Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moron of the week

• 13-10-2010 7:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭

In today's Irish Times, p. 4: Prison terms for aggravated burglary.
    When gardaí arrived in an unmarked patrol car, Anthony Flannery, believing it to be a pick-up car, attempted to jump into the back seat and was subsequently arrested....

Almost a Darwin award.

Link: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/1013/1224280972424.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Looks like the Wrens are a couple of jailbirds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Theres been worse

' Eoin Cahill was targeted by two masked men who entered a house on the outskirts of the town wielding a sawn-off shotgun and a pump-action shotgun...Father-of-two Leigh Crowe,of Elm Park in the town, was later jailed for life after being found guilty of manslaughter,,,
    During the trial a garda said that when told he had been indentified as an attacker Crowe had replied: "That's bull****. Nobody saw me. I had a balaclava and gloves."

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/killer-gets-life-after-blasting-his-victim-in-the-face-1138342.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I thought this was gonna be a thread about Brendan O Connor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

this guy

This is Darren Suchon. And even at 42 years old, he doesn't understand that it's wrong to drive your live-in girlfriend off the road just because she took your PlayStation away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

this guy

i'm on his side, tbh. although he should have just rang the guards and said she'd stolen it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

i'm on his side, tbh. although he should have just rang the guards and said she'd stolen it

that is what he should have done, but instead the moron runs her off the road and gets himself locked up! that's not going to help him when black op's is released in November....moron! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,605 ✭✭✭patmac

The men were sentenced to 10, 12 and 12 years in prison respectively. Judge Kennedy suspended two years in each sentence.
    The judge remarked: “This aggravated burglary is as lawless and vicious as I have seen in over 40 years dealing with criminal behaviour.”

I still don't get why he suspended the sentences for 2 years for each?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Talk about out of touch ...
    he's likely bleeped his last bloop for quite some time.
    ^^ The author may be interested to know that there have been other games made since space invaders and pong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

patmac wrote: »
    The men were sentenced to 10, 12 and 12 years in prison respectively. Judge Kennedy suspended two years in each sentence.
    The judge remarked: “This aggravated burglary is as lawless and vicious as I have seen in over 40 years dealing with criminal behaviour.”

I still don't get why he suspended the sentences for 2 years for each?

Probably to alleviate all the prison overcrowding caused by TV licence dodgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

bonerm wrote: »

Probably to keep an eye on them for 2 years after release as they reintegrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

bonerm wrote: »

Or to give them a reason to behave for the other ten years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I saw that article too, major scumbags and not too bright.

I can just see him hopping in the 'getaway' car, looking at the gardai and saying 'Step on it! !! '

On the bright side 12 yrs each - (even if 2 are suspended) is a not too shabby result for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

I remember reading one of Paul Williams books, possibly 'Gangland', and there was a story about a guy called Rossi Walsh who decided to blow up a pub over some feud or non payment of protection money...only problem was the bomb exploded while he was still inside.

When the guards questioned him he said he hadn't been in the pub at the time but had been walking past and was sucked in by the explosion...