Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help! Mondeo died :-(

• 12-10-2010 6:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

Hi there

I was wondering if anyone could advise me of the best course of action. The situation is this:

We are 12 months from paying off the car loan for our Ford Mondeo 2001 (petrol, 1.8l, 75 000 miles) that we bought in 2005. Our aim in life is to move to Australia in 2012 so we are trying so hard to pay off our debts before then.

We took the car into the Ford Motor Centre in Finglas due to the fact that the alternator needed to be replaced (advised by AA after weekend breakdown). I mentioned that the car had been burning oil so they looked at that first. The verdict is that the alternator is the least of our worries. The engine is dying and needs to be replaced. Estimated cost by Ford = €5k.

The car cannot be driven in current condition.

We have ony about €1500 to spare (at a push).

What should we do?

By second hand engine? Avail of scrappage offer on a new car (we have no savings but good jobs)? Go to another/cheaper garage and pay for engine to be repaired/reconditioned? Take the bus (difficult as our daughter's school takes 1 hour to reach via public transport). Advice would be appreciated.

A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Have a look in the bangernomics thread, and buy something out of there that takes your fancy, 1500 should do well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

€1500 will get you another 01 or 02 petrol mondeo real easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

What exactly did they say was wrong?

How much oil is it burning?

I'd fix it given your situation, better the devil you know and all that.

Alee36 wrote: »

We are 12 months from paying off the car loan for our Ford Mondeo 2001 (petrol, 1.8l, 75 000 miles) that we bought in 2005. Our aim in life is to move to Australia in 2012 so we are trying so hard to pay off our debts before then.

................... I mentioned that the car had been burning oil so they looked at that first. The verdict is that the alternator is the least of our worries. The engine is dying and needs to be replaced. Estimated cost by Ford = €5k.

The car cannot be driven in current condition.

We have ony about €1500 to spare (at a push).

What should we do?

By second hand engine? Avail of scrappage offer on a new car (we have no savings but good jobs)? Go to another/cheaper garage and pay for engine to be repaired/reconditioned? Take the bus (difficult as our daughter's school takes 1 hour to reach via public transport). Advice would be appreciated.

A

Well if you intend emmigrating in 2012 don't dream of getting another loan to finance a car that's the first thing. Secondly tell the Ford garage thanks but no thanks, who said the car can't be driven ? Ford or the AA ? If possible I'd get a decent auto electrician to sort the alternator and then keep topping up the oil. If it was going before the breakdown and the AA diagnosed it as an alternator I fail to see how it can't be used.

You'll get a decent car for a lot less than €1500 that will keep ye going till ye leave, believe me ;)

Empty your mind of lining those Ford garage bastads pockets with €5K for an engine, they are muppets to suggest that, complete and utter muppets.

I put and alternator in mine couple months back ?€280 for the part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,421 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

Sorry why can't the car be driven in its current condition?? How much oil is it burning?

Get the car back, stick in a re-con or second hand alternator, get a second opinion on the oil burning from else where. It's mad to bring a 9 year old car to a dealer...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

How is the engine "dying" exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Keep topping up the oil and drive it till you go away. It'll probably last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Bonito wrote: »
    How is the engine "dying" exactly?

Yeah good question.^

To me an engine dying is, fractured cylinder block, big end failure. Cylinder head failure? But sure thats replaceable?

Surely a decent secondhand mondeo engine wouldn't be more than 1500 euros? Maybe another 1000 for fitting? Im only guessing.... where the hell did they get 5k from?!

New engine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Yeah good question.^

To me an engine dying is, fractured cylinder block, big end failure. Cylinder head failure? But sure thats replaceable?

Maybe brand new engine.
    I'd say it should be easily possible to get it fitted with secondhand engine for 1500.
    But on the other hand, what does "engine is dying" mean? Did they tell exactly what is wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

Go to a smaller garage and get them to fit a second hand engine, want cost as much as you think.

2qk4u wrote: »
    Go to a smaller garage and get them to fit a second hand engine, want cost as much as you think.

Its a bad situation alright. That car is probably worth no more than 2500 euros? Is it worth spending more than a grand on?

More info needed on actual engine fault OP....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Alee36

Jeepers - thanks so much for the replies. I really appreciate it!!

I don't have a lot of experience at dealing with cars, motors etc. So I didn't properly listen how the engine was "dying", Bonito, but very good question! I should have listened better! I just heard "pisterns", "cylinders" etc. I should ask for more detail.

The car can't be driven because it needs a new alternator - can't go without it as battery doesn't charge (think that is how is works). I had been to an Auto Electrics outfit in Blanchardstown twice in the last 18 months to fix the alternator. Ford just told me the reason why I kept having problems was that there was no wall/shield between the alternator and the exhaust, so the alternator keeps getting heat damaged.

Thanks RoverJames - I was just dreaming that a new car might be an option - it doesn't make sense given our current goals. Another loan is all we need right now!

