hotel provisionally lined up and the plan is to fly to Vienna on Friday(20th), rent a car and drive over(80km).

So, anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

May be doing it myself. Not sure yet about dates. Probably look to fly out on the Thursday to get settled. Not sure about how long i'll stay over there. Does anyone know if there is anything to see there or would i be best heading to Vienna after the race for a few days? It seems a small enough spot with limited accomodation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Thats my plan.. Fri,Sat and Sun in St Polten and then maybe a few days in Vienna. St Polten doesn't seem very big so I am guessing there is not much going on apart from the race.

I recieved my Christmas Present in the post last week.... not too sure what it is tho, some kind of documents organiser.

got it too. something else isnt it :/

still though nice to know we're appreciated. im still waiting on my Galway 70.3 one. Must be lost in the post.

gf rang me in work and all to say something arrived, I told her to open it and tell me what it was.. "eh, some kind of folder... or cd holder...something"

But yeah, anything for nothing(or €200) is good.

You get accomodation sorted? Im thinking of caving in and using the Nirvana package guys who will look after transfers to/from airport, race HQ, bike tour, accomodation, early brekkie etc. Now just looking at flying Thursday to Monday with no Vienna (another holiday on the cards so wont have funds for Vienna)

Bambaata wrote: »
    Thursday to Monday with no Vienna (another holiday on the cards so wont have funds for Vienna)

Haha, snap. Thursday looks to be cheapest to fly out. Must look at the nirvana package.. plan was to rent a car and stay cheap but I'm not sure now.

It seems the Nirvana group have block booked pretty much all the available decent accomodation. Ive sent a few enquiries around and all came back saying they are full. Ive fired off a mil to Nirvana and am awaiting a response, herself is coming too so i wanted to see if they can do anything on her price as she wont need the bike tour etc but would need some transfers. Gonna book as soon as they reply. Theres a few Limerick Tri people going and i believe they are staying at Stadthotel Hausereck

I looked at the price for Nirvana..:eek:, I was doubling the price also but of course my oh won't need all the extras.

For now I have a booking in cleverhotel.at, it looks cheap and basic... but it is cheap and 8km from race start (will be renting a car).

Have you booked your flight yet? Aerlingus have told me that the return flight on the Monday has its bike quota full! They will need a list of people to open more slots!! Ive got an email address to send off an enquiry to. Ive booked the flight but not the bike yet as i want to be sure i can get it home!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

Have you booked your flight yet? Aerlingus have told me that the return flight on the Monday has its bike quota full! They will need a list of people to open more slots!! Ive got an email address to send off an enquiry to. Ive booked the flight but not the bike yet as i want to be sure i can get it home!!

Maybe 'piggyback' the bikes or other aspects of the trip with the Limerick crew. They're couriering all their bikes out.

http://ncollins.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=543

Did you phone Aer Lingus? There seems to be no option online to book a bike with your tickets. May well end up in Bratislava..

Courier idea sounds good, if Limerick Tri would allow it.

yeah you have to call Aer Lingus to book a bike. Initially i was told no more bikes permitted, i challenged her saying i went to Budapest with 20 to 30 people bringing bikes and it wasnt an issue and that i understodd the airline policy was to open more slots should demand be strong enough. She went off and came back to confirm this. She then told me to mail ccc@aerlingus.ie asking about more bike slots. she said i'd hear back shortly what the situation is.

no luck with Aerlingus so far :-( Also had to go with Nirvana and they're crazy accomodation prices!! I wasnt getting much luck elsewhere and got no replies from loads of places

I spoke with the duty manager today. Ive been told that extra bike slots wont be likely made available until about a week out!! When they get a better indication of what other luggage is booked. I think it might be time to try other ways!

I have a plan... it mainly involves not flying into Austria... still haven't been in the Czech Republic in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Best of luck on Sunday lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭El Director

Good luck lads, looking forward to the race reports!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

Hey sorry, i know this is a little off topic...but how much extra do flights cost if you want to bring a bike with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

Best of luck this weekend lads!

@busyliving - with aerlingus its 40euro each way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

kingQuez wrote: »
    Best of luck this weekend lads!

@busyliving - with aerlingus its 40euro each way.

Cheers mate, that doesn't seem too expensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Best of luck lads, have a good race.

cheers all. nice day of nothing today (travel day) and just about to head to bed early. warm here, mid to high 20s but theres rain forecast unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Best of luck lads. Give em hell.

