Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warning Red Gatso Vans in Dundalk Area

• 14-10-2010 3:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭

A warning to people using the M1 near the border and Dundalk local roads.
    The gardai seem to be targeting this area lot lately, the last six months from personal experience. Three known red Ford transit vans with blacked out windows are in operation at Ravensdale just before the old border crossing, at the Ballyscanlon roundabout and near the old Xerox factory entrance. I agree with speed limit enforcement, but three garda vans in one town and none along the next 80km of the states most used motorway, the M1 from Dundalk to Santry is just stupid! Anyway just a warning! Safe driving!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭NFD100

Have they any warnings on them or any signs up? If not, that is very unfair. Should be a speed camera sign as well as the speed limit on a sign, if the road is monitored.

BTW, I completely agree with speed cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

NFD100 wrote: »

i didn't know they had the capability to formn opinions :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Have they any warnings on them or any signs up?

They often have signs like to tell you what you can do.
    limit.jpg

Do you think they need a "Miscreants beware" as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

jock101 wrote: »
    A warning to people using the M1 near the border and Dundalk local roads.
    The gardai seem to be targeting this area lot lately, the last six months from personal experience. Three known red Ford transit vans with blacked out windows are in operation at Ravensdale just before the old border crossing, at the Ballyscanlon roundabout and near the old Xerox factory entrance. I agree with speed limit enforcement, but three garda vans in one town and none along the next 80km of the states most used motorway, the M1 from Dundalk to Santry is just stupid! Anyway just a warning! Safe driving!:D

Jaysus whats happened. You normally come here giving out about speeding and people going to fast. Whats with the change of heart.. The boys in Chile must be affecting you...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Motorcheck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

NFD100 wrote: »
    Have they any warnings on them or any signs up? If not, that is very unfair. Should be a speed camera sign as well as the speed limit on a sign, if the road is monitored.

No warnings signs or police markings, and the boyos in them had standard issue garda blueshirts on, but with there shoulder ID numbers off?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

3 threads complaining about speed limits in 24Hrs Jock?

As regards numbers on their shirt I assume thats fine as they are just taking your picture and popping it in the post.

I don't like speed camera but I find the perfectly acceptable on roads like that.

Motorways is a difference story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

No warnings signs or police markings
    This isn't the UK - they're out to get income, that's it. Are you learning yet? :p

johnos1984 wrote: »
    3 threads complaining about speed limits in 24Hrs Jock?

As regards numbers on their shirt I assume thats fine as they are just taking your picture and popping it in the post.

I don't like speed camera but I find the perfectly acceptable on roads like that.

Motorways is a difference story

No, I like to see speed traps on our roads for a change, I always scan the road ahead for parked up vans with blacked out windows and drive at least 5km below the limit to avoid getting snapped. But three in one town spaced over 10km, and none on the rest of the M1 of the next 80km south of Dundalk to the port tunnel at Santry! Revenue spinner! Meanwhile back on the M1 I was doing 115km/h and was passed out as if I was standing still! Place those vans on the M1 and we'd put a decent dent in the national debt pretty fast!:)

This isn't the UK - they're out to get income, that's it. Are you learning yet? :p

Oh I know that, like everything else!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

No, I like to see speed traps on our roads for a change, I always scan the road ahead for parked up vans with blacked out windows and drive at least 5km below the limit to avoid getting snapped. But three in one town spaced over 10km, and none on the rest of the M1 of the next 80km south of Dundalk to the port tunnel at Santry! Revenue spinner! Meanwhile back on the M1 I was doing 115km/h and was passed out as if I was standing still! Place those vans on the M1 and we'd put a decent dent in the national debt pretty fast!

If the Gardai are on motorways it is pointed out that they are the safest type of roads and so forth. Here they are on regular roads and that isn't right either. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Oh I know that, like everything else!:rolleyes:

Oh were back to the rollie eyes again. A friend of mine who knows everything about internet/computers has been telling me porkies. He told me that trolls hibernate for the winter. Huh.. bleedin liar like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Jock your confusing me.

Gardaí do the job that most people complain they never do, yet now your on complaining that they are doing it:confused:

What is it you actually want? Enforcement for everyone else but you as you stick to the limit or below

You spin me right round......

0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Right, i'll close this utter waste of space of a thread now, before frustration leads someone to say something stupid. Lads (& lassies), remember that it's not on to accuse another poster of trolling on-thread, not even when it's clear to all of us that they are. Use the 'report post' button instead.