It is burning aprox €40 worth of oil a month which isn't unbearbale. They told me at Ford that the car would last me a few miles longer, Confab. So it is defo an option (once alternator is working)!

fonecrusher1 - I guess they were quoting me for a new engine.

My partner has just told me that the AA guy said we can use some kind of internal sealant to stop the loss of oil. That might keep us going as well.

I think I need to:

1) Get alternator replaced (and protective shield)
    2) Check out prices for a 2nd hand engine (A friend recommended a place called Traynors and Howards - I will call them both tomorrow) or engine reconditioning (to be fitted in a smaller garage as 2qk4u suggests)
    3) Weigh (2) against topping up regularily with oil and using internal sealant

Thanks again for all the info - really helped get my head around it all!

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Jeepers - thanks so much for the replies. I really appreciate it!!

I don't have a lot of experience at dealing with cars, motors etc. So I didn't properly listen how the engine was "dying", Bonito, but very good question! I should have listened better! I just heard "pisterns", "cylinders" etc. I should ask for more detail.

The car can't be driven because it needs a new alternator - can't go without it as battery doesn't charge (think that is how is works). I had been to an Auto Electrics outfit in Blanchardstown twice in the last 18 months to fix the alternator. Ford just told me the reason why I kept having problems was that there was no wall/shield between the alternator and the exhaust, so the alternator keeps getting heat damaged.

Thanks RoverJames - I was just dreaming that a new car might be an option - it doesn't make sense given our current goals. Another loan is all we need right now!

It is burning aprox €40 worth of oil a month which isn't unbearbale. They told me at Ford that the car would last me a few miles longer, Confab. So it is defo an option (once alternator is working)!

fonecrusher1 - I guess they were quoting me for a new engine.

My partner has just told me that the AA guy said we can use some kind of internal sealant to stop the loss of oil. That might keep us going as well.

I think I need to:

1) Get alternator replaced (and protective shield)
    2) Check out prices for a 2nd hand engine (A friend recommended a place called Traynors and Howards - I will call them both tomorrow) or engine reconditioning (to be fitted in a smaller garage as 2qk4u suggests)
    3) Weigh (2) against topping up regularily with oil and using internal sealant

Thanks again for all the info - really helped get my head around it all!

A
    Feck Ford they're trying to screw you.

Go to your local Indy. Get him to get an alterator from a breakers yard. Get the cylinders & pistons replaced. It could just be a couple O rings that need replacing and maybe that's why it's burning oil.

If I were you, I'd feck ford and get a second opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

I think Ford might want to sell you a new car...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Dardania wrote: »
    I think Ford might want to sell you a new car...

By any chance OP did you tell them a new car was an option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,794 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Buy oil in large drums (not 1L bottles from petrol forecourt) and keep driving once you stick the alternator in.
    I wouldnt think it worthwhile to fit another engine in that age Mondeo.
    If it doesnt last, buy another €1,000 car. You can get some very tasty cars for 1k now if you dont mind a late 90s reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭benj

You could buy a 97 golf diesel for 600 euro and sell it when your leaving for probably 600 euro, and they would go forever.....

benj wrote: »
    You could buy two 97 golf diesels for 600 euro and sell them when your leaving for probably 600 euro, and they would go forever.....

FYP

mickdw wrote: »
    Buy oil in large drums (not 1L bottles from petrol forecourt) and keep driving once you stick the alternator in.
    I wouldnt think it worthwhile to fit another engine in that age Mondeo.
    If it doesnt last, buy another €1,000 car. You can get some very tasty cars for 1k now if you dont mind a late 90s reg.

+1, for a start go to a different auto spark and ask can he sort the heat shield issue too, 2nd hand one from a scrapyard will be fine. May be worth throwing some Bardahl no smoke treatment into the oil, fattens up gaskets and seals a bit to slow down the oil burn. Once the alternator is sorted chill out and have a ponder about the 2nd hand engine, keep the oil topped up.
    Do not get another loan
    Do not get a new engine off Ford for the car

There are splendid folk on here so post away with any more queries you may have, folks will point you in the right direction :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I've been told that Ford don't supply rebuild kits for these engines and only supply a complete bottom end, unfortunately this means that decent secondhand engines are like rocking horse shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

How the hell can an engine be burning oil like that after only 75,000 miles:confused:?

I'd definitely do what the others said, get the alternator fixed and put in the heat shield, as someone else said it could be an o-ring somewhere that is causing the burning oil problem but worst case scenario is to keep putting oil into it like you're doing at present and it will last another year, especially with the mileage ye're doing.

A thicker grade oil will slow down the rate of burning as well.

The garage are simply trying to rob you because they reckon with a car the age yours is you'll probably never use them anyway so they might as well try and get a few quid off you, changing an engine would net them a nice bit of money(though I would said that an engine simply should not be dead after only 75,000 miles).