The weather is crazy. We drove down from Prague today. 28 and sunny in Prague bit hit a few monsoon type downpours on route, temp dropped down to 12 with the rain and then back up to mid 20s afterwards.

Here's a nice long winded report for ye, fair play to you if you get through it all! Twas written in detail for someone but i couldn't be bothered slimming it down, heaven forbid i should every do a long distance race :D

Pre-race
    Good few days beforehand. HR was way up which i put down to heat/nerves/excitement. Got a nice swim in Friday and a 30min easy run on the course (http://connect.garmin.com/activity/86767662 http://connect.garmin.com/activity/86827391). Saturday i did the bike race prep http://connect.garmin.com/activity/86957523 and run off http://connect.garmin.com/activity/86957529 and HR was slightly better. Swam lake 2 with mloc that evening, beautiful swim, felt great and was very excited. We measured the lake 2 almost identically (me 1.05k, mloc 1.03) so we thought swim might actually be slightly long. We discussed things to sight off. I then almost lost my Garmin in the water!! Luckily mloc found it when we went back in. I had gotten out of the suit in the water to cool the legs but dropped the Garmin in doing so!

Race-day
    Spelt well from 22:00 and woke for 04:00. Drank water (about a pint), showered and went for brekkie at 04:35 and the hotel made me my porridge. I also had two slices of bread with jam and some coffee. Taxi picked us up at 05:15 and headed for race venue. Disaster start. Spent too long in transition checking I'd everything in order in the bags as it was something new and I couldn't help but think i'd something missing. As it turns out I didn't. Then queued for 30 mins for the jacks (snipped some details here :P ) Had to go straight to swim start with Garmin and no warmup and on the way over I lost Leisha. We got mixed up with where we said we'd meet.

Swim 00:32:43 - http://connect.garmin.com/activity/87254287
    With 60 seconds to go I still hadn't found Leisha in the crowds and had bags in hand. Was about to chuck them in the ditch when I found her with the 10 second count going. Legged to the water and just got to the bank as the swim started so I had to swim from the back through everyone! Not so ideal. First 400 hence were slow and bumpy. Almost sure someone tried to open my suit! I was happy how I dealt with it though. I put the less that ideal start out of mind and got on with it. Sighting was hard so I followed the pack. Sun was low at 7am which I’d not taken into account and hence I couldn’t spot the exit buoy until I got close. Don’t think I swam much off course though. Saw 16mins at about the exit on my watch so wasn’t too happy but knew I needed to get on with it and swim better in lake 2. Lake 1 is advertised as 900m but I felt it long. The swim includes a 350/400m jog between lakes and I took it easy here making sure I didn't slip. Second lake was better. I had moved well up and was now comfy but I still think I swam this lake quicker in the swim the day before. Sighting was still difficult. I got on some feet in this lake for a short time but some were zig zagging so I left them. I wasn't kicking much if at all though as I was saving the legs for later. Seemed like i'd a slow t1 but looking at times seems I didn't. Passed someone i know as a decent swimmer in t1 so was happy enough swim was ok as if would have had at least 30-60 seconds on me with the drama earlier so that boosted confidence. I knew 4.30 was an outside chance now though as I needed a good swim but again I didn't let it bother me. I hit the lap button when exiting with the bike, I wasn’t sure I hit it right and in doing so I sent it to the run by accident so I went on and sorted the multisport bike to start at 1km on the speedo so id know where I was. This worked fine.

Bike 02:31:29 – Some of the run mode part - http://connect.garmin.com/activity/87254292
    Rest of bike - http://connect.garmin.com/activity/87254322

