Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which is the Most Reliable ? Corsa Vs Diesel Micra ?

• 12-10-2010 11:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭

I have a choice of these 2 motors which would you say is the most reliable ?

2005 Nissan Micra Diesel 72k miles (NCT due Jan, Nippy ,feels its mileage but still 'tight ' enough )

2002 Opel Corsa 1.0 3 cylinder 29k miles (NCT 2012 Definitely genuine mileage FSH feels very 'tight'. Amazing handling for the class -maybe as good as Ka ie better than Puma !!!I guess they took note of the previous model's WORST Handling Car award ...feels sloooow but revs to 6800rpm!!!Well able to cruise on motorway.Only apparent issues are clicking cv joint and steering lock doesnt engage most of the time )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

My housemate has a 3 cylinder corsa, I once had to drive it to Templemore, it was horrible on the long journey, horrible seating position, horrible noise from it and a horrible cabin.

I can't speak for the Micra but tbh I'd rather be dragged on my bare arse than take a 3 cylinder Corsa on a long run ever again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

I find the seats and position very comfortable (and have been doing 2 hours a day in it for a few weeks) but if I recall youre used to larger , more plush motors Onkle .The noise aint pretty for sure -3 cylinder Toyota Aygo sounded far sportier but not sure it handles better and feels cheaper ...but the Corsa does feel like a 'previous generation 'car to the Micra -quite small ...windscreen v near , for sure cabin 'old fashioned'...MPG like most smallish petrol Opels v good 50-55mpg(?) (but diesel Micra doing 60mpg...)
    Quite the dillema knowing what to do ...in this situation as bought the Diesel Micra about 2 months ago-was loving it - and complications in garage changing timing belt have meant Im without it for last 3 weeks !!!Have borrowed the Corsa in meantime ...

ytareh wrote: »
    if I recall youre used to larger , more plush motors Onkle .

Wha?? I have a MK2 Golf GTI and a Honda Integra, far from large or plush :pac: I've driven lots and lots of cars but I really disliked the Corsa, in saying that, it is just my opinion, my housemate loves it and it's never let her down in 18 months of ownership, I don't think it's ever even been dipped for oil in the time she's had it nevermind serviced

Well they both have fabulous seats Onkle !Its funny how Opel have always been such 'poor relations ' to VW by and large at least here .

Ah here, my VW is from 1986! I find the driving position in the Corsa more of a pain, I just think it's too high for such a small car. I had an Astra as a company car for a short while and liked that though.

Have had 3 or 4 Mk2 GTis 'in me day '-8v way better 'driveability' in my opinion.Also 2x Opel Kadetts GSi 16v 157bhp (pre cat and no heavy toys like Vauxhalls)1000kg was seriously fast ...'Opel handbook quoted 6.9 sec 0-62!!! Like the GTi 40-42mpg possible with a little restraint ...Opels always 'seemed' less reliable than VWs I guess hence less popular here ...(Recent VWs not nearly as reliable?)

Well with a car history like that you shouldn't be driving around in 3 cylinder Corsas or diesel Micras! :pac:

Ah sure they were only tip of the iceberg ...used change almost monthly but have settled down ,kids etc ....

Sell the kids and buy a Honda, you won't regret it :D

Had 2 SiR Civics back in the day, one saloon and one hatch ,personally not a big VTEC fan ...utterly unusable unless out on isolated country roads ...unless you like attracting every Garda and 'concerned citizen' with hotline to local station ...Suzuki Cappucciono revved even higher and was a bit quieter !

Ah I love my ITR, currently has a full Buddy Club exhaust system from the head back, a bit loud for my tastes but I'm getting used to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Corsa handles better than a Puma or Ka:confused: Driven all 3 and not a hope in hell.

If it's for kids to travel OP I'd go with the Micra for the safety aspect but wouldn't limit myself to just those two options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Onkle wrote: »
    Well with a car history like that you shouldn't be driving around in 3 cylinder Corsas or diesel Micras! :pac:

I'm in the same boat, mrk2 CRX, mrk2 MR2, mrk2 Golf GTI yada yada. These days MPV's and Micra's!

That said theres fun in getting the most of of something less sporty. Though some yokes are simply joyless. Also modern mainstream cars have improved an awful lot, since the 80's, the suspension, brakes are often better than the 80's classic's. Of course power is vastly more too.

The main area where they are different, are the feel and subtly are gone. some of very dull to drive, even if they are fast in a stright line. Ironically, in a basic light small car, you get some of that back. Once you see past the light steering, and soft suspension. Stringing a series of corners just right is still a buzz, and its a much lower speeds than a 200bhp hot hatch.

That said some small cars are just completely joyless. A Chevrolet Matis is just dire.