Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wrestling Mania

• 13-10-2010 12:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭

I first became familiar with the store toward the end of 2004, I was delighted when it opened because I'm such a big wrestling fan and felt starved for a local supplier for years. I found it great for DVDs and T Shirts and I was a regular customer fairly solidly for a couple of years.
    After awhile though, I started to realise how ridiculous the prices were, especially after a visit to the States, so I stopped visiting the store as regularly. I still pop in every now and again and pick up a T Shirt but very rarely buy DVDs - paying over 40 quid for a DVD I can get on Amazon for a third of the price doesn't make sense.
    I'm not into MMA so I don't buy any of that stuff and I can pick up most WWE/TNA T Shirts I like at live shows or online if I really like them before they end up in the store usually.
    But until recently I understood the store's position. They took a brave step by opening it in the first place and they have the market cornered so if they want to exploit that then fair enough - nobody else is stepping up to compete and people like making purchases there and then - fair play and good luck. I genuinely hope the store prospers for many years to come.
    What I feel is in poor taste though is how they are going about the Chris Jericho signing this week. I feel it is wholly unnecessary to only open the signing up to those who buy tickets from the store, especially considering it hasn't been extensively advertised. I feel it is in bad taste and shows a lack of respect to wrestling fans in Ireland but I guess Wrestling Mania hasn't shown much regard for us in the past so I shouldn't be surprised!
    Luckily for me I had yet to pick up a ticket for the Fozzy show before I heard about the signing so I got one from the store and will be there on Friday. Unfortunately for some of my friends - and their kids who can't even attend the gig - they weren't so lucky.
    I can't help but think the store is shooting itself in the foot by restricting access, I remember when Fozzy were here in 2005 - which, coincidentally was also on October 15th - and I attended the signing with a few friends. Only 2 of us had tickets for the show in the Voodoo Lounge yet all of us picked something up in the store (I got a High Spots Bret Hart shoot in case you're wondering).
    Anyway, my message here is - come on Wrestling Mania - get your act together, you used to set a standard, now you abuse it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

i think there's some kind of heat with boards and Wrestling Mania but honestly, just like Easons, if you show up on the day, you'll get to see the wrestler, without having the buy the required item (eg Mick Foley book)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭sixfingered

Ah right, well as I said, I just think it's a bit crap for the kids, they (or their parents) shouldn't have to buy a ticket for a show they won't even be allowed in to so they can meet Jericho.
    Makes more sense to have them buy a DVD/T Shirt or somthing if that's how the store wants to play it. That also gives people who bought the gig tickets elsewhere a chance to meet him and the store makes a sale too. Everyone's a winner and all that...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Jerichos over here on a tour with fozzy, thats his number one reason for being anywhere near the country.
    Its not like he has to do the wrestlingmania signing (as its not wrestling based for why hes here in the first place).

So to support the reason he is over in the first place doesnt seem like that bad an idea to me.

Sure kids arent going to get as much of an opportunity to meet him as opposed to if it was say, Smyths for example.

But he's been a heel for the guts of 2 years now so why would they want to meet him? ;)

I see what mean, is there a deal in place that Wrestling Mania had to shift a certain amount of tix for him to show? Didn't seem that way in 2005 as I recall it... maybe I'm wrong though! (He signed my DVD of Vengeance 2001!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

I find Wrestling mania great, anything i have wanted the lads have sourced, ordered in and contacted me....even stuff thats not for sale, just through contacts they know so i have no problem.

I bought my fozzy ticket somewhere else so i amnt able to go to the signing either, this has nothing to do with WM through.....i asked Naill there what the chances would be if you didnt have a wm purchased ticket but unfortunatley its a no go (and fair play to him he didnt have to get back to me at all).... apparantly Jericho's people are being real dicks about it so their hands are tied!

I really dont think this reflects badly on WM, they just have no choice in the matter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

****, Forgot all about Jericho on Friday :o

As for prices in the store, remember that they are in the most expensive area of Dublin. Some of the highest rents in the world were in the Stephens Green/Grafton St area at one stage. Online stores dont have to worry about such things that is why the prices would be a bit more than usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Lads, please keep this one clean and please do not discuss prices/quality of stock etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

how have i not heard about this until now?? are tickets still on sale?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

there's a real long thread about Fozzy in the Button Factor this Friday but it's on page 4 now i think. Yeah tix still on sale, 21 euro from Wrestling Mania, picked up mine yesterday. Also if u buy 'em from WrestlingMania you can meet Jericho in-store on Friday earlier in the day ~3pm.

U'd be able to pick up tix no problem.

the signing is at 4 on friday according to the WM facebook page! and you have to have a wm stamped (aka in store purchased) fozzy ticket to meet him....but then you get to rock out with fozzy so thats a good thing too!

in other news, i want this tshirt:

http://plixi.com/p/49944937

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

the signing is at 4 tomorrow according to the WM facebook page! and you have to have a wm stamped (aka in store purchased) fozzy ticket to meet him....but then you get to rock out with fozzy so thats a good thing too!

in other news, i want this tshirt:

http://plixi.com/p/49944937

Hahaha. Wow that t-shirt is all kinds of awesome!! :D

lockie1983 wrote: »
    Hahaha. Wow that t-shirt is all kinds of awesome!! :D

i think it's a must purchase at the gig alright!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 25,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Hell yeah it is!!

I'm currently searching online to get one, haha!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

To be fair to Wrestling Mania Jericho is a big name. He's not some guy off AWR coming to do a signing. He's a big deal. I'm sure his management are being strict about what he does and who he does it for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭RAMPAGE1

Just to let everyone know I have spoke to the promoter this morning and we can now accomadate all ticket holders not just the people who bought tickets in store. I'm super excited to have Chris in Store again, he was fantastic to work with last time. See you all Friday at 4pm for the signing and remember to bring your ticket for the gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Thej693

What? Jericho is here tomorrow?

Thej693 wrote: »
    What? Jericho is here tomorrow?
    RAMPAGE1 wrote: »
    See you all Friday at 4pm for the signing and remember to bring your ticket for the gig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Just to let everyone know I have spoke to the promoter this morning and we can now accomadate all ticket holders not just the people who bought tickets in store. I'm super excited to have Chris in Store again, he was fantastic to work with last time. See you all Friday at 4pm for the signing and remember to bring your ticket for the gig
    Fair play to ye

Great news, cheers bro!!

That's great news - fair play to the WM guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Does anyone know if this store have the Nexus t-shirt in stock?

I understand there is a rule about not discussing the quality of the stock and prices, so just a yes or no answer is grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭RAMPAGE1

Charisteas wrote: »
    Does anyone know if this store have the Nexus t-shirt in stock?

I understand there is a rule about not discussing the quality of the stock and prices, so just a yes or no answer is grand.

On backorder until the 23rd of November thks

Nice one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

CMpunked wrote: »
    Nice one :D

+1 :D