Out onto bike hr was fine. Bang on where I wanted it. Got onto drinking water at 5mins, high5 at 10mins, gel at 15mins and followed nutrition to the exact plan for the remainder of the bike. Onto the 18k autobhan I felt comfortable. I passed a few immediately and didn't look to stay with them as they were quite slow. There seemed to be a headwind here as I wasn’t hitting 50+ at an easy HR which I’d read happens. Instead I was at about 40 and 140HR and I copped the passing air was a bit noisy. Id read this would mean a long day as it was very open and time needs to be banked on this section. One guy then came past and I decided to use him to pace off legally, note increase in hr at 8:50. Lost him around 15/18mins as we passed groups and I didn't want to sprint as I felt RPE was a little high. Another came past and this time I stuck with him. We passed more groups and then I got stuck behind some who were drafting as we came off the autobahn. The ref was there so I was careful and had to brake. When we got some clear road I pushed past them at about 30mins. Some came with me and then we approached the first climb. I wasn’t sure of the start of this first proper climb and hence actually passed some on the climb. This seemed to motivate them to push harder. Some of them thus sprinted up the climb, I didn’t let it faze me that I was losing contact and I calmed down a bit after initially chasing. At the top there were only 2 or 3 of us. This descent was very hairy! I almost ended my day at a very bad hairpin. I was doing high 60s when I noticed a marshal at a corner with arrows on the steel fence type road things. I jammed on as hard I could and just about made it. The turns on this descent were fairly blind but I knew that was the hairpin people spoke of so I knew others were fine. I think I took this descent well as I couldn’t see the 2 or 3 behind by the bottom and I caught most of the group that had pushed the climb harder than I’d have liked. I moved up towards the top of this group. I sat about 4 back in a group of about 10. We went through some villages and luckily everyone raced fairly legally. There was some tightening up in the villages as some guys slowed so I then moved up more so I couldn’t be done for drafting. The group shrunk a bit and as we got onto the flattish sections. I moved to 2nd in line on this section with at least 7 or 8 behind. Luckily everyone seemed happy to stay where they were and the front guy was making what seemed to me to be decent pace. I really enjoyed this legal pack cycling, I was surprised that there wasn’t drafting going on and everyone with us that I could see was cycling fair. We then came to the proper climb, Gansback. I wasn’t quite sure where it started. The first 2k or so were fine, not steep at all but then it started climbing proper! Some guys flew past, 1 got on my wheel and stayed for a while but I managed to lose him. Then I noticed the penalty box with 1 or 2 that id seen drafting in it so I was happy to see justice being served. They also positioned this on Gansback which was perfect! The climb really kicked towards the top. I felt like i needed some extra water as it was getting hot so grabbed a bottle at the top, took a swig and threw it away. I only wanted 50mls so I would make sure I had enough of my own to get to the finish. There was more climbing after Gansback which I didn’t expect and I then followed the wheel of a guy who seemed to be going well. We passed a female pro here so I felt ok. I noted HR had been down for the majority of the bike but I didn’t feel good in increasing it much. The descent was good and fast. Now just two of us I used the guy infront to pace off. We passed some small groups and finally went over the last short climb which felt harder than Gansback. With 5 or 6k to go I stopped fluids (02:20). In all I drank 750-770 water, 700 high5.

Run 01:27:15 Long! – http://connect.garmin.com/activity/87254335

Had two massive pisses on the run so obviously drank too much but it was roasting. I had spare berry and citrus gel on the bike which I transferred to my pockets. Almost forgot a planned berry gel in t2 but took the spare berry isogel just when I left for run Coming out I felt great. I noticed pace was fast and I eased a bit but into km 2 and I still felt good. I thought pace was then a bit high so I made myself ease again and was feeling great. Passed loads and wasn’t passed myself for ages (2 pros and about 1 other that i can recall). I knew I was on for a good run and while I felt comfy at 145-150HR I found it hard to raise above this. There were loads of aid stations and I grabbed water sponges at every chance, putting two or three down the tri top (1 on my back and 1 or 2 on the front). I squeezed these every so often to keep cool as it was hot (about 30C), and discarded them after cleaning my face of salt etc when they dried out. I only felt like I was getting hot when id be coming to another aid station. I was mindful though that taking fluids was hard, I felt crampy/stitchy in the lower stomach/intestines area when id try take water on so I just got sips in rather than anything of note. I grabbed a coke by accident at one stage and chucked it as soon as I put it to the lips. I went through 5 k in low 19mins, 10k in about 39:30. I expected pace to slow slightly in the heat, especially seeing as i wasnt taking much fluid but I kept it fast enough. I continued passing loads and had gels at 20mins (berry isogel), 40mins (citrus caffeine isogel) and a little earlier than planned at 57mins (citrus again) when I knew I wasn’t going to be out much longer. The citrus I found hard enough on the stomach and was feeling crampy/stitchy in the same area when id take them on. Poor competitors behind got some gas which relieved these crampy/stitchy feelings. I knew at about 16k that bringing HR to 160 wasn’t easy and anytime I tried to raise HR/pace I got worried about stitching so I didn’t push it too far. I felt flat out though in the last 2k eventhough HR didn’t increase much and was gutted to find the course long at about 21.5k! One guy who had come past me at about 17k was within 15m with 2k to go and I forced myself to get to within 5m. He looked strong and I didn’t think I could take him but I said I’d give it a go. Somehow I then got on his shoulder and was readying myself to a sprint. I didn’t think I had one in me so with 400m to go I passed him and got 5m on him, coming up the finishing shoot I then realized he had another lap to go so I cruised home. 4:42 on the clock and I was a little disappointed. I felt very weak, started limping immediately and wanted to collapse on the ground feeling very cold in 30C sun so I knew id pushed myself somewhat. Only 10mins later when with Leisha did I realize I had to take 5 mins off the time! So finished in 04:37:51, 11th in AG, 7th pro woman :P and 77th of about 2000 odd (46th excluding the pros). Time may have been out but it was a hot, tough day and a longer course than last yr

