Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1000 euro... what to buy ?

• 14-10-2010 8:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭

need a ecobox to zip from a to b in but un-sure what to get as i think sub 1 liter is just simply too small and slow but over 1.4 isnt really worth my time...

ive been thinking along the lines of 1.2 fiestas 106's and 306's ( dont shoot, i always liked the look of the 3 door 306... :confused: )

also... is it actually possible to get this sorta car, in good enough nick, with the nct + some tax ready to go today.... these days ?

Can I just ask what's the story with the username ? When I see it I think of what it sounds like and wonder why the f*** would anyone have a username like that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

I think you should think a car that you do not have to pay money for it´s reputation, so forget VW, Audi at least.

My solution was to buy a Volvo s40, 2l for under 1k but if you want a car with smaller engine, it might be more tricky to find good one,

also forget about diesels, I do not think you have enough money for those,

I think you can find a good car under 1k, but you need at least know something about cars and remember usually the owner sells the car for reason, and one good reason to sell is that there will be problems / repairs in the future (that the current owner does not want to pay),

so important things to consider:
    -NTC (so you can see what is the status of the car, brakes, emissions etc)
    -timing belt recently changed (why pay this if someone else can pay it)
    -good tyres (important, again to save money)

Those three things are important for petrol car, service history does not matter (except the timing belt!) so no point to worry about those,

I think don´t worry about the brand of the car, more important to think about its condition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭glic71rods46t0

Fiesta 1.25 zetec engine. You should get a 00 one with nct and a few months tax for €1,000
    In my opinion, keep away from older french cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

angelfire9 wrote: »

I'd sooner take the bus.

+1 on the Fiesta 1.25 suggestion. Check out the bangernomics thread.

I bought a 95 starlet recently with NCT and some tax for €280 from someone that wanted rid. 5 days later sold it for €730:D

Done deal is your best bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Actually I kinda was and I kinda wasn't
    If the scrappage scheme isn't scrapped in the next budget (pardon the pun) and you bought and taxed this car for 12 months you could scrap it next year and it'd be worth alot more than €950!

Actually I kinda was and I kinda wasn't
    If the scrappage scheme isn't scrapped in the next budget (pardon the pun) and you bought and taxed this car for 12 months you could scrap it next year and it'd be worth alot more than €950!

who said he was gonna trade this in for a brand new 11 reg car ? come on man !

anyway here's my input.

a nice volvo s40 1.6se = http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volvo/S40/S40-1.6/201030199031903/advert?channel=CARS

and im just throwing this in for the craic although me has vectra and vectra be very strong car ! http://www.carzone.ie/search/Opel/Vectra/GLX-2.0-/201014197563778/advert?channel=CARS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Volvo's sold and the Vectra is trade sale only (read we wont guarantee it/there's something terminal wrong with it/needs loads of costly routine work/is basically a bucket - take your pick).

EPM wrote: »
    Volvo's sold and the Vectra is trade sale only (read we wont guarantee it/there's something terminal wrong with it/needs loads of costly routine work/is basically a bucket - take your pick).

didn't actually read the descriptions on them.

but hey there are a good few ka's, fiestas and 205's and all on there... no shortage of cars here man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Read the "Bangers" thread.

EPM wrote: »

Or we made enough money on what they traded it against and we just want to get rid of this as it won't pay us to NCT and clean it up for sale :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

A season ticket for the bus? I'm aware of bangernomics theory but seriously can you expect much service from a €1000 shítbox? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

RoverJames wrote: »
    Can I just ask what's the story with the username ? When I see it I think of what it sounds like and wonder why the f*** would anyone have a username like that ?

pdfile is a double ended pun ( cause two ends are better then one. Giggity ) being that i used to be a photoshopper + who doesnt love pronz.
    itarumaa wrote: »
    I think you should think a car that you do not have to pay money for it´s reputation, so forget VW, Audi at least.

My solution was to buy a Volvo s40, 2l for under 1k but if you want a car with smaller engine, it might be more tricky to find good one,

also forget about diesels, I do not think you have enough money for those,

I think you can find a good car under 1k, but you need at least know something about cars and remember usually the owner sells the car for reason, and one good reason to sell is that there will be problems / repairs in the future (that the current owner does not want to pay),

so important things to consider:
    -NTC (so you can see what is the status of the car, brakes, emissions etc)
    -timing belt recently changed (why pay this if someone else can pay it)
    -good tyres (important, again to save money)

Those three things are important for petrol car, service history does not matter (except the timing belt!) so no point to worry about those,

I think don´t worry about the brand of the car, more important to think about its condition.

timing belt... get something with a chain then... like a corsa :)

s40's and anything of the like are thirstier then my civic ( 1.6 ) and that yoke has to be rev'd like crazy to get anyways.
    Fiesta 1.25 zetec engine. You should get a 00 one with nct and a few months tax for €1,000
    In my opinion, keep away from older french cars

indeed, i would be very interested to get a 3 door fiesta with the zetec so at the very least i can slap on some focus alloys and make it semi decent looking and not too slow.

Dont be so quick to knock the frenchies... their Very on the pedal little motors :) i am quite tempted to take a neighbours 106 for like 300 euro but im 6'3 and that cars just a touch too small.

if it was the older model id buy it without even thinking. Them ones are ugly + the color :(
    robbie_998 wrote: »
    who said he was gonna trade this in for a brand new 11 reg car ? come on man !

anyway here's my input.

a nice volvo s40 1.6se = http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volvo/S40/S40-1.6/201030199031903/advert?channel=CARS

and im just throwing this in for the craic although me has vectra and vectra be very strong car ! http://www.carzone.ie/search/Opel/Vectra/GLX-2.0-/201014197563778/advert?channel=CARS

volvo uses an old ford engine right ??

and the vectra... no thanks ;)

biko wrote: »
    Read the "Bangers" thread.

did but i cant afford to be a poor snob like them boys arguing over under powered late 90's wreaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

A season ticket for the bus? I'm aware of bangernomics theory but seriously can you expect much service from a €1000 shítbox? ;)

My old 00 Hyundai Accent that I bought for under a grand on adverts is doing grand.2 years NCT,70k on the clock,timing belt done,4 new tyres.
    All I did was put pads on it and service it and its done me well for nearly a year.

2008_0527Prelude0001.jpg

Bought that for €850

1.jpg

that for €430

2008_1219Prelude_clean0002.jpg

that for €800 (gearbox went 10,000 miles later so not a great example)

2009_0618Prelude_clean0002.jpg

and that for €900.

Merc and Prelude were all sold on with fresh NCT and I reckon they are still running fine. Rover was sold to a guy who was going to put in a replacement box so she is no doubt back on the road. And the BMW was solid out, another 100K left in her.

So I reckon you can get plenty of service out if a €1000 sh1tbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

the only rule is that she has to do Good mpg ( i.e 40 + ) or im not forced to sell the current banger as i like it.

aldo the savings on insurance/tax would surely help no doubt.