Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Generic car question

• 14-10-2010 10:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭

:rolleyes:Why are there some of us who will nearly financially ruin ourselves just to keep a 'certain' car on the road? Why do we justify >euro320 for a tyre, tolerate ~20mpg, or horrendous repairs costs just because it's a <make> <model> running a <engine-size> with <options-list> and handles like a <predator-breed>?

Wish sometimes I didn't care about cars.. and just thought of a car as simply a device for transport so I'd buy the cheapest one... do you guys understand? It's like an addiction problem. :pac:

/rant

OK sorry, just paid the online motor tax bill this morning... feeling a bit better now. :P Thanks.

*** This is ment as a light hearted thread, please no offence is intended from any comments above ***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

Indeed, why do we out up with poor reliability, leaky roofs, and horrendous thirst? We do we persist in buying cars no-one else wants with terrible resale value and bad reputations?

It's an illness I tell you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

dont worry the politicians are not using there own money to buy all them big cars , its your money they are spending enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Cheaper to be an alcoholic than a car lover.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

ive tried it before, i bough junkers and cheap cars thinking ok, from now on i park where i want, in a tight spot, i dont care but then when it comes to driving it im very sad :(

i ended up getting something in the middle with my current 320d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

When I started thinking like that I sold my Integra Type R looking to buy a comfortable , sensible diesel car that would do high mpg and cost much less to run.

Ended up buying a 2522cc Turbo Petrol Focus ST! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

CarMuppet wrote: »
    :rolleyes:Why are there some of us who will nearly financially ruin ourselves just to keep a 'certain' car on the road? Why do we justify >euro320 for a tyre, tolerate ~20mpg, or horrendous repairs costs just because it's a <make> <model> running a <engine-size> with <options-list> and handles like a <predator-breed>?

Wish sometimes I didn't care about cars.. and just thought of a car as simply a device for transport so I'd buy the cheapest one... do you guys understand? It's like an addiction problem. :pac:

/rant

OK sorry, just paid the online motor tax bill this morning... feeling a bit better now. :P Thanks.

*** This is ment as a light hearted thread, please no offence is intended from any comments above ***

could be worse.... could be working your arse off for several years, not getting a hint of the celtic tiger then bang, you make a few grand, recession kicks in before you even get to pop the cork off your tesco value chamagine and are now stuck with:

a honda that you'll have to shed, cause its too expensive to run and knackers look too much at it.

a different banger that wont last a year knowing your luck.

if it breaks your seriously cant afford to fix it.

but ill be driving a aw11 mr2 today ( the ladies car ) so i cant really complain... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Pdfile wrote: »
    could be worse.... could be working your arse off for several years, not getting a hint of the celtic tiger then bang, you make a few grand, recession kicks in before you even get to pop the cork off your tesco value chamagine and are now stuck with:

a honda that you'll have to shed, cause its too expensive to run and knackers look too much at it.

a different banger that wont last a year knowing your luck.

if it breaks your seriously cant afford to fix it.

but ill be driving a aw11 mr2 today ( the ladies car ) so i cant really complain... ;)

What have you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

so this is a thread about alfas then?

/rant

Totally agree with the above.
    And the worst thing about it all is when you try to explain it to somebody who has no interest in cars and is wondering why you spend so much money on them!

Tax, petrol bit of maintenance expense I don't mind, depreciation to the tune of a few grand a year I cannot do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

That's whay I 'roll' in my starlet or my bomb proof Amazon most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭CarMuppet

landyman wrote: »
    so this is a thread about alfas then?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NzlG28B-R8Y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I sometimes question my sanity with the amount my car costs me, but when I get out of my girlfriends Polo (which is a lovely car, dont get me wrong!) and into my Integra I immediately know why I spend so much on it :D

Some things in life are just worth the money we spend on them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Because having a nice car is nice.

Ive owned a few cars in the past & work mates/ friends have reacted like this; what are you doing? sure you don't need that??? Lads you'll never get it.;)

Subaru legacy B4 twin turbo i got 3 years ago; Ah sure that'll kill you on petrol, sure you can't even use the power properly, are you not a bit old for a 'boy racers car'....piss off that lot of ya!:rolleyes:
    Enjoy your new base model astra/focus/auris/megane, but don't have a go at me for preferring to have something nice under the bonnet over having a new car to compete with the Jones's nextdoor.

Because having a nice car is nice.

Ive owned a few cars in the past & work mates/ friends have reacted like this; what are you doing? sure you don't need that??? Lads you'll never get it.;)

Subaru legacy B4 twin turbo i got 3 years ago; Ah sure that'll kill you on petrol, sure you can't even use the power properly, are you not a bit old for a 'boy racers car'....piss off that lot of ya!:rolleyes:
    Enjoy your new base model astra/focus/auris/megane, but don't have a go at me for preferring to have something nice under the bonnet over having a new car to compete with the Jones's nextdoor.

I find with people who have that attitude that its best to just not engage them in conversation about cars. I gave up on try to convince my mother why changing from a 99 Accord to a 99 Integra Type R with a smaller engine and paying several grand in the process wasnt the craziest idea of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

djimi wrote: »
    I find with people who have that attitude that its best to just not engage them in conversation about cars. I gave up on try to convince my mother why changing from a 99 Accord to a 99 Integra Type R with a smaller engine and paying several grand in the process wasnt the craziest idea of all time.