Was in bits that night after dinner with flu like feelings. Skin roasting, but feeling freezing, sweating and constantly getting hot then freezing again. Ive now also got Cellulitis on my right foot. I had had two blisters two weeks back which i thought had healed. I woke race morning to find the one on the big toe stinging like hell so compeeded it up. May have been carrying an infection which flared up and am now on antibiotics after a trip to smithfield clinic today. Wont be racing for a few weeks as a result as i may need an IV to get it to clear, will know tomorrow after a trip to Mater hospital! So no Athy for me Sunday week :mad:

Overall feelings are that I am happy with it. Made a balls of the start. Swam ok considering, bike I undercooked, run I stormed as I had undercooked the bike. Happy to run 4:03 pace for the half marathon but I know the bike was undercooked which helped this.

Race itself id strongly recommend. This was my first event longer than an olympic so i cant really compare but the organisation and support around the race are the best ive come across. Id do it again next year only id like to see some other part of the world instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

Here's a nice long winded report for ye...

Thanks for taking the time to post that, was a good read :)

Oh and well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭El Director

That was great reading and I appreciate the detailed report (I may be talking to you again when I am planning next year!)

Very well done, a storming performance. This was your first attempt at this distance so you had to be cautious on the bike-the alternative could have left you in a world of pain on the run. Speaking of which.....what a great run split! I'd be so proud of that as a stand alone HM.

Thanks again Bambaata and well done, you did yourself and country indeed proud :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Hey Bambaata, thank for the skimpy little report, surely you could have thrown some stats in there somewhere ;)

Well done, that was a serious result. Quick question for you. You managed to map the swim nicely with your 310xt. Was it on your wrist? How do you find swimming with it?

cheers all.

It was on the wrist with open water swim mode on. it fixes distance once uploaded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Well done Bambaata enjoyed reading the report and super time to get around in.

Arrived on Thursday evening after driving from Prague. Got checked in and started getting my bike together. This is when I realised 1, I left a cassette spacer at home and 2, my wheel cover had a brake leaver sized hole in it.

Friday I went to register and to pick up a few things. Got a spacer at the bike service stand, race belt and bento box having forgotten both. Back to the hotel and finished putting the bike together. I went out for my 45 easy, Hr was high... Mid to high 150s for easy wattage.. Had to be the heat. After this I met Bambaata and we swam half of the first lake... I say half but I clocked it at 800m. Ran that evening and again Hr was crazy.

Got out on saturday around 11 for my brick, hr a little lower on the bike and on the run but still too high for wattage/pace. Headed to check in my bike, watch the briefing and swim after this. Met Bambaata again and we swam the second lake, clocked it bang on at 1000m.

Race day:

Up at 4.15 and had breakfast, brownbread and jam with a protien shake. No nervous dump yet... Getting a little worried. At transition for 5.30, left gels on the bike... Dried it off after the previous days downpour. Pt headunit on, garmin on and ready to go... No faffing. Check my two bags, bikes socks were soaked but I had brought spares. Swapped them. Sat at the second lake and relaxed for 10-15 mins before heading to the start. Managed to go to the toilet there, one less thing to worry about. It's now 6.30 after queing and time to get my suit on. Take my time and get it on. watch to pros and make my way down to the start. Position myself in the centre and not quite midway back. 10,9,8,7,6,5... I start swimming.

