Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance On A 1.4 Polo

• 16-10-2010 4:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭

Hey Guys,

I'm thinking of getting a 00 1.4 Polo, I'm just waiting to ring up the insurance on Monday to see what it will cost me,

I'm a 17 (nearly 18) year old male, fully qualified and have been a named driver on my mums license for a couple of months.

I did a drivers package with Aviva which included 10 lessons from them before i did my test which gives me an additional 10% off

I haven't had a chance to call up about insurance as they're closed and will be trying first thing on monday, but has anyone any rough ideas as to what it will cost,

I know it wont be nice, but polo's are usually cheaper to ensure than other cars, I'm just concerned that because this is a 1.4 and not the 1.0 model that I could get screwed

Anyone have an idea or prices or are currently insured with similar engine size and experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I doubt there would be much of a difference between the 1.0 and 1.4 tbh. At a complete guess, i would say somewhere between 1500 and 2000. Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭robobobo

Ye I hope you're right,

I heard that Polo's in general are cheaper to ensure, especially compared to Golf's

I'm still shell shocked, but i've just been quoted €5,500 by Aviva!

What's going on there! And we asked about a 1.0 and they said €4700!

Surely they're having a laugh! That's 3 times what the car is worth, I know guys how haven't been qualified as along as I have, have 1.3s and 1.4 in newer cars and aren't even breaking 2000 for their insurance, and that's there own policys

Something must be wrong here

robobobo wrote: »

Surely they're having a laugh! That's 3 times what the car is worth, I know guys how haven't been qualified as along as I have, have 1.3s and 1.4 in newer cars and aren't even breaking 2000 for their insurance, and that's there own policys

How old are they ? As you are not yet 18 you can't be "qualified" too long really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,696 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I'm still shell shocked, but i've just been quoted €5,500 by Aviva!

What's going on there! And we asked about a 1.0 and they said €4700!

Aviva are a joke with regards young drivers. I did that course you did, the whole 10% off thing and everything...passed my test when I was 23 and they wouldn't insure me on a 1.7 diesel Astra. Try Quinn or someone like that. Or Britton's.

They are all 17 aswell,but I did my test a couple of months before them

Have a peak at their insurance discs :)
    How much do you reckon is reasonable out of interest ? Back in 1999 I paid IR£1588 at 18 on a provisional on a 1990 Rover 414si.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mike tv . sports

that's crazy altogether,

take an hour or so some afternoon and just get as many quote as you can. You'd be surprised the difference from one company to the next, if can be a few hundred

I found no nonsense the cheapest when i was getting insured, I had been a named driver for a few years tho so that helped

RoverJames wrote: »
    Have a peak at their insurance discs :)
    How much do you reckon is reasonable out of interest ? Back in 1999 I paid IR£1588 at 18 on a provisional on a 1990 Rover 414si.

I was thinking it would come in around 1600 - 1800 wasn't thinking 3 times the value of the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

The value of the car is largely irrelevant for someone in your bracket. They're not worried about theft, or what it would cost to reimburse you in the event of a crash.

I was thinking it would come in around 1600 - 1800 wasn't thinking 3 times the value of the car

Look at it from their point of view though, you smack into the back of someone you'd easily do €5000 worth of damage, then decide to jack in driving for a few years when your premium goes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

RoverJames wrote: »
    Look at it from their point of view though, you smack into the back of someone you'd easily do €5000 worth of damage

That's not the problem, the problem is the 3rd party claims for tens/hundreds of thousands for everything from whiplash up to being paralyzed: loss of lifetime earnings, nursing care etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Jaysus, and I thought 1600 for my own first policy was harsh... tough one mate :( Can you not go on as a named driver for a while?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭bladespin

Try Quinn, historically they're more friendly to younger drivers, also you might be better off waiting until you are 18, €5k is shocking aritey but it'll be expensive, my first insurance was €2400 TPFT on my first car (new Fiat Punto), I was 27 though. TBH I changed to a 3.0 Isuszu Trooper a year later and it was much cheaper.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

That's not the problem, the problem is the 3rd party claims for tens/hundreds of thousands for everything from whiplash up to being paralyzed: loss of lifetime earnings, nursing care etc. etc.

The €5000 was a best case really :)

I'm no longer looking at the 1.4 polo anymore, now its a 1.2 fiat punto. I called up Quinn and they told me 2500 for my own policy, which is half the price but still is crazy money,

Can anyone tell me a way to get it for less or what are you paying in a similar situation ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

I'm no longer looking at the 1.4 polo anymore, now its a 1.2 fiat punto. I called up Quinn and they told me 2500 for my own policy, which is half the price but still is crazy money,

Can anyone tell me a way to get it for less or what are you paying in a similar situation ?

I would have expected about 2500 - you won't really get it for less at your age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Its been said a million times on here already but phone book out, ring every insurance company/broker in it and see who comes back with the best quote. You may surprise yourself; I made more than 20 phone calls when looking to insure my car and the very last broker I called quoted me less than half the previous best price I had been given.

Its the only way youll get a decent quote.

I would have expected about 2500 - you won't really get it for less at your age.

And this is spot on. First policy at your age I would expect you to be paying €2500 at the very least for fully comp. It will drop quite a bit in the next couple of years as you gain more experience and get older, provided you keep your nose clean, dont get points and keep building up your no claims bonus.

Well it seems to be higher than everyone else I know, who have bigger cars, bigger engines and newer cars....

How are young people ever going to be able to build up there no claims bonus and stuff if we cant afford to get out insurance in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Well it seems to be higher than everyone else I know, who have bigger cars, bigger engines and newer cars

Have you asked them where they got their insurance? Are you certain that they are insured entirely in their own name, and not as some sort of named driver dodge (which I wouldn't recommend).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Well it seems to be higher than everyone else I know, who have bigger cars, bigger engines and newer cars....

How are young people ever going to be able to build up there no claims bonus and stuff if we cant afford to get out insurance in the first place?

Are you comparing like with like?
    I.E. are they insured TPF&T and you're getting quoted fully comp?
    At 17 i'd be surprised if they were getting fully comp for less than 2/3k

If your friends are the same age as you with similar or less exprience and they are driving bigger cars with bigger engines then they are either a) telling you porky pies about the price of their insurance, b) third party only insurance, or c) driving as a named driver on mommy or daddys policy. Id be shocked if there is any 17 year old male driving anything remotely decent sized and getting insurance for less than two and a half grand.