Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friends story from a night out in Carlow

• 13-10-2010 10:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭

Friend of mine Roisin's interesting weekend.

Was at a 21st the other night and had a great time

....met a couple a girls and a guy, the guy being one of my really good friends.

So myself, him one of the girls and the birthday boy went back to my friend's apartment the others arrived not long after.

I left the door unlocked for one of the others.

Then a guy walks in..we don't know him...he's asked nicely to leave
    (he lived in the same area,but hadn't talked to them before).

So a bit later we hear a bang and figure he's throwing bottles at the door....few mins later a bigger bang...check bedroom window and there's a hole in it!

I call the gardai, But before they get there the front door also acquires a hole. I call the gardai again, shortly after two gardai arrive and 3 of the guys go outside.

We look out and see something big in the guys hand.....

So we run up the stairs, the guys come back and tell us he was chasing the gardai with an axe, No wonder the windows broke!

So we call the gardai again, Tell them the 2 that came out were chased with the axe wielding maniac!

7 more of them arrive and he's eventually arrested.
    We all give details etc and then Monday get called in to make statements....

moral of the story....Carlow is a ****hole!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

You can get nutjobs like that anywhere....not just Carlow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Wahey lads I'm in the Carlow Forum!

Oh wait, no I'm not. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Why not get a bigger axe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Isn't that kinda racist again Carlowians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

biko wrote: »
    Isn't that kinda racist again Carlowians?

Carlowites

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭juma

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Wahey lads I'm in the Carlow Forum!

Oh wait, no I'm not. :confused:

.....says the guy who started a thread in After Hours about the DUBLIN LUAS:confused:http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055976021

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Carlovians actually.

And that is scary...whereabouts in the town did that happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

ottostreet wrote: »
    Carlovians actually.

And that is scary...whereabouts in the town did that happen?

Culchies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Dunno where it happened, she's from the town. Think near the Quinn's shop if that makes sense :P me being from Dublin don't know Carlow that well. The last line is also from her not me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

You sound like a student. Did you register in either one of the colleges without knowing the following fact?
    allanb49 wrote:
    Carlow is a ****hole!!

A quick Google News search for "Carlow" reveals:

Men go on rampage with knives - 5 October 2010
    http://www.carlow-nationalist.ie/tabId/369/itemId/5288/On-the-rampage.aspxGirls
    Girls nose Bitten off in Attack - 28 Sept 2010:
    http://www.carlow-nationalist.ie/tabId/369/itemId/4937/Girls-nose-bitten-off-in-vicious-assault.aspx
    Unprovoked assaults in Dinn Ri put on Facebook - October 2010:
    http://www.carlow-nationalist.ie/tabId/369/itemId/5488/Unprovoked-assaults-uploaded-to-Facebook.aspx
    Carlow GAA official involved in Cannabis factory near GAA ground - Oct 2010:
    http://www.carlow-nationalist.ie/tabId/369/itemId/5491/Red-faces-after-drugs-squad-swoops-on-Dr-Cullen-Pa.aspx
    50,000 EUR taken in Carlow Pub robbery after manager taken hostage:
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0920/carlow.html

A conservative analysis would be that Carlow has more scumbags than other towns...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Why did you phone the guards, I would have waited for the floods to wash him away!!!

Google confirms that "Carlow is a ****hole"

http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient&ie=UTF-8&rlz=1T5GGLL_enIE273IE274&q=Carlow+is+a+****hole

ILA wrote: »
    You sound like a student. Did you register in either one of the colleges without knowing the following fact?

Your astute observation would prove wrong i live in Kildare and work full time :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I was expecting a good orgy story, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Did you get the ride after all that?

baz2009 wrote: »
    I was expecting a good orgy story, tbh.

So was i when she said she had an interesting night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

He sounds like he was having the craic to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

FYP:D
    allanb49 wrote: »
    Friend of mine Roisin's interesting weekend.

Was at a 21st the other night and had a great time

....met a couple a girls and a guy, the guy being one of my really good friends.

So myself, him one of the girls and the birthday boy went back to my friend's apartment the others arrived not long after
    Then we all had a big orgy

It does appear that the level of crime is on the rise in Carlow in the last few months. The nightclub/student lifestyle that is prevalent during college months probably is responsible for a lot of it. I myself have been attacked in Carlow, but that was by a group from Dublin (well, only 2 really got involved), after an Alex Kidd gig in one of the clubs.

As for that pub in Carlow, I know the circumstances of that, and it appears to have been an organised crime involving people from Dublin. The owner & manager of the bar are from Dublin and spend most of their time there, and they believe they were targetted through one of their other pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

juma wrote: »
    .....says the guy who started a thread in After Hours about the DUBLIN LUAS:confused:http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055976021

I was going to start that thread about the country LUAS but then I realised they don't have one.

Totally unfair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Carlow is well known in the South East as being a scobe town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Greatest invention known to man.....the Carlow bypass.....never have to see that kip again :p

Carlow is well known in the South East as being a scobe town.

Is it? Haven't heard that myself, and Id spend most of my days trawling around the Southeast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

ottostreet wrote: »
    Carlovians actually.

Full of drooling dogs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

love carlow, being from dublin, all the carlow scummers are nothing compared to the mainics you'll see in temple bar square 10 mins after the clubs close. (I like to get a coffee there, sit down and enjoy the show that is dublin live)... anyway.

carlow does however have a special kind of character, one who has too much to drink and a wee fight outside dinri won't do, he's gotta go one further and get an axe, or strool into someones house and pretend he belongs there (very common, keep the doors locked), or run naked down tullow street for a free bottle of smernoff ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

you should have just axed him politely to leave...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

One bad experience makes a place a shíthole?
    Ah right yeah, I see what you did there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭sagat2

I picture two culchie Gardai being chased by a culchie with an axe to the Benny Hill theme, it's a rather amusing picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

allanb49 wrote: »

moral of the story....my friend lives in the ****hole part of Carlow!!

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

i always taught carlow was a nice safe town
    anytime i have been there never felt threatened or unsafe
    there is a few drunks milling about but sure you get that everywhere

TheZohan wrote: »
    FYP.

Well i just copied her message so everything bar what i said in the first line is her talking and she's from carlow :P