Thanks so much for all the posts!

Rang Ford and apparently the heat shield shouldn't have been missing - it should have been replaced last time the alternator was done or at least mentioned to me. Am going to call outfit in Blanch and see what they say. Maybe they can sort out that side of it.

Ford said that the cylinder head valve or piston rings are burnt through. This is causing the oil problem.

No johnos1984 and Dardania they haven't tried to sell me a new car. Probably had something to do with the old track suit pants and hoody I was wearing when I took the car in - it was prob obvious I couldn't afford one ;)

I rang Traynors and they are out of stock of Mondeo 2001 engines which would fit with what Onkle reckons about the Rocking Horse :) But they said that an reconditioned engine might only cost £350 - £400 if I could find one.

Howards quoted me 2k for alternator, engine recondition and labour. Would take a week.

I don't know about buying another banger. I would just be scared I would be running into a similar problem with another car.

An alternator and big drum of thicker oil (thanks for the tip captainspeed) might have to do the trick. And maybe find out what this sealant thing is that the AA guy mentioned to my partner.

And maybe find out what this sealant thing is that the AA guy mentioned to my partner.

http://www.bardahl.com/mods/gallery/gallery.asp?action=viewimage&categoryid=75&text=&imageid=358&box=&shownew=

I think Halfords stock it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭mayo_lad

Rang Ford and apparently the heat shield shouldn't have been missing - it should have been replaced last time the alternator was done or at least mentioned to me. Am going to call outfit in Blanch and see what they say. Maybe they can sort out that side of it.

Ford said that the cylinder head valve or piston rings are burnt through. This is causing the oil problem.

No johnos1984 and Dardania they haven't tried to sell me a new car. Probably had something to do with the old track suit pants and hoody I was wearing when I took the car in - it was prob obvious I couldn't afford one ;)

I rang Traynors and they are out of stock of Mondeo 2001 engines which would fit with what Onkle reckons about the Rocking Horse :) But they said that an reconditioned engine might only cost £350 - £400 if I could find one.

Howards quoted me 2k for alternator, engine recondition and labour. Would take a week.

I don't know about buying another banger. I would just be scared I would be running into a similar problem with another car.

An alternator and big drum of thicker oil (thanks for the tip captainspeed) might have to do the trick. And maybe find out what this sealant thing is that the AA guy mentioned to my partner.

if it is going to cost more than 1400 to repair you might want to think about scraping the car for parts it should be worth around 600 euro and buying some thing like this http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1628111

there is a resin why you see all those 91 Honda civics about it;s because Honda's just don't brake down ever

if it is going to cost more than 1400 to repair you might want to think about scraping the car for parts it should be worth around 600 euro and buying some thing like this http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1628111

there is a resin why you see all those 91 Honda civics about it;s because Honda's just don't brake down ever

A car with 75,000 miles on it, developing the problems you've described is very unusual.

Buy yourself a late 90's corolla or civic (as mayo_lad said). They'll plod on for decades with basic servicing.

That mondeo is not worth putting any big money into. If you can get away with just getting a new alternator & stocking up on oil as others have said then go for it. Otherwise sell it for what you can get & explore the world of bangeronomics.

By the way don't let the term Banger or Bangeronomics put you off. These days that word has a very different meaning. Its used to describe older cars (10yrs +) not cars that are on their last legs.

Im driving a 'banger' at the moment. An old 1.4 2000 corolla. It ain't pretty but its bulletproof & cheap to run.:)

A car with 75,000 miles on it, developing the problems you've described is very unusual.

Buy yourself a late 90's corolla or civic (as mayo_lad said). They'll plod on for decades with basic servicing

By the way don't let the term Banger or Bangeronomics put you off. These days that word has a very different meaning. Its used to describe older cars (10yrs +) not cars that are on their last legs.

Im driving a 'banger' at the moment. An old 1.4 2000 corolla. It ain't pretty but its bulletproof & cheap to run.:)

i think the nct has got rid of most of the cars people would have called bangers . As your car has to be up to a certain standard to pass it so creating a new level of cheep serviceable cars which are extremely cheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭benj

squod wrote: »
    FYP

?????????

Guys - just wanted to report the happy end to my saga! I rang the outfit in Blanch that did the alternator for me last year and they are going to sort me out under warranty! All I need to go is arrange the tow (hopefully the AA will be good to us) and pay Ford for the inspection @ €90. So I have gone from considering buying another car at €5 000 to getting to a resolution that is costing me €90. Hopefully that outlay (and lots of thick oil) will tide us over the next 12 - 18 months. Fingers crossed.Thanks so much for the advice and support. I really appreciate it :) A

That's very good to hear :) Delighted for ye, fingers crossed the car lasts, do keep a regular (twice a weekish) eye on the oil levels :) You'll get a tow off an independent operator for reasonable money, not really the AAs cup of tea to be honest.