Swim:

First bouy is easy to spot and I keep a good line, second one is the same. I am making my way through the crowd here and feel good. Third bouy not easy to sight... Sun is low and I have to follow the crowd, half way I can now see it and keep pretty straight, final bouy again hard with the glare but I aim for the opening. Out of the water, glance back... plenty of yellow hats still out there. The run to lake 2 was painful, tarmac with some pebbles.. Had hoped it would be all mats. I am looking forward to hitting the water again. Down the bank into the water and I catch my right big toe and bend it back on the mat I think... Hurts like hell. Throw myself into the water and keep going... Toe feels numb (it still hurts typing this now). Much easier to sight in this lake and the water feels faster. Not much to note here, I get to the end and turn knowing there is only 300m to go and I was over the leg that would have been my biggest fear 6 months ago. Claire is standing at the swim exit and tells me I swam 37, I was a little dissapointed... Crazy I know because my goal was always sub 38. I think the swim is long, more like 2000m and that does not take in the 300m run so looking back it wasn't bad.

T1:

Grab my bag and look in... This isn't my bag. Put it back and grab my own. In to the tent, was not expecting it to be so civilized. Get my suit off, had it down to my waist already. Belt on, glasses, helmet... Gels into my pockets. Sit down and get socks and shoes on, hand my bag to a helper and hobble off in my bike shoes. It is a long way to my bike. Finally get it and out to the mount line.

Bike:

On the bike now, head down and watching wattage now... Don't go crazy. Get to the autobahn and it's a headwind... Bah. Hold my wattage along here in a pace line and average just under 35... Had hoped to be closer to 40. One of the setanta lads passes me and shouts 'well colm, nice bike'. His was nicer :) off the autobahn now and onto the first hill, pretty slow up this and grinding a bit, few false descents and then the real one. Toss my water bottle and grab a new one, mine was half full but it's gonna get hot. Almost **** myself into the hairpin bend. Now down onto the river, this road is great... Smoother than the autobahn maybe. I am making good time here holding 35km/h and I let my foot of the gas a bit... Average wattage for this 30km or so is about 3-5 watts under what it should be. 1.50 in and I hit the turn off for gansbach, I'm ahead of time. Then it starts. The first couple of km are okay, but it kicks after this and I am left grinding along at 40-50rpm above wattage by 20-30... I have no idea how long it took to get up it, 30minutes plus anyway. Grab more water at the top and get a little worried, I've not pissed since warming up my wetsuit. My right hip is now feeling a little tight. It's all pretty much downhill from here to the end and my wattage is low... I was spinning out a good bit at 100 watts or less. I know 3 hours is gone now.

T2:

Feet out of my shoes and garmin in my pocket with a few hundred metres to go. Rack my bike, grab the last gel from my bento box and get my run bag. Changed socks, sunglasses and stick my visor on. Start the garmin on my way out.

Run:

Legs feel okay now, pace is on target and hr is okay. The toe i stubbed hurts but i can live with it. Maybe I can still hit my run target. It's hot, my plan for aid stations is to grab 2 sponges... One down the front of my suit and a spare under my shoulder strap. This works pretty well and the heat seems okay. It's about 29-30degrees at this stage. Take a cup of water at each station and drink a mouthful. 2km in and pace begins to slip... It's okay, if I can hold 5.15s a 1.50 should still be on... The course is 500m short anyway. 6km in i need to piss, i stop and go in my suit... I had not consider how wet my shoe would get... It dried out quick enough Get through the first lap and spot Claire on my way out followed by Bambaata and Leisha who give me a shout... This picks me up for a few minutes. The rest is a bit of a blur, I am pretty sure I'm dehydrated at this stage, pace is down and every step hurts. My right calf/ankle is niggley and the heat is tough going. 3rd gel at 15km and it was tough to get down. I walked 2 aid stations trying to get more water in. At around 18km I feel a bit chilly, there is a slight breeze but it's 30 degrees... Didn't take a sponge for the last 2 stations because of this. At this stage I was running calculations in my head... 6min/k and I can still get sub 2 and sub 6... When I got to the 20km marker I had 1.52 on my watch... When I got to 21 and hadn't hit the track yet I knew it was gonna be long and not short. Into the finishers area and over the line... Clock says 5.56 but I know to knock 5 mins off this. At this stage I was just happy to get home under 6 but dissapointed to have missed 5.30 by so much. Dazed and confused I want to get out of here as quickly as possible... It's packed and must be 35 degrees with all the people in the pen. I feel like getting sick or fainting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Just catching up on the reports now lads. Good reading. Well done to you both. Hope your respective foot injuries have cleared up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Just reading these reports now.

Well done to you both. Can't have been to easy in that heat - and I thought Barcelona was bad in 18 to 20 degC.