Ah the old teggy Type R, the car i nearly got my hands on a few years ago. I was quoted several thousand for insurance (from all the places i tried, even though i was 26) & so the dream died. Hence the purchase of the B4, not a bad alternative. 265bhp.:D

Yeah i learned not to have discussions about cars with people who only think of them as 4 wheeled metal & plastic curvy boxes that gets them home after work...and thats it.:pac:

Look at it this way, some people spend thousands on clothes, jewellery, fancy kitchen appliances, fitness equipment, drinking. Hey its their business i suppose. Spending money on a car is way down the list of throwing money away on things you dont need in my opinion. Each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Someone's gotta do it!

Look at it this way, some people spend thousands on clothes, jewellery, fancy kitchen appliances, fitness equipment, drinking. Hey its their business i suppose. Spending money on a car is way down the list of throwing money away on things you dont need in my opinion. Each to their own.

I dont drink or smoke; Ive not bothered to sit down and do the maths but Id be interested to see how much/little difference there is between the cost to run my car in a week and how much some of my mates spend in a weekend on drink and cigarettes. Considering I spend €50-€70 a week on petrol and a lot of folk I know could easily manage that in one night of drinking...

I sometimes question my sanity with the amount my car costs me, but when I get out of my girlfriends Polo (which is a lovely car, dont get me wrong!) and into my Integra I immediately know why I spend so much on it :D

Some things in life are just worth the money we spend on them...

Surely an Integra type r isn't too expensive to run, tax is cheap, they return decent enough mpg and if you have a few years ncb insurance isn't really an issue. You probably aren't spending very much at all on it. It's not an NSX or anything :pac:

RoverJames wrote: »
    Surely an Integra type r isn't too expensive to run, tax is cheap, they return decent enough mpg and if you have a few years ncb insurance isn't really an issue. You probably aren't spending very much at all on it. It's not an NSX or anything :pac:

I have 1 years no claims in my own name, 3 as a named driver, have my full licence 4 years, no points or claims and i'm 27 and my quote on my teg is still 1600 :mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

• mid 20's MPG
    • 551e for tax
    • with full NCB and 30 years of age, i guarantee its still well over a grand for insurance.

it was one small step going from my 1.4 Civic to my ITR but it was one giant leap going from my ITR to my Evo 5 :)

kceire wrote: »
    • mid 20's MPG
    • 551e for tax
    • with full NCB and 30 years of age, i guarantee its still well over a grand for insurance.

Not bad so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

kceire wrote: »
    • mid 20's MPG

Maybe if you can keep the craving for VTEC away! :D

I get 25mpg from the ST and I get 100 miles more for the same amount of petrol in the Teg I had so the Teg had to be 20mpg tops!

I dont understand how to calculate MPG but I get about 35-50 miles from €10 petrol. It costs me about €70-€100 on petrol.

Tax is €150ish every 3 months.

Insurance (27yo male, full license for 10 years, 2 years NCB) is €950 but every other quote I got was upwards of €1600.

Its by no means the most expensive car to run but its not exactly cheap either!

I dont understand how to calculate MPG but I get about 35-50 miles from €10 petrol. It costs me about €70-€100 on petrol.

Tax is €150ish every 3 months.

Insurance (27yo male, full license for 10 years, 2 years NCB) is €950 but every other quote I got was upwards of €1600.

Its by no means the most expensive car to run but its not exactly cheap either!

Miles per gallon is exactly what it claims to be so if you use 2 gallons to go 100 miles you have done 50mpg :)
    So at €1.30/litre for unleaded you are doing 20 to 30mpg, not bad really.
    A 1.8 is relatively cheap to tax on the cc system and €950 with 2 years NCB is very good. So I wouldn't reckon the cost to keep her on the road are out of the way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

It could be worse.
    You could be pouring your money into a vehicle that while it does 30+ mpg doesn't even do motorway speeds (not for long anyway), while it "only" costs 460 Euro in tax still is expensive to insure and while it may not depreciate anymore it still was expensive to buy and is on a constant drip of replacement parts and labour.

But who would drive something like that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭CarMuppet

peasant wrote: »
    It could be worse.
    You could be pouring your money into a vehicle that while it does 30+ mpg doesn't even do motorway speeds (not for long anyway), while it "only" costs 460 Euro in tax still is expensive to insure and while it may not depreciate anymore it still was expensive to buy and is on a constant drip of replacement parts and labour.

But who would drive something like that :o

4000 to 5000cc goods vehicle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

nope ...my Syncro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

draffodx wrote: »
    I get 25mpg from the ST and I get 100 miles more for the same amount of petrol in the Teg I had so the Teg had to be 20mpg tops!

I had no problem getting 30+mpg from my ITR, even with induction/manifold/exhaust upgraded. I did find that a decat took about 4mpg off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Ah yes, I know how you feel. When I see the renewal for €1291....... believe me, it's a feeling I'm not unfamiliar with......... :(

Even if it's a nice car, 100 for a tyre, 23-26mpg (reasonable for what it is), and is remarkably reliable, even with big miles (165k miles), looks great and handles fantastically, then..........nope, sorry, it still sickens me.

And, I quite fancy an empty garage, every now and then.......or a tiny car that does all...........which, I suppose, is why there is the Fiat 500 Abarth.....

.....sigh......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road”