Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That Time of Year Again

• 14-10-2010 2:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭

Well lads/ladettes the days are getting shorter and darker so please mind yourselves out there, yesterday a Transit nearly made sh1te of me and my car because the driver didn't see me, I ended up mounting a high kerb (no damage, thank jaysis)

So turn on your lights, mind your speed and watch out for other road users, I'm sure your mothers all said the same thing to you when you started driving 'It's not you I'm worried about it's the other maniacs out there'

So be careful and look out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Tissot

And turn your lights on during the day too people!

That sun low in the sky makes it difficult for traffic coming against it to see you without your lights on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Also a huge amount of cars going around with only one working headlight

Might be no harm for people to check their lights before heading off somewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

On that note, most Topaz stations have a mirror for drivers to check their rear lights

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

While we're on the subject, add tyres and wiper blades to the list of things to check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Onkle wrote: »
    On that note, most Topaz stations have a mirror for drivers to check their rear lights

yeah or failing that your front windows on your house.. my drive slopes up a bit.. check all my light like twice a day.. bit sad but hey!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

It amazes me how many people don't put on their lights when it starts to get dark, surely these people must notice how much easier it is to see another car when the lights are on:confused:?

I once passed a woman who had no lights on even though it was quite dark. I flashed my lights a couple of times, and eventually she flashed hers back to me and gave me a wave as if I knew her :rolleyes: :eek:!

It would be nice if people would switch on their lights when it rains as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Thank fcuk, i thought this was a thread about the day that guy was born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

I saw someone heading into Waterford on the M9 yesterday morning, in heavy grey fog, with no lights on. :eek:

Bear in mind that everyone else had foglights on. Do people really go around with their brains switched off to the extent that they don't even think "fog + motorway = danger, so I must take appropriate precautions"? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I've passed a number of cars lately with no lights on at the front but the rear ones are working. :eek:

I don't care how bad a recession is a bulb costs a couple of quid and if you know your mechanic well enough they will give and fit them for free as they only cost a couple of pence to them

Failing that €2 max for a cheap bulb and get someone else to fit it if you can't do it

The Gardaí really should enforce (I don't believe its their job though) this as clearly people have no sense of duty themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Also a huge amount of cars going around with only one working headlight

You're absolutely right - driving back from Wexford to Dublin last week, leaving Wexford around 11:00pm, pitch black (of course) at least 5 oncoming vehicles had one working headlight only and looked exactly like motorbikes until the very last second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I had a Garda care drive towards me last night on a narrow road around the 9pm mark and they didn't have their lights on. I flashed at them. Then further up the road i ended up behind another Garda car. 3 turns at junctions and no indicators with horrible road position. We stopped side by side at lights and i had to say it to them. He just 'okay yeah' and rolled back up his window. I find Guards to be some of the worse drivers out there in terms of obeying rules of the road. Our roads are dangerous enough without them adding to it.